We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
USD 64
View deal
Expedia.com
USD 64
View deal
Destinia.com
USD 56
View deal
Booking.comUSD 64
PricelineUSD 64
TravelocityUSD 64
View all 19 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (376)
Filter reviews
376 results
Traveller rating
46
107
113
65
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
46
107
113
65
45
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 376 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2020

Stayed here recently as part of a half board package. This hotel is in a central position and ideal for pretty well anything..eg. buses,restaurants,supermarket etc. The hotel is in two separate blocks separated by the hotel car park. We had a room on the fourth floor in the block furthest from the road. We were told by others that the rooms nearer the road did suffer from traffic noise. The room was fine. Comfortable bed,clean bathroom and ample storage space. The only minus to me was the meals. Breakfast was normal buffet style and was fine but was confined to a very small area. As a result at busy times it became a little hectic to say the least. Dinner however was a different matter as the few guests who were on half board ate in different room and was far more civilised. The evening meal I have to say was ,to me,typically hit and miss. Overall I would say that this is a decent hotel and would definitely consider staying there again in the future.

Room tip: Would advise choice of a high room in the block furthest from road.
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank raycblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tânia Vieira, Diretor-Geral at Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and comments. It was a great pleasure to welcome you to Hotel Windsor.
We were pleased to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us.
We will take a good note of your comments, regarding the breakfast, and will have it in consideration for further improvements.

We look forward to your next stay at our hotel.

Regards,

Tânia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2020

Very central location. Nice room and bathroom. Good service at the front desk. Breakfast was not impressive, with the selection of items being limited (and did not change from day to day), and the quality was pretty standard.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Peter_J_Aarhus
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luminita Panuta, Vendas at Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and comments. It was a great pleasure to welcome you to Hotel Windsor.
I’m sad to see that we did not completely manage to correspond to your expectations.
We were surprised by the comment about the breakfast and we do apologize for the inconvenience. We thought that our breakfast has all the essential items included in a typical English Breakfast, as we offer 5 varieties of breads, 3 varieties of juice, 3 varieties of cereals, cookies, biscuits, scrambled eggs, sausages, bacon, beans, fresh fruit, fruit salad, homemade jams, marmalade, butter, yogurt, cheese, ham, mortadella, chorizo, olives, sausages, coffee and teas.
Nevertheless, we will take a good note of your comments, regarding the breakfast, and will have it in consideration for further improvements.
We look forward to your next stay at our hotel.

Please take care.

Yours Truly,
Luminita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2020

I have NOT stayed here but I have visited it to research it for a friend who needs a walker (frame) and cannot manage hills or flights of stairs. I was invited to have a good look round and was very impressed with the rooftop pool with commanding views over Funchal. Sadly there is a flight of stairs to access it from the top of the lift.Notwithstanding its central location makes it an ideal location for exploring the island especially as it is very close to all the bus stations.Many of the nearbye streets are pedestrianised and there are a plethora of restaurants, shops and supermarkets on the doorstep.I would certainly consider staying here but it would be unsuitable for my friend because the rooftop pool is such a selling point. I cannot comment about the food because I visited mid afternoon.

Room tip: The higher rooms wiuld be quieter
Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank paul s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luminita Panuta, Vendas at Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and comments.
We were pleased to hear that you liked the hotel. Its unfortunate that we could not accommodate your friend's necessities regarding the rooftop pool.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you to our hotel on your next visit to Madeira.

Please take care.
Yours truly,

Luminita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2019 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay in this comfortable hotel in central Funchal. Our room was at the rear of the building, overlooking the courtyard/car port, and so was pretty quiet and we slept well. The rooms are small and some of the bedding and pillows could do with replacement but for the price, the facilities were more than adequate. Reception staff, particularly Elsa, were excellent and the serving staff at breakfast were very helpful and attentive.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank Pam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luminita Panuta, Vendas at Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2020

Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for choosing our hotel. Your opinion is very important to us - thank you for sharing it.
It’s a pleasure to hear that you had a enjoyable stay with us.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Please take care.

With kind regards from Madeira,

Luminita.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2019

stayed at the windsor for a week on the 29th july really nice hotel near to everything in town really enjoyed all staff really nice but i have a special mention to say at reception Cristina was really nice and help me a lot... the room was ok and the maid cleaned the room everyday and changed towels and kept our room really nice ....

Room tip: choose a room not near a lift
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Carla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luminita Panuta, Vendas at Hotel Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2020

Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for choosing our hotel. Your opinion is very important to us - thank you for sharing it.

It was a great pleasure to welcome you to Hotel Windsor.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Please take care.

Regards,

Luminita.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews