We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Seafood ”
Review of Taberna Ruel

Taberna Ruel
Reserve with
Taberna Ruel is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #84 of 714 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 14 - USD 64
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Located on one of the oldest streets of Funchal, the Taberna Ruel Restaurant aim to be a mark in the historic center of Funchal. This location grants a special atmosphere so you can enjoy an unforgettable experience. Working with local ingredients of high quality, passion for what we do and innovative cooking techniques are what distinguishes us. The wine cellar with a wide selection of Portuguese wines are carefully framed in a secular cistern. The restaurant by its unique location in the heart of the Funchal historical center, was initially launched as Taberna da Esquina, today the restaurant is Taberna Ruel a natural evolution by the recognition of our guests to Richard Ruel great passion in the use of products from Madeira and its constant search for new flavors. The renovation of the building was awarded with the prize for "Heritage Recovery of Funchal City Historical Center - 2011" by the Municipality of Funchal.
Reviewed 14 July 2017 via mobile

We had a lovely meal, Barbecued Scorpion fish, it was beautifully presented and tasted really nice,

Excellent Rose wine went down a treat,
Staff all of them really friendly, attentive and experienced,
The setting is nice in the courtyard at the rear of the restaurant where you can watch your meal BBQ,d

Price wise ours was quite expensive as we chose a specialist fish but was worth it,
We will definitely return before we go home from our wonderful stay in Madeira.

Thank philmacklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiago T, Guest Relations Manager at Taberna Ruel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

In restaurant Taberna Ruel, we thank you very much for your comment. We are glad that you enjoyed our service. Our goal is to make you happy. We hope to see you soon!



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,527)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

176 - 180 of 1,527 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

Stumbled across this lovely restaurant whilst walking around Funchal old town.

Down one of the lovely cobbled lanes we immediately were drawn in by the enthusiastic waiter who offered us a look at the menu. Like most Madeiran restaurants there was the standard offering of fresh fish and veg, but here you were able to view their fresh fish selection and their massive tank of lobsters inside.

The head waiter was so helpful and recognising that I was pregnant was coming up with suggestions for non alcoholic cocktails and advising us on the best things to eat. With a bit of steering from us on our likes and dislikes he helped us choose Madeiran rock lobster in a cataplana which is essentially a fish stew in a large metal pan with rice served on the side. It was divine and the best meal we had on the island.

If you are in Funchal then you must visit!!

Thank HanLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiago T, Gerente de relações com clientes at Taberna Ruel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Thank you for your kind words, is very important to have independent reviews from our customers, we are very pleased to know you enjoyed a fantastic gastronomy experience with us and enjoyed our inside atmosphere.
We hope for your next visit anytime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

This place joins a lovely staff with incredible well cocked dishes and surrounding atmosphere. In my opinion one of the best in Funchal.

Thank João M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiago T, Gerente de relações com clientes at Taberna Ruel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Thank you for your kind words, is very important to have independent reviews from our customers, we are very pleased to know you enjoyed a fantastic gastronomy experience with us and enjoyed our surrounding atmosphere.
Hope you can visit us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

We visited the restaurant as it was fairly full and there was a 'buzz' coming from the courtyard suggesting happy eaters.
We managed to get a table outside and were impressed by the food. There should possibly have been more staff on duty as the service was a bit slow compared to other restaurants in the same area. However when the food came it was worth waiting for and the waitresses kept smiling all the time.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank massey532015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiago T, Gerente de relações com clientes at Taberna Ruel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your dining experience, we do our best to only use local ingredients and provide a great gastronomy experience with Madeira Island flavours.
We hope for your next visit anytime soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017 via mobile

Crab was lovely and fresh, picked it out of the tank. And actually quite reasonably priced. Staff great

Thank jo_liverpool_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiago T, Gerente de relações com clientes at Taberna Ruel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Thank you so much for your visit and review, we try to offer all our guests the best quality food and service at the best value possible, we are very happy to know that you appreciate your meal.
We are looking forward to welcoming you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taberna Ruel also viewed

 
Funchal, Madeira
 
Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to Taberna Ruel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing