We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing sunset platform. Treated like royalty. Felt very special. A night we will all remember forever. ”

Restaurante Do Forte
Reserve with
Restaurante Do Forte is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #40 of 670 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 12 - USD 43
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Restaurante do Forte Linking the Soul of Restaurant do Forte to the Essence of the São Tiago Fortress (17th Century) is a rare encounter between history, architecture and gastronomy. These spaces can be interpreted, in a genuine experience distinguished by its gastronomic diversity, that combines an international cousin with typical Madeiran ingredientes. We have the most varied services from pick-up with Classic Cars, Live Music and Exclusive packages such as our Golden Package and Romantic Package. From the informal and intimate to the spectacular and glamourous, Restaurante do Forte has a range of unique spaces, whether you’re planning a private party, wedding or corporate event. The Restaurante Forte Events team is highly experienced at designing and delivering unique and bespoke events. Contact us if you’d like to talk through how we can help you host an unforgettable event.
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

We can here on a Wednesday evening for my birthday. We completely didn't expect what was going to happen. But we ended up being escorted up too an incredible private platform for 10 mins on so, we booked at 7.30 on a clear day (best time for an incredible sunset!!!) with free drinks on arrival, we were all taken back how special we were made to feel. An amazing surprise for any birthday or memorable occasion. We then go placed on a round table, as a rowdy party of 8 that was a result nice change. With sea views, we opted for the incredibly good value set menu, with all the trimmings and wine that complemented every dish perfectly. We ended up extremely drunk and full, but had an amazing and unforgettable night!
The only fault was the pudding - mum was unimpressed with some pannacotta thing, however everyone who ordered the chocolate fondant didn't regret it at all! It was incredible.. perfect.

Will miss Madeira for this place. On of the only reasons I would make an effort to come back, purely to have this night again!

1  Thank CharlotteBurke_20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RestDoForte, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Restaurante Do Forte, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your visit and having the time to write this review.
We do work hard to assure that all of our guests have a memorable meal and that everything from the food, service and ambiance need to be just right.
We hope to see you soon in your next visit. Thank you for your preference.

Best Regards

Team Restaurante do Forte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,684)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 85 of 2,685 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

We visited the Forte (within the Fort) and had a wonderful meal. The food is delicious, hot, beautifully served and something for everybody's taste. Staff very friendly. Recommended.

1  Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RestDoForte, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Restaurante Do Forte, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your visit and having the time to write this review.
We do work hard to assure that all of our guests have a memorable meal and that everything from the food, service and ambiance need to be just right.
We hope to see you soon in your next visit. Thank you for your preference.

Best Regards

Team Restaurante do Forte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

This was the last meal we had in Funchal and the one we were looking forward to the most. We pre booked a couple of nights before as we wanted an outside seat. We knew when we booked that the tables were close together however, we were one of the first 3 tables that arrived and we're all sat a breast, our table touching the table next to us. This would have been ok if the restaurant had been full and lively but there was no one else there so it made it awkward. Not sure why the table attached to us could not have had another table inside as the back of the restaurant was empty the whole time we were there? The service was also disappointing, the hostess was quite surly not only with us but with another table that asked to move. When I asked her what veg was in the veg soup and was told abruptly "well it's mixed veg" - I had gathered this but there are some veggies I don't like so with this answer I decided on something else. We did the concept menu - amuse Bouche (prawn salad), starter (I had strawberry gaspatio in the end which was mostly a bowl of strawberry purée and my partner ordered the prawn dish but was served prawn risotto - we knew it wasn't the correct starter as other guests ordered prawns and received a completely different dish - he said it tasted good regardless), mains (I had lamb which was lovely, my partner had surf and turf and was wasn't very impressed with the steak), sorbet and then deserts (I had the cheeseboard which was the best I'd had all week - hence the 4 start review! Partner had creme brulee which he also said was the best he had all week). As this was the most expensive concept menu we had all week (€42 and no welcome drink was served to us but we did see other tables receive one) we were expecting big things but to be honest, I don't think we'd return after this visit. I feel I've given a balanced review to explain why - excellent deserts, ok mains, mediocre service.

Thank Sammib1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RestDoForte, Gestor de Relações Públicas at Restaurante Do Forte, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for your visit and having the time to write this review.
We do work hard to assure that all of our guests have a memorable meal and that everything from the food, service and ambiance need to be just right.
We hope to see you soon in your next visit. Thank you for your preference.

Best Regards

Team Restaurante do Forte

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

This was our second visit. On the negative side we were very squashed in and the service was on the slow side. On the positive side, staff were knowledgeable and professional and most of the food was excellent. The amuse bouche was a let down, tuna and sweetcorn on a plate.. Nevertheless we would go again for a special occasion.

Thank alison w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RestDoForte, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Restaurante Do Forte, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest

We wish to express our gratitude for having the time to write this lovely review.
The team are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your evening to the fullest.
We do work hard to achieve a very high standard and offer at the same time a wonderful dining experience to all of our guests that visit us.

Thank you for having us in such a high regard and we look forward in seeing you again soon.

Do Forte Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017 via mobile

Loved the concept menu. A great way to dine. The quality of the food was superb and the service very attentive.

Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RestDoForte, Gestor de Relações com o Cliente at Restaurante Do Forte, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest

We wish to express our gratitude for having the time to write this lovely review.
The team are very pleased to know that you have enjoyed your evening to the fullest.
We do work hard to achieve a very high standard and offer at the same time a wonderful dining experience to all of our guests that visit us.

Thank you for having us in such a high regard and we look forward in seeing you again soon.

Do Forte Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Do Forte also viewed

 

Been to Restaurante Do Forte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing