We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch in Funchal”
Review of NoitEscura

NoitEscura
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
NoitEscura is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #50 of 721 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 12 - USD 23
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: We are located in the old town of Funchal and we have the best Francesinhas in Funchal and the most delicious Madeiran dishes. Come visit us and give us the opportunity to provide you with a unique exeprience.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had lunch in this Restaurant when on a weeks holiday in Funchal. We called in as it was just off the Main Street where there are lots of other restaurants trying to persuade you to come in to try their unique menu.
We found the waiting staff pleasant and accommodating. For we had grilled sardines and fried Scabbard Fish with Banana and tomato sauce. Both were excellent . I would recommend this restaurant .

Thank AlgieDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCS_RP, Gestor de Relações Públicas at NoitEscura, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear AlgieDavies,

Many thanks for your visit, preference, and for taking a little of your time to evaluate and recommend our restaurant, where you will always be very welcome!
It is with great pride that I share this review with all our staff.
True, our location is not on the Main Street, but we work with what we have and do our best to tell you where we are. On the positive side, this location allows us to have a quieter environment than in the busy street of Santa Maria, complemented by our large dining room.
We hope to have the honor to welcome you soon!

Greetings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 546 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We went to Noitescuria today led by the good reviews on Trip Advisor. They even have a banner with “Trip Advisor 2017 Winner’ hung in the restaurant. We started with garlic bread which was good. But our shared mixed grilled fish platter for two (35 Euros) was not good. One fillet was very dry, one fillet slightly undercooked, and one fillet almost raw. We sent the raw fillet back and it was returned to us, after re-cooking! The accompanying shared vegetables consisted of 4 potatoes, and a small amount of mixed soggy carrot batons and beans. The apology for the uncooked fish was somewhat grudgingly given. Despite being still hungry we left. We also left the ‘10% off your next meal’ voucher which was offerred to us when we paid our bill. No way will we go back.

Thank Silvertop648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCS_RP, Gestor de Relações Públicas at NoitEscura, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Silvertop648,

Thank you for your evaluation, which is crucial for our constant improvement process.
All constructive criticism is welcomed as it is viewed by us with humility and, above all, as an excellent opportunity for improvement.

Unfortunately, your review does not seem to fit into this context, judging by the way it generalizes, revealing a purely defamatory intent.
We believe that even if there has been a failure in the service at any given moment, or even a dish that does not live up to expectations, this does not justify this kind of extremely unpleasant general consideration. Criticizing is easy but it calls into question the seriousness of dozens of professionals, and of all our customers, who unlike you, had a good experience at NoitEscura and evaluated us with hundreds of positive reviews that gives us a rating of 4.5 stars.

We do everything in our power to provide a memorable experience at all levels to our valued customers, and in your case we offered many alternatives that you refused.
Can I remember you ate your all meal and only at the end send back half of the fish you say was raw. Naturally we were not going to redo you a new dish at that time.

If you had accepted one of our offered alternatives, you would certainly have left NoitEscura with another impression, as we do everything in our power to provide a memorable experience at all levels to our valued customers.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely wee restaurant. We had a lunch and an evening meal, both fantastic. Great value and friendly polite staff. Would recommend.

Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCS_RP, Gestor de Relações Públicas at NoitEscura, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Alison G,

Thank you very much for your visit, preference, and for taking a little bit of your time to evaluate and recommend our restaurant, where you will always be very welcome!
Your words a huge incentive for the whole team!
We hope to have the honor of welcoming you very soon!

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2018 via mobile

Absolutely delicious
Good simple food beautifully cooked prepared and served. Do pass this gem by. Off the main street of the old town in Tv do pimenta. The fish platter was amazing.

Thank Dawn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCS_RP, Gestor de Relações Públicas at NoitEscura, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Dear Dawn J,

Thank you very much for your visit, preference, and for taking a little bit of your time to evaluate and recommend our restaurant, where you will always be very welcome!
We thank you as weel for the clear indications of where to find us :)
It is with great pride that I share this review with all our staff.
We hope to earn your preference once again and offer you an even better experience at the next opportunity.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2018 via mobile

Tucked away on a side street, this restaurant is just wonderful. We have been here twice. My wife has enjoyed a chicken salad and on second visit the beef fillet kebab, which she said was melt in the mouth delicious. I have had prawns (shrimp) in garlic and the most tender and fresh octopus I have ever had. See photo. The wine list is also good. I recommend the piano reserva.

Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GCS_RP, Gestor de Relações Públicas at NoitEscura, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Hello Tim C,

Thank you for your evaluation and review.
True, our location is not on the Main Street, but we work with what we have and do our best to tell you where we are. On the positive side, and as you know, this location allows us to have a quieter environment than in the busy street of Santa Maria, complemented by our large dining room.
It is very encouraging to receive a review like this, and it is with great pride that I share this review with all our staff.
On behalf of the whole team, thank you very much for your words.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again and make your experience even better.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed NoitEscura also viewed

 

Been to NoitEscura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing