We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect place to stay in Funchal”
other travellers have booked this property
Living room.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room.
Living room.
Main bedroom with double bed.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
61 reviews
Living room.
Living room.
Main bedroom with double bed.
Bedroom.
Bedroom
Bedroom.
The bedroom balcony.
Small and quaint bedroom suitable for a child until 12 years old.
Bathroom with shower.
Bathroom.
Bathroom with Shower
Bathroom.
Reading area and sitting nook.
Reading and relaxing corner.
Reading area and stairs.
Washing/drying machine and dishwasher.
Microwave/oven, kettle, fridge, toaster...
Balcony of the apartment
Cable tv, free Wifi, dvd.
Balcony
Balcony with city & sea view.
Watch tower of Palácio de São Lourenço.
City centre.
Benches in Avenida Arriaga.
An edemic species from the Laurissilva, known as pride of Madeira.
An inhabitant of Laurissilva.
Ponta de São Lourenço, the eastern point of the Island.
A few minutes before sunrise in the mountain track between Pico do Arieiro and Pico Ruivo.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Funchal, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
paga2
Clear Lake Iowa USA
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay in Funchal”
Reviewed 2 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Mansarda dos Aranhas for two weeks in October and we were so disappointed when we had to leave. It was the perfect place to stay in Funchal.

We were met at the apartment at 10:30 at night, after our plane was an hour late. We came from the airport in a taxi that Pedro had arranged for us.
Berta showed us around and explained how everything worked.

The apartment has everything, and I mean everything, that you need for your vacation. Plus the refrigerator was stocked with milk, butter, cheese,jam and wine. There was also, coffee, tea, cookies and biscuits.

The apartment is fixed up so nice and has the two balconys that we used all the time. We ate all our meals outside. The view from the upstairs balcony is magical. The big bed upstairs is so comfortable and there is air conditioning too in the bedroom for warm nights. The window seat in the sitting room upstairs was perfect for reading.

The location can't be beat. Funchal is very walkable. We walked all over city central, to the old town, to the marina, up to the hotel zone, and we even walked up to the castle.

We can't wait to come back for even longer.

Thank you for everything!
Phil and Gail

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
esher22
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Fantastic but don't tell anyone”
Reviewed 23 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Still enjoying our stay. Lovely apartment fantastic location. We will be returning why not, when you find something good stick with it

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
196Ale
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Haven in the City”
Reviewed 10 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This property is centrally located and is presented in beautiful condition. Everything you need is nearby and a car is not necessary if you are walking the City. Everything works from shower to Wi fi to dishwasher to washing machine. With two balcony terraces breakfast and lunch have enviable positions. The booking procedure was easy and prompt. On arrival we were met at the apartment and everything was explained in detail and we were left with contact details if we needed them. Our month stay was way too short but we hope to return very soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property layout and location.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 August 2016 for a stay in June 2016
2
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Eugenija...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A great flat in the centre of Funchal”
Reviewed 24 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Mansarda dos arahnas is a lovely maisonette furnished with great care. When you enter you will already notice details such as Giro transport tickets, travel brochures and maps. In the living room, you will find DVDs, blankets, cushions. In the kitchen, there are all the things you might need and what definitely surprised us was the contents of the fridge. Our kind hosts supplied milk, some spread, wine, some cheese, and a bottle of water.
On the second floor, there is a bathroom, a big and a small bedroom equipped with lovely bedding and bed linen. In the bathroom, you will find a large supply of towels and toiletries.
Our hosts waited for us in the flat and prior to our arrival they were extremely helpful with some issues we had with the booking. When we arrived, they explained everything to us and showed us around.
The flat iis 20 steps away from the shopping center La Vie, the bus stop is around the corner, the promenade is 50 meters away, everything is within the walking more. One could hardly wish for more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Furnished with great care
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing