We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, vegetarian options galore”

Indian House Restaurant
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
Indian House Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #63 of 675 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 11 - USD 17
Cuisines: Indian, Bar, Cafe
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Reviewed 3 August 2017

As vegetarians visiting Funchal, we decided to try this Indian restaurant not too far from our accommodations in the central part of Funchal. Immediately when we arrived, we were seated at a perfect table on their front patio. Both the waiters who helped us were very kind, attentive, and truly wanted you to be pleased with the dining experience. We started with the veg samosas, and they were amazing! We then had their Korma and paneer masala, which were also wonderful. There is a pretty extensive menu, so the waiter who helped us guided us on some of the dishes to try. We liked this place so much we returned a second time on the last day of our stay. I definitely recommend it! This is also one of the only Indian restaurants closer to the older area of Funchal, so if you are staying in that area you should be able to walk.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian H, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Indian House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2017

Thank you so much for your feedback! Please come back soon - Regards, Indian House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 47 of 582 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2017 via mobile

Best personal restaurant a very taste Indian vegetarian (can choose vegan) food in Funchal! Have to visit.

Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian H, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Indian House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2017

We're honored to see you enjoyed our vegetarian selection! Thank you for your review. Regards - Indian House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

We fancied and Indian and I decided to peruse trip advisor to find a suitable and nice place in the local area as we are new to Funchal. We booked this as reviews were mostly positive using the online booking system. When we arrived at the venue which is slightly away from the hustle and bustle we were greeted by Manish. Manish and the other staff were extremely respectful and attentive. As Manish was our main waiter, he was very helpful in our decision making from the extensive and well priced menu. We were not disappointed! Delicious food and exceptional service. Would highly reccomend this hidden gem.

Thank DDenman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian H, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Indian House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

Thank you so much for your generous words and review! We hope to serve you many more times. Be sure to take a peek at our special lunch menus as well for great prices! Regards, Indian House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017

We told the maitre d that we would be tough judges of the food because being a couple of Brummies, we live in the curry capitol of the universe. He laughed, rather nervously.

We had starters of onion bhajee and fish pakora. Very nice!

Our main courses were a vegetable balti, a chicken and prawn balti, a side of aloo palak, boiled ride and a garlic nan.

Again, very nice.

The service was excellent and to top it all, we booked through trip advisor and got 30% discount.

If you travel the distance that we have and are missing the culinary delights of the UK, you won't go far wrong choosing the Indian House for a taste of home.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Caron T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian H, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Indian House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

We're honored to see someone with high standards rate us so highly! Thank you so much, and we hope to see you again should you return to these parts! Best wishes, Indian House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

Took a last minute decision to come for an Indian but have no regrets. Staff were friendly and helpful and the food was excellent. Service was a little slow but worth waiting for. One of the nicest Indians I've had for a while

Thank Melissa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian H, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Indian House Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Thank you for giving us a shot! We hope to see you again in the future. Best wishes, Indian House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Indian House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Indian House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing