We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“spotless,well equipped with beautiful furnishings...”
other travellers have booked this property
Palheiro Residence
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Palheiro Residence
Free internet access - Palheiro Residence Wi-Fi and Laptop included - Palheiro Residence
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Palheiro Residence
Free internet access - Palheiro Residence
Wi-Fi and Laptop included - Palheiro Residence
Rear balcony - Palheiro Residence
Kitchen - Palheiro Residence
Kitchen - Palheiro Residence
Kitchen - Palheiro Residence
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Funchal, Madeira, Madeira Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
93maureen
Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“spotless,well equipped with beautiful furnishings and modern appartment.”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

free transfers from airport and met by very friendly and helpful owner , Gerardo at apartment..Gerardo kindly took us to supermarket where we could stock-up and he obtained medication for me one morning. Comfortable flat in new building brand new quality furniturewith lift and use of lap-top.tv etc. Well equipped kitchen.Balconies .carpark for car if needed. Least liked rather firm beds Quiet environment. Buses nearby needed as return walk from Funchal centre uphill ,as a 73yr old. Madeira interesting and beautiful. Plenty to do.

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2015
Thank you very much for your kind words about Palheiro Residence. It is with great joy that we have read your review. We are looking forward to hearing from you again.

See you soon! We hope!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asnook2
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 11 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Gerardo was an excellent host. Flat is very comfortable and comprehensively fitted out.
Walk down the hill is very steep, but that's Madeira.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Feb 2015
Thank you for choosing Palheiro Residence for your recent stay in Funchal. We have read your comments about Palheiro Residence and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David B
Ampthill, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quite excellant service, location on a steep hill down to the old town.”
Reviewed 29 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed just over 3 weeks for Christmas and new year. Gerardo was an excellent host providing fresh milk and a welcome food hamper on arrival, after being picked up from the airport without an extra charge, and all luggage transferred to the apartment on our arrival. All towels changed twice a week, and a full clean and bed linen change weekly. We found that the DVD player was faulty, but Gerardo replaced the payer within a couple of hours with a brand new unit! Note: the best bakery on Madeira plus butcher and general store is just a 10 min walk away from the apartment, as you leave turn right and right again up a slight hill. There is also a lovely small restaurant down the hill 2 blocks away proving simple but excellent Madeiran seafood and meat dishes with views of the harbour. New Years Eve view of the fireworks on the roof superb, helped by a complimentary bottle of bubbly. Hill to the old town is steep, but taxis back are only 6-8 Euros. Heartily recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jan 2015
Thank you very much for your kind words. We are very happy to know that you and family enjoyed your stay at Palheiro Residence. We are looking forward to hearing from you again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seenitdun...
Newton Stewart, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“The perfect apartment with the perfect host”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

All eleven reviews of this two bedroom apartment prior to mine rate it as EXCELLENT. I whole heartedly agree with the sentiments already expressed. It was spotlessly clean (we even had a mid week clean and change of towels); Fully equipped (even down to toilet rolls, cloths, napkins, washing powder and soap – the things you usually have to go out and buy on arrival).

Everything was in ‘new’ or ‘as new’ condition and everything worked perfectly (even the shower heads).

The owner Gerrardo, a perfect host, organised free transfers for us, both from and to the airport. He had even provided us with lunch on our arrival. It was very obvious that Gerrardo was dedicated to ensuring that we enjoyed our stay and that he was very proud of his apartments
.
We stay in apartments or villas two or three times a year, in various countries, but for quality and comfort this was the best we had stayed in.

There was some traffic noise in the front double bedroom, particularly from about 7.30 am through to 9am. The second bedroom which is a twin is on the garden side so the only noise is created by the birds..

The apartments are up a steep hill at the far end of Funchal Old Town. A ten minute downhill walk takes you to a large choice of restaurants, whilst a 15 minute walk on a gentler hill brings you out just behind the fish and flower market.
If you are not keen on walking up hill (like us!) then a taxi from the town costs only 5 or 6 Euros.

There is a general store next door which sells very tasty bread and huge, delicious, huge, croissants which are worth every cent of the 80 cents each that he charges for them! You’ll need to be quick though as every morning when we called, he always had only had three left!???

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words about our apartments. The satisfaction of our guests is our best reward. I look forward to hearing from you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The outstanding service, we had everything we needed and more.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
6 Jan 2014
I am very happy to know that you liked to stay at Palheiro Residence. The satisfaction of our guests is our best reward. I look forward to hearing from you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing