We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Recommandation for Villa Cecilia”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Cecilia

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Sintra, Sintra Municipality, Lisbon District, Central Portugal

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
HansenKE
Egtved
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Recommandation for Villa Cecilia”
Reviewed 28 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I recommend Villa Cecilia and - with reservation - the property manager Seashell/Antonio Palma despite two disappointments. For the disappointments see below ”Villa outside” and ”Paying for Nothing”.
"Contract".
The contract with the property manager Seashell/Antonio Palma was finished with good and quick help from the manager.
"Key-holder".
The key-holder mr. Joaquim was very quick and helpful and informative about the villa and the area.
"Villa inside".
The inside of the villa was very clean and spacious. I would recommend it for 10 people (adults) as the bed-room in the basement is not attractive.
"Villa outside".
The outside of the villa and the area around it need maintenance. Lamps are crashed, hanging in the wires or missing, fiberglas covers over grates are broken and really traps for small children (my youngest granddaughter was trapped - painful but not serious hurt), papers from the last year or so are lying behind the mailbox, the pump/circulation in the pool looked not working properly (the key-holder said the water quality was OK).
"The area".
The road in front of the villa has very much traffic and parking for the beaches - but only in daytime - so it really doesn't disturb you. There is 15 min. walk to wonderful beaches (but the water is cold: July only 17 degrees Celsius), three very good restaurants within 5/5/20 min. walk. Sintra and Lisbon is 45 min. in car/taxi/minibus. Conclusion: Fairly good situated for a family holiday.
”Paying for Nothing”
We had arranged two transfers and one tour via Seashell/Antonio Palma. Communication problems within partners in Portugal resulted in we paid for what we got plus 150 € for Nothing. Seashell/Antonio Palma withheld (saying he will send to the transfer co.) the amount in our security deposit against my will and probably illegal - so please take care. I wouldn't dare use Seashell/Antonio Palma again.
"Transfer"
Cooperation and communication with the transfer company (Renato Costa) was excellent, and Renato helped us when flight departure was changed.

Pictures and email correspondence re ”Paying for Nothing” available.

KE Hansen

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2016
Thank you for your review. Regarding the outside, i apologize for the problems encountered, i will make sure they will be addressed for future guests. As for the tour and "paying for nothing" we already exchanged several emails and you still refuse to accept that you can't cancel a tour package 1 day before the due date and get away with paying nothing. 150€ was only half of the amount, they didn't charge the full amount. As for blaming us for it, it is the same as blaming the credit company for taking the car that you failed to pay. Thank you anyway, hopefully next time there won't be any issues with your holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noel915
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not as described”
Reviewed 1 December 2015 for a stay in October 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The house is big and has everything you need as far as dishes, towels, etc. but other than that it doesn't come with many bells and whistles. The pool looked like it needed work and a good cleaning, the sauna is old and located in a run down building separate from the main house and the wine cellar is nothing more than a small locked wine room. If you do decide to stay at this villa, be sure to rent it through Trip Advisor as we were price gauged by renting it directly through the property manager via Heavenly Villas. We went in a group of 6 people the week of October 16th through the 24th of 2015 and were charged $5000.00 for the week. Also - Wifi is located in one of the back bedrooms and you can't connect to it unless you are in that bedroom.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Dec 2015
I believe the reason for your complain is that you overpaid by going through an agent that is not the manager and has nothing to do with us, it is just an agent who charged nearly twice of normal price. It is unfair that this advert is ours and that we are the ones paying for a bad review that wouldn't have happened if the price was correct.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
603sandie
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A REALLY MEMORABLE EXPERIENCE”
Reviewed 29 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
4
people found this review helpful

Villa Cecilia is in the most fantastic location of Praia Grande and enables you to experience a true sense of Portuguese life. The Villa has amazing views, easy access to Praia das Macas, with a bus stop just outside the gates giving easy acces to Sintra and Lisbon. The fantastic beach of Praia Grande is just a few minutes walk away and has a large swimming pool, cafes, restaurants,( Nortarda and El Fundo are excellent), surfing/ body boarding activities and cliff top walks. The sunsets are stunning and can be best appreciated while enjoying a meal or drink at one of the restaurants.
The villa is well equipped with more than adequate bathroom facilities, spacious bedrooms, kitchen and lounge, a great pool, sauna, gym, laundry room and outdoor cooking area all of which contributed to a relaxing enjoyable holiday for our large family. My teenage grandson had the basement to himself which he loved.
The staff were helpful and did a really good job, answered all our questions and endeavoured to sort out any small problems straight away, (ie iron not working).
The provision of some brochures about Sintra and other attractions together with bus timetables would have been helpful as we had never been to the area before, but once we got our bearings it was easy. A car is only essential for large shopping trips and getting to see the more out of the way places like small roadside markets and picturesque villages.
You can get all your provisions in Praia das Macas, a good butcher ,baker, fish market and mini market at reasonable prices.
Villa Cecilia is an ideal base for a family with a wide range of ages and I would definitely go back in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about the villa and the area
Liked least: Lack of information on arrival
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing