We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best traditional restaurant in Funchal!”
Review of O Portao

O Portao
Ranked #48 of 748 Restaurants in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 15 - USD 30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 10 October 2016

We ate there two times during our stay in Funchal. Every time it was great. Me and my wife we ate local food: fish soup, fish stew, fish skewer, black scabbard fish with baby prawns sauce, fresh tuna pasta, caldeirada verde. everything was great, the waiter explained us about every dish, it was the best food experience in funchal. I highly recommended to everyone who want's to taste local cuisine. Good value too.

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dani850701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,056)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 159 of 1,056 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2016

We stumbled across this restaurant in Old Funchal. The food was so good and reasonable that we visited it three times. The restaurant is not overlooked by other restaurant. The service was excellent

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Have always had the most marvellous meals and service at this restaurant. Food is always cooked from fresh and the staff are always so friendly and informative. You're never rushed and we've always had magical evenings here. It's slightly tucked away behind a church and not that easy to find but don't give up and carry on walking and you'll come across it. Don't leave Madeira without visiting this restaurant

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank Lyn403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Great food. Amazing service. Friendly and welcoming staff. I recommend the skewered beef and fish soup. An absolute gem in the old town 10/10

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank IanGreen83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2016

Friendly service and good food at a fair price. We ate there on two occasions which speaks for itself.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank Epicure40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed O Portao also viewed

 
Funchal, Madeira
 

Been to O Portao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing