We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
VidaMar Resort Hotel Madeira
Nearby Hotels
USD 226*
USD 212*
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ocean Gardens(Funchal)
USD 103*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Residencial Parque(Funchal)(Great Value!)
USD 34*
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Pestana Palms(Funchal)
USD 190*
USD 162*
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 256*
USD 246*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 351*
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 176*
USD 160*
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
USD 260*
USD 150*
Pestana Hotel Group
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
USD 124*
USD 116*
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Duas Torres(Funchal)
USD 96*
USD 92*
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,947)
Filter reviews
2,947 results
Traveller rating
1,811
876
189
48
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,811
876
189
48
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmamma miaocean restaurantdine around optionsushi restaurantlisboa barkoi sushisea platformhalf boardcasa dasinspired luxury escapesbroadway travelindoor poola superior sea view roomsalt waterpiano barbreakfast and dinnerstar hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,700 - 1,705 of 2,947 reviews
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed here for three nights just before Christmas. The hotel is situated in the 'hotel zone' about 15-20 minutes walk from central Funchal. Most of the hotels are here and as a result Central Funchal does not suffer from a high rise sprawl along the seafront. If you don't fancy walking then buses or taxis are in plentiful supply.

We had a 'superior' room on the 7th Floor and indeed the sea views were very pleasant, we both agreed tha the bed was one of the most comfortable that we'd ever slept on. On arrival, we found a complimentary bottle of bubbly and some fruit in the room, which was consumed on the balcony watching the sun go down. The breakfast buffet was fairly standard international hotel fayre but at least there were different items on each day. We never go for the cooked breakfast so I can't comment about some of the other complaints in other reviews. We never eat in hotel restaurants as this always seems like a cop out.

As part of out package, we also had 25 minutes in the hydrotherapy bath. I'd never done this before and it was very relaxing.

Out and about, we loved Madeira, the emphasis was on local food (unlike the Algarve where its easier to find a full English breakfast than anything traditional). We ate in 'Londres' which despite it's name is a traditional Madeiran restaurant. I recommend the Dorada fillet with banana, the portions were huge. We also ate in one of the seafood restaurants in the marina and 'Bella Ihla' Italian in the hotel zone (excellent pizza).

We really like Madeira, an unspoilt Mediterranean Island as there is little if no beach scene and its not been overrun with partying hoardes. The levada walking was excellent although there were places where you'd need a head for heights (and would miserably fail UK health and seafety!). The local buses were plentiful and cheap (even on Sunday) you do not need a hire car on this Island.

I expect that we'll be back in Madeira sometime soon and to this hotel if we can get a good deal.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

The hotel is situated in Funchal's hotel zone, about a 15/20 minute walk from the seafront/Marina area. Ok going down there, but sometimes felt like a long walk back up the hill - there are plenty of buses around an a bus stop right outside.

The hotel itself is split into two "towers" and all the rooms have a sea view and a balcony. We had a family suite which meant our 12 year old had his own separate bedroom and TV. We were on the 7th floor. The rooms were spotlessly clean so no complaints there and towels were changed every day. Myself and my husband found the bed quite hard but our son thought his was comfortable, so just personal preference I guess.

Outdoor pools were saltwater infinity pools which we did brave on one day despite the time of year and the fact that they were freezing and can imagine that in the summer they would be lovely. The indoor pool was half indoors and half outdoors which was fine, but small for the size of the hotel and with 5 people in the pool it felt full.

What lets this hotel down in our opinion is the food. The breakfast buffet was probably one of the worst we have eaten - food was barely warm and fatty foods such as bacon were served on a bed of white bread to soak up the fat. Avoid at all costs the nightly buffet at £23 per head (even for a child) - we went on Italian night - food was cold and inedible. The Ocean View restaurant by the outdoor pools served lunches and food there was fine - freshly cooked and good service, and we also ate at the Italian "Mama Mia's" which was ok.

Overall we enjoyed our week in Madeira.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor for the best views
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pinkbroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

This hotel is nicely situated about 15 mins walk from the city however if you don't fancy the walk there is a good bus service and plenty of taxis. You can't help but notice how professorial all the staff and you are treated just as you expect to be in a 5 star hotel. We normally eat out when we are on holiday but this time was different as the hotel had good food that was cheaper that most of the restaurants close by, we were advised that we could purchase a meal ticked for 24e per person this included the buffet water , wine and even a drink in the bar later on if you so wished. All in all the hotel is great and all rooms have a sea view, the only fault I had was due to us having a garden view room on the 2nd floor was we had a few Roches coming in from the garden however when I advised the desk staff they moved us without us have to ask!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruby151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Very luxurious hotel with every accomodation a hotel needs: large rooms, dinning area, lobby with wifi, bars, swimming pools, spa, sauna,...
Wifi in the rooms is not free but it is quite expensive: € 3 / 30 minutes. Wifi in lobby is free. That's why you'll find a lot of people in the lobby with their smartphones, Ipads, ...
The staff was very nice, they all speak very well English and some even Spanish. The only negative thing I could find was the mold in the indoor swimming pool. This is unacceptable for a 5star-hotel.
The rooms were very large, clean and well maintained. The beds are very comfortable, I slept like a baby!
Although I wouldn't want to be a cleaning lady in that hotel, all those mirrors in the bathroom! Hell to keep them clean but they manage.
I really enjoyed my short stay there.

Room Tip: the advantage of this hotel is that every room has an ocean view
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ankie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2012

The hotel is right by the sea, with breathtaking views from most of the rooms. Rooms from the 6th floor upwards have the best outlook over the ocean. Our balcony was just perfect and we could watch the sun rising and setting in the ocean.
The hotel is about a 25 minute walk away from the city centre. We found it a bit too far for walking but there are frequent buses from / to city centre, with a bus stop a stone's throw away from the hotel. The aerobus also stops at the same stop, very convenient for the airport.

We liked the modern feel the hotel offers, with a lot of glass, concrete and space. While this might not be everyone's cup of tea, we enjoyed the atmosphere. It has a somewhat business-like feel but it shouldn't put you off. Our room was very big, with a gigantic bed and some sitting space by the window.

Breakfast is served in the garden restaurant, with a terrace over a pretty garden and view towards the sea. Food at breakfast was a bit samey (not necessarily a 5* standard) but the setting more than makes up for it. We didn't eat dinners at the hotel so can't comment on that.

There are 4 outdoor pools (2 big and 2 small ones) which we didn't try because of the cold weather (it was December after all) + access to the ocean + an indoor pool with an outside part.
On top of that the hotel also has a spa with a brilliant stylish pool with water jets. If you get a chance, it's worth trying it.

We went for a short walk in the Lido area and couldn't find a hotel with a better location or pools. If you intend to stay in Funchal, I would definitely recommend CS (now Vidamar) Madeira.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank melquiades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews