We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in Funchal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel
Ranked #36 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location in Funchal”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Hotel situation great for walking in to Funchal centre as an easy 15 minutes down the hill and not as steep as many roads for returning! Lovely walk in the opposite direction along the coast as well. A good choice of local restaurants within 5 minutes if you would rather not walk down to the centre, as well as a Spar supermarket almost at the entrance which is handy for buying water and not having to carry it far. The breakfasts were excellent with everthing you could want and filled you up for the day. Outside pools cold in February (as you would expect)but there is an inside pool.Guest relations very helpful for booking taxis and car hire (but you have to pay the hotel to park overnight in the grounds and there is no other parking around). The room safes are rather old fashioned and you have to hire the lock and pay for each day compared with the normal digital locks in most hotels of this standard. I would certainly stay there again as the location was ideal.

Room Tip: High floors have better views and are easier to get to the breakfast room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RunnerBeanBristol57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LilianaSilva, Manager at Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank your for sharing your experience and comments. We are very happy to know that you are willing to come back to Madeira Island and stay with us at the Pestana Miramar. Please contact us if you have any special request for you next visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    176
    53
    13
    1
See reviews for
96
251
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Just returned from a week staying in the Mira mar with a two bedroom three bathroom lovely large apartment, Excellent location with a ten minute walk into Funchal centre one way and a walk along the coast to the Lido area with restaurants the other way, Lovely reasonable large supermarket in the lido area,avoid the Spa which is convenient but pricey.Nice coffee shop and bakers selling fresh delicious cakes each day,newspaper shop which receives English papers each day but not till three ish.It was our first visit to Funchal but wont be our last lovely friendly resort.The Pestana itself was good perhaps a little ostentatious in decoration at times but that's only a small grumble ,the welcome meeting was informative ,one sour note the representative Davie was approached by my husband as he was interested in the Pestana options ,however upon further discussion this was not a plan that my husband wished to pursue,,Davie was then rude to my husband and made him feel uncomfortable. Other wise a very pleasant stay in a lovely resort.

Room Tip: Do request second floor or above to ensure a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leicestersupporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LilianaSilva, Manager at Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Dear Guest,

We are very happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay at the Pestana Miramar.

We take this opportunity to apologize for the behaviour of Davie, this is not how Pestana Group Employees are trained for.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We spent almost a week in Madeira. The hotel has two parts - garden resort and village resort. It was a little bit complicated to find a breakfast room first day, but the breakfast was great - and we had a great start every morning. The room was spacious with a small kitchenette but our room was located on the ground floor - we were sitting in the garden behind the bushes when we were on terrace - that is why I rate room as average only. Not really in the city center (Funchal) - in my opinion little bit far if you want to walk there. But most of visitors rent a car to explore this beautiful island - for those is Pestana Miramar good choice. Overall I can recommend the hotel and I would stay there again (but I will ask room in a higher floor :-)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leondelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LilianaSilva, Manager at Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry that the room location was disappointing. If you do come back, please contact us and we will do our best to allocate you on a upper floor.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ENGLAND
Level Contributor
113 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Stayed with friends in their time share appartment in November 2011. Good location, close to city, about 15 mins walking. We had an appartment over looking the harbour which was good, but a little noisy with the road underneath. But the views out weighed the noise!! Lovely hotel, friendly staff and excellent amenities..the gardens are amazing, well kept and always immaculate...Would definitely use this hotel on the next trip to Madeira.....

Room Tip: Rooms over looking the Harbour can be a bit noisy, but the views out weigh this...Sea view rooms giv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WITHIES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lantana, Florida
Level Contributor
134 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

This is not an easy place to get to from the U.S. With delays and layovers it was 30 hours door to door. We traded a timeshare week for a week at the Miramar. What a great property in a great location. Walking distance to both Funchal and the Lido. The venerable Reid's is directly across the street, so you know you are in a good neighborhood. Lovely gardens surround the hotel. We had a 2 bedroom/ 2 bath unit with a water view. Many rooms are not high enough for a view. A nice feature of our unit was 3 zones of climate control, one in each bedroom and another in the living room where there is a pullout sofa. The hop on hop off bus stops right across from the entrance. The housekeeping is excellent, the room and the hotel are immaculate. We will be back if we can find a quicker route to get there.

Room Tip: Request a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank roslynpines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 km away
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
0.3 km away
Pestana Carlton Madeira
Pestana Carlton Madeira
#29 of 86 in Funchal
2,215 reviews
2.1 km away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#15 of 86 in Funchal
1,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel
0.9 km away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
Suite Hotel Eden Mar
#6 of 86 in Funchal
1,352 reviews
0.5 km away
Madeira Regency Club
Madeira Regency Club
#46 of 86 in Funchal
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel

Property: Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel
Address: Estrada Monumental 182 184, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#32 Family Hotel in Funchal
#34 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price range (per night): $127 - $280
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the premises of the historic and elegant hotel Miramar, which was built in 1924 and considered a very special place to stay, the new Pestana Miramar Hotel benefits of the attention given to the architecture and landscaping of its gardens. The Pestana Miramar shares the grounds and services of the Pestana Village Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Priceline, lastminute.com.au, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel Hotel Funchal
Pestana Miramar Garden Funchal
Pestana Miramar Garden Hotel Aparthotel
Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing