We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
9 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
USD 72
View deal
Trip.com
USD 157
View deal
Agoda.com
USD 63
View deal
travelup.comUSD 92
PricelineUSD 72
ZenHotels.comUSD 67
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (50)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
29
11
7
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
29
11
7
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cloud bar rooftop bar and pool sea front ocean view the ground floor bars and restaurants perfect location breakfast buffet fantastic hotel old town appliances kettle noise harbour hill madeira
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2021 via mobile

I was a little bit worried about this hotel having seen some of the earlier reviews. I needn’t have been.

The hotel is smart and modern. The room was clean and perfectly adequate for our needs. The rooftop bar and pool is fantastic, offering a superb view over the harbour and the visiting cruise ships, especially at night. Thursday to Saturday they have a DJ whose music was just perfect for the mood. The bonus was the rooftop was usually quiet, more locals using it at the weekend than guests – in a way a shame as it really is a gem. It also has a good seaside pool and sea access.

Location wise it’s great too. Close to the bottom of the hill to the sea front so not too much of a climb. You can walk to the city centre in fifteen minutes or the cable car in about twenty. Behind the hotel is a path that cuts through to the Rua Imperatriz Donna Amélia with its bar and restaurants and an easy way up to the Avenue do Infante.

The room did have a kettle, although no tea or coffee so you’ll need to bring your own. Beach towels are also provided. The aircon was confusing. Turns out there are some buttons on dark part of the unit just beneath the screen. Once you find that you’re sorted. Not sure how useful Bluetooth pairing with it was because you need an app. No idea what app that is though.

Although they do have an automatic check-in system I didn’t see anyone use it. Everyone, including myself checked in the old fashioned way. I found the staff were always helpful and pleasant. Even quick to respond when a lizard got into my room and needed caught!

My partner used the spa and tells me it was a treat. She also told me there was a free to use sauna, but oddly enough that didn’t appeal to me in 25+ degree heat. I also saw a well equipped gym, again I didn’t use it.

Not everything was perfect. They seemed to be having technical issues with the lifts (they stopped working a couple of times) and on one occasion the aircon stopped working. I also think they need to work out how they arrange the breakfast buffet. The butter, for example was nowhere near the bakery which confused new guests and led to people walking through the wrong way down the queue to get it. They need to think where things are in relation to other things.

I also think the bars were too pricey (possibly one reason they’re underused when you think it almost backs on to Moynihan’s.) I think if they make their prices more competitive they’ll see more guests using the bars. Also Jet2 are charging £129 pp per week for breakfast. It’s not worth £18.42 per breakfast. It may be cheaper to walk in and see what the hotel itself charges but I won’t be asking for breakfast on my booking when I return next year.

All in all I think this hotel is very good and was worth every penny.

Room tip: Find the path behind the hotel (head up the hill from the door and go round the back.)
Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank Scenic59436799228
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo Augusto, Diretor-Geral at NEXT Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2021

Dear Guest,
First of all we want to thank you for your preference in choosing our hotel as well as your comment.
The NEXT team works on a daily basis to match and exceed the expectations of those who visit us.
Your comment was very appreciated.
It was a pleasure having you as a guest and we hope to see you soon.
My best regards
Ricardo Augusto
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2021

The quality of rooms, food and pool areas is every bit as good as their own website suggests.
What made our holiday one to remember was the chilled out atmosphere within the hotel, especially the poolside restaurant and the friendly, caring, professional service of all the staff.
We felt well and truly looked after and will definitely return.
Thanks Next Signature - you gave us an excellent experience.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank I3690UAgrahama
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo Augusto, Diretor-Geral at NEXT Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2021

Dear Graham,
First of all we want to thank you for your preference in choosing our hotel as well as your comment.
The NEXT team works on a daily basis to match and exceed the expectations of those who visit us.
Your feedback was very appreciated.
It was a pleasure having you as a guest and we hope to see you soon.
My best regards
Ricardo Augusto
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2021

Just back from 12 days in this lovely hotel, nice room with great views, first class breakfast, great rooftop bar/pool, great pool by the ocean with plenty of loungers, and easy access into the ocean, the staff are all first class and very helpful and made our holiday one to remember, we looking forward to returning in the near future,
Frank & Eileen Gates.

Date of stay: October 2021
Thank frank g
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo Augusto, Diretor-Geral at NEXT Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2021

Dear Eileen and Frank,
We want to thank you for your preference in choosing our hotel as well as your comment concerning our breakfast, rooftop and our colleagues.
Our team works on a daily basis to match and exceed the expectations of those who visit us.
It was a pleasure having you as guests and we hope to see you both soon.
My best regards,
Ricardo Augusto
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2021 via mobile

Positive points: location within walking distance from the center, salt water pool and direct access to the sea.
Negative points, starting with the first: we asked for late check-out when requesting the reservation by e-mail directly to the hotel, as well as parking - both requests being accepted and confirmed. Everything was reconfirmed at check-in, asking us to remember them about the late check-out on the day of check-out. On the day of check-out we remembered them, and not only did they say it was impossible, but they also denied that there was any notes or logs about it. They ended up saying that it would be possible but for a fee. We had to show the booking confirmation email to make it possible without payment, but they still forced us to change room and building!!!!!!!! To make it even better, they canceled our parking card, so after lunch we couldn't park in the car park to go back to our room and pack.
Second: a cockroach on the bathroom floor, on the second night.
Third: manager of the breakfast room, walking around with the mask on his chin. Of course, there were customers following him example and walking around the dining room without any mask or protection, and additionally picking up the food displayed at the buffet with their bare hands!
Fourth: the hotel is so strictly focused on foreigners that there was not a single exotic local fruit for consumption, except for bananas. And the bacon was the most English that could have been imported, with so much local/national food ingredients and groceries that could and should be appreciated by both locals and foreigners.
Fifth: half cleaning of the room, because the ashtray on the balcony was not cleaned, the coffee cups and water glasses were not washed and changed, the coffee capsules were not replaced...
Sixth: the shower cabin is unbreathable. The window handles were all removed so that none could be opened, and the shower door and wall goes from floor to ceiling, making the entire shower cabinet stuffy and damp with each shower, impossible to breathe inside due to the tight insulation, due to rubber around the entire door.
I don't recommend it at all.

Pontos positivos: localização a walking distance do centro, piscina de água salgada e acesso directo ao mar.
Pontos negativos, começando pelo primeiro: pedimos late check-out aquando pedido de reserva por e-mail diretamente ao hotel, bem como estacionamento, sendo os pedidos aceites e confirmados. Foi tudo reconfirmado no check-in, pedindo-nos que no dia do check-out relembrassemos a saída tardia. No dia do check-out relembrámos, e não só disseram que era impossível, como negaram que houvesse qualquer registo. Acabaram por dizer que seria possível mediante pagamento. Tivemos de mostrar o e-mail de confirmação de reserva para ser possível sem pagamento, mas ainda assim obrigaram-nos a mudar de quarto e edifício!!!!!!!! Para tornar tudo ainda melhor, cancelarem-nos o cartão de estacionamento, portanto após o almoço não pudemos estacionar no parque para voltar ao quarto e fazer malas.
Segundo: uma barata no chão da casa de banho, logo na segunda noite.
Terceiro: chefe de sala, da sala de pequenos-almoços, a circular com a máscara no queixo. Como é evidente houve clientes a seguir o exemplo e a circularem pela sala de refeições sem qualquer máscara ou protecção, e adicionalmente a pegarem na comida exposta no buffet com as próprias mãos!
Quarto: o hotel é tão estritamente focado para estrangeiros que não havia uma única fruta exótica local para consumo, exceptuando as bananas, e o bacon era o mais inglês que podiam ter importado, havendo tanta matéria prima local/nacional que poderia e deveria ser apreciada tanto por locais como por estrangeiros.
Quinto: limpeza do quarto feita pela metade, porque o cinzeiro da varanda não era limpo, as chávenas de café e copos de água não eram lavados e trocados, as cápsulas de café não eram repostas...
Sexto: a cabine do duche é irrespirável. As maçanetas das janelas foram todas removidas para que não seja possível abrir nenhuma, e a porta e parede do duche iam do chão ao tecto, tornando toda a casa de banho abafada e cheia de humidade a cada duche, impossível de respirar com a porta da cabine fechada com isolamento estanque devido às borrachas ao redor de toda a porta.
Não recomendo, de todo.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank leonors752
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo Augusto, Diretor-Geral at NEXT Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2021
Google Translation

Exma. Sra. Leonor Sá Chaves,
Obrigado pelo seu comentário.
O nosso hotel abriu portas no dia 1 de Julho em regime de soft opening e como tal, ainda é suscetível de algumas situações menos positivas.
Relativamente ao seu feedback, o mesmo será tido em consideração e transmitido às equipas.
Os meus cumprimentos
Ricardo Augusto
Diretor Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2021 via mobile

This hotel although very new … was excellent value , excellent location and also had great friendly staff along food and drink being above all other other traditional hotels in the area

The room was also excellent modern with cleaning standards impeccable !

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Marcus A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ricardo Augusto, Diretor-Geral at NEXT Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2021

Dear Marcus.
We want to thank you for your preference in choosing our hotel as well as your comment.
Our team works on a daily basis to match and exceed the expectations of those who visit us.
It was a pleasure having you as a guest and we hope to see you soon.
My best regards,
Ricardo Augusto
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews