We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
8 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
USD 142
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/02/22
Booking.com
USD 141
View deal
Free cancellation until 04/02/22
Agoda.com
USD 117
View deal
Hotels.comUSD 142
PricelineUSD 126
TravelocityUSD 142
View all 18 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,587)
Filter reviews
2,587 results
Traveller rating
1,908
550
91
24
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,908
550
91
24
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews captains bar old town cable car sea view sea front happy hour roof terrace excellent hotel local restaurants small kitchenette cobbled streets indoor pool returning guests bed and breakfast each evening half price the ground floor
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 2,587 reviews
Reviewed 24 November 2021 via mobile

Just had an amazing one week stay at this beautiful hotel.
The location is superb, right next to Old Town with its lovely cobbled streets, restaurants, farmer's market and quirky painted doors. Funchal is within 10 - 15 minutes walk and it's a lovely city, very clean. The cable car station is next to the hotel as well as plenty of buses.
Definitely an excellent choice location wise.
The hotel itself is superb, spotless and the staff are friendly and helpful.
I was half board and the food was really good, although not an extensive choice, what there was was excellent quality and service was efficient. The breakfast was buffet with plenty of choice too. Lunch could be found at the pool bar which was also good and reasonably priced.
My room was facing a great view of the pool and sea, it was very clean, housekeeping did an excellent job daily and my bed was super comfy. It had plenty of storage and a small kitchen area which was fully equipped with crockery, cutlery etc, there was also complimentary toiletries.
The facilities were good, two lovely pools, plenty of sunbeds and the garden area around the pool was well kept. There is also a beautiful roof terrace.
The entertainment was low key but good, and the cocktails very good and reasonably priced too.
The staff work incredibly hard, and we need to remember we are still in a pandemic, so they definitely deserve a special mention.
As a female solo traveller, it's important that I feel safe and comfortable and I certainly did in this gorgeous hotel.
Thank you Porto Santa Maria for making my first time in beautiful Madeira welcoming, and a amazing experience . I met some amazing people in other guests too.I'll definitely be back. I'd also recommend taking some excursions to see this beautiful island, wear good shoes! Lots of cobbled paths!!
I booked with jet2 and the rep Pedro was very good.
All in all ....amazing!

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Fourcorners21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla Bacanhim, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2021

Dear Guest,
We were very grateful for your feedback and for choosing the PortoBay group.
Your words confirm the dedication of the entire team and our desire to continue to satisfy our guests’ needs.
We look forward to your next visit!
Thank you,
Carla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2021

Our first stay at this hotel but not the first at Portobay hotels. Due to our financial position we booked a standard room. This overlooked the park and had a nice little balcony. The beauty of this hotel is the location in the old town with all its associated attractions. However this does mean noise, which goes on into the early hours and the double glazing does not stop this. Earplugs are a must and work wonders, so no complaints just an observation. The hotel is a bit too clinical for our liking and seemed to lack character. The staff were efficient, but didn't engage with people, not usual for Portobay, though I understand with the recent covid issues this is a difficult time. The facilities are excellent, the breakfast very good and everything very clean. Dining options in the evening were ok, but we only ate once as the menus didnt excite us and the old town is the real place to be. Overall a nice stay, but not quite what we expect from Portobay, and at a price point hard to justify a return visit.

Room tip: Sea view must be quieter. Earplugs elsewhere.
Date of stay: October 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BenRinnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla Bacanhim, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2021

Dear Guest,
It is very important for us to receive your feedback.
Thank you for your comments and we look forward to your next stay at one of our hotels.
Kind Regards
Carla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2021

First the good bits. The place was very clean, the breakfast was amazing, plenty of choice and the staff did an excellent job of clearing plates and stocking the hot food. The rooms were serviced every day and we were happy with that apart from the kitchen cutlery which turned up about Thursday. The indoor swimming pool was lovely and warm if a little shallow and was empty each time I used it. The hot tub on the roof was lovely but we didn’t find it until the last day.

Now, we had booked a junior suite, it looked lovely on the website with plenty of room to spread out. The room we were given did have a sea view but a much better view of the car park. This was in use day and night, was extremely busy and was a cut through to roads in the old town. There was a lot of noise all the time and this became more apparent when we used the pool terrace which was very quiet. Thank goodness the double glazing was effective and the black out curtains did a good job. We did think about asking to move but there are so few junior suites we decided to stick it out. The other VERY disappointing aspect was smoking. The hotel itself has no smoking indoors but you are allowed to smoke on your balcony. There was only one balcony below us but yes at regular intervals we had to jump up, dash inside to close the door so our room was not filled with disgusting cigarette smoke. Hardly relaxing. Would I return? No. DON’T ACCEPT ROOM 228 and maybe 128 if that was the suite below.

Room tip: Check out the 3rd floor roof terrace
Date of stay: November 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla Bacanhim, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2021

Dear guest,
First of all, thank you for your comments. Your opinion is very important to us.
We shall carefully analyse the less positive points you mention regarding your stay.
We would be happy to see you again at our hotel in order to meet your expectations.
Best regards,
Carla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2021

Firstly let me say that we believe the Portobay hotel group to be the best chain of hotels on the island. We are frequent visitors and now stay entirely at Portobay properties.
This was our first stay at Porto Santa Maria as a result of a missed Timeshare week due to the COVID pandemic. We were booked into a sea-view studio room.
So, first impressions… Be warned, the hotel lobby smells bad because of the drainage issues in the old town location, but it is only in the Reception area, nowhere else.
The room we were given was on the ground floor and I would advise future guests to avoid the ground floor rooms. We were constantly bitten by inspects, and ants invaded the room on one occasion (curiously). Having said that, the housekeeping is very good and the room and hotel were kept very clean and sanitary.
The pool facilities were also very good and the pool staff friendly and helpful.
Of the reception staff, half of the seemed happy and friendly, the others were not very welcoming, which is a shame. Please improve the reception welcome, it is a first impression. The same goes for the restaurant staff - they were unfriendly and unwelcoming. We only used the restaurant for breakfast as we were not expecting the service to be good at dinner based on their general rudeness at breakfast. We overlooked the staff issue as the breakfast buffet was very good with plenty of choice and Covid secure measures were enforced.
The location is great, and there are plenty of very nice restaurants within short walk of the hotel. Tip: eat lunches/dinners in Old Town.
Overall, a nice stay, but with improvements to be made.

Room tip: Do not book a garden view room OR a ground floor sea view room.
Date of stay: November 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DJST76
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla Bacanhim, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2021

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for sharing your opinion about our hotel.
We regret that we were unable to meet your expectations and we will take your comments into account so that we can improve the points you mentioned.
Thank you once again.
Yours Truly
Carla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2021 via mobile

Some things are different because of Covid-19 precautions but we enjoyed our stay enormously. The hotel was spotlessly clean and the staff as friendly as ever. The location couldn’t be better and although a number of local restaurants have closed there is still plenty of choice on the doorstep. The room was very comfortable with a great view from the terrace. We hope to be back next year.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank CheeseEatersUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carla Bacanhim, General Manager at Porto Santa Maria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2021

Good afternoon,
Thank you for your positive comments. I will share them with our team.
It is always good to see you again.
Thank you,
Carla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews