We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
USD 75
View deal
Booking.com
USD 79
View deal
Etrip
USD 61
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/02/22
Hotels.comUSD 75
eDreamsUSD 79
TravelocityUSD 75
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (681)
Filter reviews
681 results
Traveller rating
276
310
80
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
276
310
80
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool old town ceiling fan market hall no air conditioning quiet side street glass of sparkling wine rooms are basic main promenade balcony room cable car star hotel no tea and coffee making facilities central position lovely friendly hotel kept immaculately clean meat or fish
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 681 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2021

Nearing the end of our second week here and it's been great. Lovely hotel in a great location within walking distance of the old town centre and the marina. A longer but easily manageable stroll will take you to the new town area. Check in was smooth with the nice touch of a complimentary sparkling wine. Rooms are clean and comfortable with daily maid service. Breakfast is very good with a wide range of hot and cold food at the buffet, all of which is constantly replenished, including even more complimentary sparkling wine! Staff are lovely. Nice bar area too with very reasonable prices. Will definitely be keeping this on my list if we return to Funchal, which is highly probable by the way.

Room tip: Request a room with a balcony. Nice to have the outside space
Date of stay: November 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TonyMDunbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 October 2021 via mobile

Hotel do Carmo is centrally located in Funchal within easy walk of the town centre. Lovely friendly hotel. Very clean. Breakfast good. Pool area lively. Can't fault it in any way. Thoroughly recommended for a brilliant holiday in Madeira.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 October 2021

Hotel in centre of Funchal
five-ten minute walk to harbour and main promenade
Service Every member of staff gave excellent service throughout our stay
Breakfast. Served continental plenty of options for everyone
Rooms. All rooms have ceiling fan which is efficient and quiet so you could have on overnight if needed
only issues with rooms no tea and coffee making facilities at present time you would need your own kettle

Room tip: Front of hotel best have balconies upper floor
Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 October 2021

Hotel in central position walking distance to harbour. All staff were excellent during our stay, the rooms are basic but comfortable., no air conditioning but ceiling fans which were efficient an d quiet so you could have on overnight, Only thing missing in rooms was tea and coffee making facilities. Breakfast was continental offering with plenty of choice for everyone
Very good value for money will be returning to hotel in future

Room tip: Front of hotel has larger balconies upper floor is best
Date of stay: October 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 867JohnB867
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 September 2021

From the moment we arrived to the morning we left, everything was made welcoming for us. The staff were so pleasant and helpful. The rooms were spotless and linen and towels changed when you wanted (they were changed anyway ). There was room around the pool and also large patio areas. The hotel is near all the facilities, which made getting around easy. A final word of praise for receptionist, Tania, who helped us in all our enquiries.

Date of stay: September 2021
1  Thank Happiness770722
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews