We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
USD 292
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/02/22
Expedia.com
USD 292
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/02/22
Agoda.com
USD 241
View deal
PricelineUSD 293
Booking.comUSD 279
Trip.comUSD 254
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (616)
Filter reviews
616 results
Traveller rating
456
113
36
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
456
113
36
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews palheiro gardens the main house country house hotel golf wing relais chateaux overlooking funchal hotel guests nothing is too much trouble spa madeira tennis terrace
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 616 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2021 via mobile

Here's a very beautiful and very special five star hotel.

We have been regular visitors to this amazing island over the past ten years, regularly spending a couple of months of total relaxation. The five star hotel we had been loyal to during that period, embarked on a change of direction, forcing us to look elsewhere, and I am so pleased we did.

32 beautiful rooms, a magnificent restaurant and relaxing bar, excellent pool, spa, tennis, even an 18 hole golf course. All set in a vast estate allowing great walks and wonderful views over Funchal.

The staff are all one would expect from such a fine establishment, courteous, helpful and very kind.

A wonderful place for an elegantly luxurious break.

Room tip: Ten minutes by cab from Funchal's Old Town
Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ann E
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 September 2021 via mobile

Having holidayed in Madeira for eight weeks each year since 2011, and having spent that time in a similar, but lesser property, we were overjoyed to discover this beautiful hidden gem.

Set in a 324 acre estate, this stunning Georgian mansion has been scrupulously maintained by the fastidious owners, one of the islands very wealthiest families. There are luxurious guest rooms, both within the mansion itself, and in the additional low rise wings, built in 1997, in the same architectural style as the original home.

There is a large outdoor pool, a lovely spa, complete with heated indoor pool with jacuzzi jets, a sauna, and a nicely equipped gym.

For those seeking a more active break, there are tennis courts, and an 18 hole championship golf course.

Gourmet level lunches and dinners are served in the hotel's beautiful restaurant, and in the elegant golf club house.

For garden lovers, the are the vast ornamental Palheiro gardens, famed amongst the most beautiful on the island.

This hotel is truly peaceful. There is never any traffic noise to be heard, and no planes fly overhead, and yet, busy buzzy Funchal is just a 10 minute cab ride away.

Don't leave it too late to book, this elegant hotel has just 32 rooms, so the very highest levels of personal service are assured.

Room tip: Easy parking and just 20minutes drive from the airport.
Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Corvette1544
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 August 2021

After 3 COVID-related aborted bookings, my wife and myself are approaching the end of a most enjoyable 7 night stay at the Casa Velha do Palheiro (a Relais & Chateaux member) located within the impressive 150 Hectare Palheiro Nature Estate in the hills overlooking Funchal.

A former Hunting Lodge (dating back to 1804 - the subsequently history, together with artefacts, are available to interested guests in the Basement Exhibition Room) that opened as a Hotel in 1997 and is conveniently located between Palheiro Gardens (one of the best on the Island with free access to Hotel guests) and the 18 hole (Par 72) Championship Golf Course (hourly shuttles can be booked via the Reception) where we completed 6 challenging rounds during our stay! It has 33 well appointed rooms and 5 suites - we stayed in the Rei Dom Carlos one in the Main House. It was most comfortable with a large, modern Bathroom and overlooked the front lawn.

On the F & B front, excellent Breakfast & Dinners can be enjoyed indoors or outdoors. Service was excellent throughout our stay with particular mention to both Louis & Margarita. The same applies to the Housekeeping team and especially Sergio on the Front Desk who was incredibly helpful when dealing with our 3 aborted bookings!

All in all, it was the perfect golfing arrangement and - as such - likely to be repeated before too much longer!

Date of stay: August 2021
9  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 August 2021

Casa Velha do Palheiro Hotel is located in the north of Funchal next door to Palheiro Gardens and close to Monte Botanical Gardens and to the itinery to Pico do Ariero. Please note that a vehicle is required. The road to access this estate is a severe climb even for a car especially with our Panda...

We stayed in the Golf Wing building on the ground floor so that we could profit from the terrace in the evening (good choice).

The room is classic old english style but in good state with very good bedding and fresh linen. The bathroom (1 x small shower + 1 x bath + 1 x sink + 1 x Toilet) is under the 5* standard but not off putting.

The amenities pool, spa, tennis court, badmington, ping pong & kit are included for guests of the hotel which is nice.

The breakfast served either inside or outside is ok with a choice of pastery, fruit, savery, juices ect...however the filter coffee served every morning was not good a self expresso machine might be a good option...But I must admit that it was very nice to breakfast every mornin in the garden.

The staff are all very very good especially Lhuis, Sergio and little gesture (the Madeira wine bottle, Bolo, Mineral water) are always welcome.

We do recommand Casa Velha do Palheiro it is a nice place to stay.

Date of stay: August 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 July 2021 via mobile

Madeira is very hilly, so it must have been quite an effort to carve out the golf course on this estate high above Funchal. Appreciated the lovely setting for the hotel, and once again found the local staff friendly and welcoming.
Comfortable and clean room, though limited view and no balcony for us. Excellent breakfast service to table while enjoying the fresh air of the garden. Very nice evening meal, again with very attentive service.
Pool area fairly simple - sun loungers could do with an upgrade. Had the impressive indoor spa area to ourselves.
Hourly shuttle service to the golf Clubhouse ( or twenty minute walk via the back of the hotel and along the course - ask for directions).
Golf was excellent, with challenges for all reasonable levels. Buggy essential, hire clubs reasonable quality. Clubhouse has fantastic view across to Funchal; not busy at all when we visited but good service and excellent food.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Antiblackberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews