We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent seafood in the busy tourist street”
Review of Gaviao Novo

Gaviao Novo
Reserve with
Gaviao Novo is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #114 of 710 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 14 - USD 63
Cuisines: Portuguese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: It is for us a privilege to be part of the good memories of those who visit Gavião Novo. In our restaurant you will find a friendly and committed team that will transform your meal into an experience worth remembering.
Reviewed 27 August 2017

This restaurant serves excellent fresh seafood from the local market. The street is the busiest tourist street of Funchal in a string of restaurants.

Thank Horst S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiago T, Gerente de relações com clientes at Gaviao Novo, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Thank you for your review. We was very pleased with having a great experience with our seafood and staff, hope you can come back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (951)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 76 of 951 reviews

Reviewed 24 August 2017

This was our best find in Funchal.
The food was simple, fresh and really delicious. We enjoyed it very much! It was so good that we decided to go back the for the next 3 nights. Moreover, the staff is very friendly, kind and professional.
100% recommended! Deserves high rating on tripadvisor!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank lelienn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiago T, Gerente de relações com clientes at Gaviao Novo, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Thank you for your wonderful review, has made us very proud and thank you so much for sharing these with us and TripAdvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

I had a nice dinner with my family. The service was very friendly, they asked us many times if we were satisfied with our food and if we needed help to choose our menu. Fish and seafood are fresh and very local. It is a little restaurant situated in one of the most touristic streets of Funchal but despite that it mantains the essence of the traditional Portuguese cuisine and a bit of tavern atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank OscarRguezFdez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiago T, Gerente de relações com clientes at Gaviao Novo, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Thank you for your time on writing a very pleasant review, that makes us very proud of our service. Hope you can visit us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

My friends and I had a top quality evening meal at the restaurant. The busy street and the excellent staff added real value to the dining experience. The quality of both the fish and meat dishes were exceptional and it has the 'DNA' of a quality international restaurant. Some of my friends enjoyed some superb fish dishes.The prices are competitive and represent good value for money.We wil return.

Thank George647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiago T, Gerente de relações com clientes at Gaviao Novo, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your dining experience, we value our local ingredients and love to share it with our customers.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

We dined there, as family of 4. Warm welcome for the kids, fast and friendly service.
As recommended by LP, we chose the fishes and seafood. We shared grilled octopus as starter, then we both had scabbard fish: hubby with white wine and garlic sauce, me with maracuja sauce. Both delicious :)

I can recommend this restaurant !!

Thank cmercier66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiago T, Gerente de relações com clientes at Gaviao Novo, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2017

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your dining experience, we are very proud of doing our best to only use local ingredients and share Madeira Island flavours with our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gaviao Novo also viewed

 

Been to Gaviao Novo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing