We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“mansard dos Aranhas”
other travellers have booked this property
Living room.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room.
Living room.
Main bedroom with double bed.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
Living room.
Living room.
Main bedroom with double bed.
Bedroom.
Bedroom
Bedroom.
The bedroom balcony.
Small and quaint bedroom suitable for a child until 12 years old.
Bathroom with shower.
Bathroom.
Bathroom with Shower
Bathroom.
Reading area and sitting nook.
Reading and relaxing corner.
Reading area and stairs.
Washing/drying machine and dishwasher.
Microwave/oven, kettle, fridge, toaster...
Balcony of the apartment
Cable tv, free Wifi, dvd.
Balcony
Balcony with city & sea view.
Watch tower of Palácio de São Lourenço.
City centre.
Benches in Avenida Arriaga.
An edemic species from the Laurissilva, known as pride of Madeira.
An inhabitant of Laurissilva.
Ponta de São Lourenço, the eastern point of the Island.
A few minutes before sunrise in the mountain track between Pico do Arieiro and Pico Ruivo.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Funchal, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
stevengre...
Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“mansard dos Aranhas”
Reviewed 14 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
2
people found this review helpful

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay in the apartment! It is in a good position on a narrow side St just off the main st but it was quiet. The Apartment is on two floors with the living area and kitchen downstairs and the bedroom, bathroom and a small bedroom suitable for a child upstairs. The kitchen has every utencil that you could possibly need for cooking and has a washer and dishwasher. A private balcony runs the full length of the downstairs above the street and we used it every day, there is another private balcony looking out to the mountains off the main bedroom. The Apartment was very clean and well furnished and I would definitely use it again if visiting Funchal.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inspirati...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect apartment for two close to the centre of Funchal.”
Reviewed 19 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
3
people found this review helpful

This lovely apartment is close to the centre of Funchal with the promenade, shops, restaurants, buses and taxi ranks all within a very short walk. The apartment had everything we needed for our ten day holiday. Yes, the communal stairway smelled a little damp on occasions but once inside the flat was bright, clean, airy and very comfortable. I enjoyed the 'reading corner' when it became too hot on the balconies. Bertha met us on arrival and was very friendly and helpful. She had left cheese, biscuits, milk and water as well as supplies of washing and dishwasher tablets etc which we appreciated - it is so frustrating when you have to buy a whole box only to use just a few!
We explored the island using the public buses. As you move away from the centre they can be rather infrequent but we found them to be reliable and pretty punctual on the whole. So long as you check the timetables in advance I works fine.
Madeira is a lovely island and we enjoyed it so much we booked Betha's apartment for a return visit the day we got home!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trudi M
Horsham, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Our second stay in this apartment was just as good as the first!”
Reviewed 25 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
4
people found this review helpful

We first stayed in this apartment for two weeks in September 2014 - and loved it then (reviewed it then, too).
So when we decided to return to Funchal this summer, we didn't bother looking at other apartments - we wanted this one.
The location is fantastic, situated on a road off a really pretty avenue with plenty of lovely trees, cafes and restaurants and beautiful gardens. The marina is a very short walk too.
The apartment itself is extremely clean and comfortable. There are two balconies. One is quite large and gets the sun for most of the day, and is accessed from the main living area. The other balcony is accessed from the main first floor bedroom. When we stayed there was some work going on at the back of the apartment, so we really didn't use that balcony. I have to say that though there was work going on there was almost no noise at all.
The kitchen is really well equipped, with a dishwasher, washing machine, two-plate electric hob, microwave and fridge freezer. There are also plenty of pots and pans and utensils, so if you didn't want to visit one of the many restaurants and cafes you could prepare food in the apartment very easily. On that note, there is also a supermarket a stone's throw away in the shopping centre which has everything you need.
The bedroom is large and air-conditioned. The bed is massive and really comfortable, and there is plenty of storage space.
There is free wi-fi, a TV with some DVDs, a table and chairs in the living area and also table and chairs on the main balcony. The only thing which would have been useful is perhaps a parasol or some shade on the main balcony, but the absence of one in no way marred our stay, nor would it prevent us from going back.
The apartment is on the third floor but there is an elevator as well as stairs.
Would highly recommend this apartment for location and comfort.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Explore30...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent base for exploring Funchal and beyond!”
Reviewed 10 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

Pros:
- The location was great with easy access to local transport (buses and taxis), shops, bars and good restaurants. It's also only a short walk to the seafront and a very helpful tourist office.
- The property was at a good standard and pleasant to stay in.
- Main bedroom is a decent size for a couple to share.
- All basic necessities where supplied in working order.
- Owner was very friendly and helpful and responded to our requests in good time.

Cons:
- Slight musty smell in shared entrance to apartment due to lack of ventilation.
- While we were there, there was some building works taking place outside the flat as a result it was a little bit noisy after 9am for a few hours in the morning. (This was a bit of bad luck with timing on our side as the building works would probably finish soon).
- As stated by owner, the second bedroom is truly only suitable for a very small child.
Overall, we would be happy to stay there again.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 8 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We are really enjoying our stay on Berta's apartment. (Free wifi in action) It is an excellent base for the best of Madeira. We've just finished a levada walk and from a stop way out back we got a bus home for £3.00. Worth it for the exciting ride on tight bends and hairy drops. It dropped us off just outside the apartment. Across the road for a bottle of wine and home for dinner on the evening veranda. (Sun for breakfast on the morning veranda.) Everything is in place for the full self caterers and those who want to snack and eat out. And for the last drink before bed we are next door to 3 bar/restaurants. Perfect apartment perfect location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing