We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Apartment!”
other travellers have booked this property
By the pool
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
By the pool
Relax by the pool Swimming pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
By the pool
Relax by the pool
Swimming pool
Ajuda Sunset
Lounge
Swimming pool
swimming pool shallow end
Dining area
View of lounge from balcony
View from balcony
Bedroom
Kitchen
Sunny balcony
Glass of wine?
Study area
Bathroom
Madeira Forum shopping centre at Christmas
Ajuda sunset
local sand beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Funchal, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
ShanTNK
Warwickshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Apartment!”
Reviewed 19 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Everything was lovely and tidy and clean. We were travelling with our 3 & 1 year old so Robert had arranged a travel cot, fold out bed and highchair etc which was very helpful and we were able to fit all the beds into the room so got to have the separate living space for once the kids had gone to bed. There are shops and restaurants just a short walk from the apartment and it's only a quick bus or taxi ride into Funchal. There is a small playground next to the pool and also a park a short walk away with another playground so the kids were happy. We would definitely book again if we come back to Madeira. We all had a lovely time! Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & cleanliness of apartment
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2016
Hi Shannon, Thanks for the kind review and we're glad you and your family had a good time. Please come back and visit us again. Robert & Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew C
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Wow, excellent place”
Reviewed 12 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Cannot add to what has been said before, if you are visiting Madeira then why cram into a wee hotel room when you can have the luxury of a full and beautiful apartment. Big supermarket at the bottom of the road, full and quality cooking utensils and coffee machine.
Literally the nicest apartment we have ever visited. Keep up this standard please.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Wifi I fact it all
Liked least: Some dogs barking occasionally!! Not the fault of the apartment
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2016
Thanks for the review Matthew, we try to maintain high standards to give our guests a comfortable stay so they can enjoy their holiday to the maximum.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MRS CATH...
2 reviews
“A most enjoyable experience”
Reviewed 21 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We have just had a very enjoyable week in Maderia. The apartment was lovely; well equipped (the kitchen was colourful and had everything you could need) The lounge/diner was spacious and bedroom was comfortable with plenty of wardrobe space. A lovely well equipped balcony was the icing on the cake. iT was within easy reach of the bus and very good restaurants but yet quiet allowing a relaxaing experience. We would definetly recommend this apartment.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2015
Thanks very much for your kind review and we're glad you enjoyed your stay at our apartment and on Madeira! Thanks, Robert
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee T
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great alternative to booking hotel”
Reviewed 12 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We have always stayed in hotels when holidaying in the past but decided to give apartment renal a go this time round.

I have to say we were delighted with the apartment and will be doing more of this in the future. The location is a five minute bus/taxi ride to the centre of funchal but there are still plenty of nice restaraunts if you don't want to walk far. Also close by is a large shopping mall with a very cheap super market if you fancy getting food to eat in one night.

The pool is lovely and quiet throughout the day which was what we wanted.

Rob, the owner was great in the run up to our stay, being contactable by email to answer any questions and make recommendations.

Thouroughly enjoyed. Thanks again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2015
Thanks very much for the review and we're glad you had a good time in Madeira and at our apartment. Robert
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philnterr...
Canberra
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Comfortable accommodation in a quiet location with easy access to Funchal”
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

With a marked increase in overseas travel over the past 18 months we decided to only submit reviews on accommodation/restaurants/attractions that were either exceptionally good, exceptionally bad or offered excellent value for money. On our recent trip to Spain & Portugal we stayed in two holiday rental apartments that truly were outstanding, one of these was the Monumental Green Park apartment in Funchal which provided excellent accommodation at less than AUD120 per night.

From our initial email contact with the owner, Robert, in October last year and subsequent emails to his agents (Cecilia, Tina & Joana at AYS-Madeira) the whole booking, payment & confirmation process was very straight forward. All our emails were answered promptly and AYS-Madeira also arranged our airport transfers to and from the apartment.

The apartment itself is exactly as described on TripAdvisor and as shown in the photographs. Located on the 5th floor (with lifts) of a modern secure apartment complex on the coast just west of the main part of Funchal the apartment was clean & quiet and had everything we required for our 8 day stay. The apartment consists of a large open plan living/dining area, a separate fully equipped kitchen, a large separate bedroom with plenty of cupboard room (& a safe), and a good sized bathroom with bath/shower, toilet & bidet. There is also a utility room off the kitchen with a washing machine, clothes drying rack etc. The apartment has a large veranda overlooking the pool and gardens accessible via sliding glass doors from the living area and bedroom – a great spot for a glass of wine or two in the evening. There is cable TV and good secure wifi available, as well as a secure underground parking space should you choose to rent a car. The apartment does get a fair bit of sun during the middle of the day and while the apartment is not air-conditioned (not really needed) there are pedestal fans in the living area and a ceiling fan in the bedroom to cool the place down when you return from a hard day exploring the island. The complex also has a swimming pool with crystal clear water, plenty of deck chairs and umbrellas, a children’s play area, a shower and nearby toilets (despite the hot weather when we were there the pool certainly was not crowded & we had no trouble getting a chair).

With regards to location - there are a number of small cafes, bars and restaurants within a couple of minutes’ walk and the Madeira Forum shopping centre (heaps of shops + large supermarket) is only 5 minutes away. In addition to local bus stops at the corner of the apartment complex, there are a number of bus stops (including the hop on/hop off bus) and a taxi rank at the front of the Madeira Forum. There are regular inexpensive bus services to the centre of Funchal and a taxi back from town is less than 10€ if you have a late night out. A short walk further down past the Forum onto Rua da Ponta da Cruz takes you to a walkway that runs along the coast, past some ocean swimming facilities and a number of good bars & restaurants, particularly at the eastern end of the promenade.

We would recommend this apartment to other travellers, particularly couples (or couples with 1 or 2 small children) looking for a comfortable, quiet location with easy access to Funchal. We intend to visit Madeira again in 2 or 3 years’ time and would definitely stay at this apartment again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean comfortable apartment and excellent value for money
Liked least: We could only stay 8 days
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing