We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Stunning meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Belmond Reid's Palace

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Belmond Reid's Palace
Ranked #5 of 86 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stunning meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

Did not stay at Reids but went for dinner, cannot recommend enough, stunning views, amazing service, gorgeous food, and not too expensive ! 10/10

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt33333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,132
    135
    43
    6
    8
See reviews for
219
873
39
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

My wife and I have just returned from the most perfect and memorable holiday at Reids. Without asking, our room was upgraded to the room we had on our last visit, overlooking the semi-tropical gardens and the Atlantic Ocean. As we were celebrating an anniversary, we were welcomed by a stupendous vase of flowers and champagne in our room, as well as a birthday cake at Dinner! The room was spotless with clean sheets and towels each day, with a prompt evening turn- down service; we could not have wished for more. The Reception staff were, as ever, outstanding, forever most cheerful and helpful with nothing being too much trouble. It's not surprising to learn that some of the staff have been with Reids for over 45 years! From the minute we arrived they knew our names and room number, such is their professionalism! The food was truly outstanding, whether at the Les Faunes Restaurant in the Hotel or the Cipriani in the Hotel gardens. Breakfast and lunch, by the heated pools has to be seen to be believed! It is fantastic. Add to this the renowned Tea on the Terrace, or a perfectly made cocktail in the Bar, and you are truly in paradise! Without exaggeration, it was the very best hotel we have stayed in. Faultless would be no exaggeration.

Room Tip: Ask the Hotel for the type of room you need and your wishes will be fulfilled.We booked with Hotel R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Madeirahotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

The Reids Palace is just incredible from every little detail - to the grand premises and the location on a private cliff close the Funchal centre on Madeira.
I have lived in many, many hotels around the world and this is top of the line. Purej excelence.

From the moment you reserve a room til you check in and out, the staff are extremely friendly and profesional. You feel like you are the most important person in the world. They are sincere in every way. And the rooms are just fantastic. I got a room overlooking the garden and the pool area with the magnificent sea view behind. I chose a Charming room witch is the least costly. Nevertheless I felt like a king. The room was spacious with a great balcony.

To live here is like beeing part in a Hercule Poirot film, but with all the comfort of 2012.

The breakfast is just incredible.

Highly recomended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravellerfromtheNort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExperienceManager, Manager at Belmond Reid's Palace, responded to this review, 5 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind contribution and to share with us your thoughts about the hotel.

I am glad to read that you have enjoyed your time in Madeira and at Reid's Palace and the modern facilities in a grand dame, were appreciated. The hotel has more than 120 years, but the wi-fi, flat screens, IPOD dock stations and teens room are more recent, but appreciated by all the generations visiting us.

Wish you all the best and look forward to welcome and pamper all the users of this forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

As soon as your walk through the door into the lobby, you know that you have entered a colonial world of luxury.

As you are escorted through the beautiful public rooms, you are already assured of quality service, from the bar to the dining room or even the excellent quality buffet poolside.

We have dined in the dining room on several occasions, spent a very special New Years Eve here at their Black Tie Gala dinner. More recently had a special birthday meal and enjoyed their excellent value Chamoagne Buffet.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

We really enjoyed six nights at Reids in January, recovering after our daughter's wedding. The style, service, and environment were second to none. The gardens are delightful and there are so many places to relax in the sun or the shade, with views across the ocean.

I enjoyed swimming in the good sized heated outdoor pool each morning, under the stars (as the sun doesn't rise until 08:10 GMT). My wife enjoyed a Portuguese lesson one afternoon, and we loved the atmosphere and pure luxury of it all.

We especially enjoyed the Italian restaurant (Ciprianis) and of course the infamous afternoon tea.

The hotel provided complimentary champagne on my wife's birthday, and while we wondered how much we might be accumulating on the extras tab during our six days, it was a relatively modest 506 Euros - and while some might consider it expensive - we thought it was worth every euro.

The walk into Funchal was easy and pleasant, but sometimes we used the courtesy bus, or the local bus, which was easy too.

We're keen to return every year - but will probably wait for the next special holiday.

Do try Reids when you want something really special!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sfhlawes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel The Cliff Bay
Hotel The Cliff Bay
#3 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,618 reviews
1.8 km away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
0.3 km away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Melia Madeira Mare Resort & Spa
1.0 km away
The Residence
The Residence
#6 of 86 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
0.9 km away
Quintinha Sao Joao
Quintinha Sao Joao
#10 of 86 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Reid's Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Reid's Palace

Property: Belmond Reid's Palace
Address: Estrada Monumental 139, Funchal, Madeira 9000-098, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Funchal
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#3 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#5 Family Hotel in Funchal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price range (per night): $397 - $599
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Reid's Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 163
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on cliff tops overlooking the Bay of Funchal and the Atlantic Ocean, this legendary hotel has, for over a century, been a standard-bearer for excellence. The hotel is located on 10 acres of subtropical gardens, boasts enviable access to the sea and is within walking distance of Funchal's shops, restaurants and night-life. With its reputation for excellence and discreet service, Belmond Reid's Palace is the ideal place at which to relax and be pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC and Odigeo so you can book your Belmond Reid's Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reid`s Palace By Orient-Express Hotel Funchal
Reids Palace Funchal
Reids Palace Hotel Funchal
Belmond Reid's Palace Madeira/Funchal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing