We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“The hotel company operator has created something really special at the Cliff Bay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel The Cliff Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Ranked #3 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“The hotel company operator has created something really special at the Cliff Bay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2011

This is the third time we have stayed at the Cliff Bay, and whilst we requested a balcony overlooking Funchal harbour on the eighth floor from our UK tour operator we ended up with one with a sea view instead on the seventh floor. It was delightful and not at all disappointing, just different in that we had the sun until later in the afternoon. The hotel is so popular that we gathered from reception there is huge competition when booking rooms with a view.The room sizes and fittings appear to be the same on all floors, but the decor on the top floor rooms is that litle more luxurious, as are things like the free fruit and the juices in the minibar, which of course you pay for in the higher rate. We ate in the Gallo d'Oro for breakfasts, and really enjoyed silver service at a table outside every day - we were lucky in having continuous sunshine for our October fortnight. The breakfast fruits are superb, as is the range of cooked options, but we only had the free sparkling wine on the morning of our anniversary. We also ate in the Gallo d'Oro on two evenings, one of which was the anniverary day when they scattered rose petals on the table for us. We found it superb on both occasions with attentive service, a delicious range of choices on the fixed menu for 46 euros each (which is not that different from some of the better restaurants nearby) and a reasonably priced wine list. We didn't use the spa facilities themselves, but did use the internet there and also managed to get the newspaper of our choice delivered to our room every day. We made extensive use of the upper pool area, where the loungers are the most comfortable at the hotel. We used room service several times, and nothing was too much trouble, as it wasn't for the staff on reception. The hotel company operator has created something really special at the Cliff Bay and it seems to go from strength to strength. Many of the same staff are there each time we go, which tells you something about it. We've already booked for 2012. Any gripes...none at all, other than being puzzled that you have to leave a 30 euro deposit to borrow a DVD in your room. But it would be boring if absolutely everything was perfect in paradise......everything else is at the Cliff Bay!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,573 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,224
    274
    60
    9
    6
See reviews for
299
1,905
78
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (963)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

This was our first visit to the 5* Cliff Bay Hotel and it was wonderful. We can't fault it at all. The staff are friendly and helpful, the service is brilliant and the spa....fantastic! If you are going to Madeira this is the place to stay. We were in room 608 - a Junior Suite - overlooking the harbour. Breakfast in the Michelin Star Gallo d'Oro Restuarant is included with a suite booking but it would be worth the 11 Euros each to eat on the balcony overlooking the gardens if you are staying in a standard room. Evening meals in the Rose Garden Restaurant were excellent too. Buffet style but something for everyone's taste. It's definitely worth booking a standard room along the harbour view corridors - 601 to 607, 501 to 507 etc. And make sure you have a dip in the sea - the variety of fish is amazing. We can't wait to go there again.

Room Tip: Harbour view definitely
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank youngones4455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
Thank you for your feedback I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with and that you found and staff friendly and efficient. We have a wide variety of food and beverage offer that we hope that you will enjoy. The rooms overlooking the sea are very special…
Looking forward to welcoming you back in 2012 or who knows… perhaps already again in 2011.

With kindest regards,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2011

Just returned from another fantastic holiday at the cliff bay hotel.Our room was 235 looking over the gardens with sea-views between the palm trees [limited sea-view] yes it was over the bar but the music never bothered us and i am a light sleeper.Breakfast as previously reviewed has everything you could want hot or cold did'nt eat there at night as there are very good restaurants nearby but plenty of people do.This hotel is very relaxing ,spotlessly clean and very friendly and polite staff a credit to the management.The pool area is lovely even though it was busy you could still get a sun bed if there wasn't one the pool staff would go and find one and bring it to you.Hope we can return next year.Thank you all at cliff bay.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jenny28_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
Thank you for your feedback I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our side sea view rooms have some visual obstruction and some located above the bar. The music is by many appreciated. It is great to hear that you found our staff helpful, even with the hotel fully booked there are sunbeds for everyone.

Hoping to see you back soon again.

With kindest regards,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
*
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

We have stayed at the cliff bay over 10 times and each time it is always delightful to return. The staff are fantastic and attentive and they make you feel like part of the cliff bay family. We are already planning our next trip. One thing i love about this hotel is the spa. They offer the most delicious treatments both for men and women. If you are lucky enough to get a Funchal facing room, the town lights up like a christmas tree at night, which is wonderful.
Because we have visited so many times, we are now gold card members, which means that we get great discounts within the hotel, but also in partner shops and restaurants. The restarants within the cliff bay are wonderful, we love having lunch down by the blue lagoon. Snacks in Le Cliff bar are always excellent. The Rose Garden offers a real mix of dining options on different nights each week. The Galo d'oro is excellent, but my husband will refuse to wear a jacket on holiday, so our dining here has been limited.

We are also able to get wifi here, so my husband can sneak away and make it look like he is in the office.

Room Tip: The garden rooms have great views of the sea too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie20081966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
Thank you for your feedback I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us again. Thank you for giving us the confidence in hosting your stay now for 10 years. The gold card brings benefits that I am glad you are taking the best use of. Our Gallo d’oro is our most formal restaurant and we do suggest the use of jacket or tie. For all our guests to feel comfortable in the environment, we even have ties and jackets to lend in case one doesn’t bring along.

Hoping of the pleasure of welcoming you back many more times.

With kindest regards,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

Stayed for a week beginning of Oct 2011 and had a wonderful time.
The hotel room was lovely 4th floor (255) Believe there are about 15 rooms without sea views and we managed to get one, having never been one for sitting on the balcony all day this did not spoil anything The room itself was spacious, lovely comfortable beds, definitely no back ache, large TV with English BBC 1, 2 and ITV along with a film channel (Hollywood channel 11) and a DVD player which would have been great if the weather was bad but it was hot, hot hot.
The breakfast area was very clean and tidy (Rose Garden) everything from porridge to champagne and even a daily A4 sheet of the highlights of the daily news
We also ate at the Michelin star restaurant Gallo D'Oro, we went to the dinner dance evening which states that gentlemen should wear tie or jacket, (hubby had neither with him) but we were seated without anyone making a fuss about this. If offering advice though I would say to please take both a jacket and tie, as everyone else had made the effort and you can not afford to visit this hotel without trying this simply wonderful food.
The hotel has 2 pools, one attached to the spa and then a second seawater pool at sea level. You take the lift down from the spa area, you can also gain access to swim or snorkel in the sea from this area. Towels are provided at the spa area and small freebies (suduko, puzzles etc) another lovely little touch.
Overall the highlights of this hotel are, its relaxing atmosphere,the scrumptious birthday cake surprise left in room, the easy proximity to the town and the first-rate room service food.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RichardANDJacqui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanRingertz, General Manager at Hotel The Cliff Bay, responded to this review, 25 October 2011
Thank you for your feedback. The Cliff Bay offer a number of different room categories. All the rooms are well equipped no matter which category, however our sea view rooms and top floor rooms benefits of fantastic views overlooking the Atlantic that must be considered very special. We have a wide selection of TV channels including some of the popular British channels.
In “Il Gallo d’Oro” we strongly recommend the use of Jacket or Tie as the environment of the restaurant is formal. We even have jackets and ties to lend if needed.

Hoping of the pleasure of welcoming you back for many more memorable holidays.

With kindest regards,

Jan E. Ringertz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
2.1 km away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.4 km away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 767 reviews
0.8 km away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Porto Mare Hotel
Porto Mare Hotel
#7 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,850 reviews
1.3 km away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#8 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,024 reviews
0.7 km away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Cliff Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Cliff Bay

Property: Hotel The Cliff Bay
Address: Estrada Monumental, 147, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#1 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#2 Family Hotel in Funchal
#3 Business Hotel in Funchal
#3 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price range (per night): $247 - $438
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel The Cliff Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Ocean stretches as far as the eye can see at the foot of The Cliff Bay which is perched on the top of a natural promontory. The hotel is surrounded by gardens with innumerable secluded corners and centenary palm trees extending to the very edge of the cliff face. The panorama is completed by a magnificent view over the bay of Funchal to the left of the hotel.The most influential restaurant guide in the world, the Michelin Guide, has awarded a star to Il Gallo d'Oro, The Cliff Bay's gourmet restaurant run by Chef Benoît Sinthon. This is Madeira's first and only star ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel The Cliff Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Bay - Porto Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Porto Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Funchal
Cliff Bay Hotel Madeira
Hotel The Cliff Bay Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing