We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A magical place that will linger in your memory for years”
Review of Casa Miradouro

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Miradouro
Ranked #6 of 39 Sintra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A magical place that will linger in your memory for years”
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Sintra is an amazing place to visit - I would suggest staying here for a couple of nights as opposed to the common practice of making it just a day trip from Lisbon. If you take my advice to spend 2 or 3 nights, then please take my advice and stay at Casa Miradouro. It is an absolutely gorgeous house inside and out. The room my wife and I stayed in had a view of the mountains, the Moorish Castle and the Quinta Regaleira (a must visit), with french doors and huge windows - simply one of the most striking rooms we have ever stayed in. The breakfast is delicious as well.

You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellikealocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    50
    17
    8
    2
See reviews for
31
206
14
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
115 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

My husband and I had such a wonderful time staying here. The room was magnificent, looking out to all the lovely sites that Sintra has to offer. The breakfast were awesome and filling allowing you the energy you will need to take on this amazing town. Yes you do have to walk up a steep hill, but my husband and I made a game of it and we were in the town before we knew it. Besides you get to walk downhill on the way home. Please do not miss this one of kind house in one of the most beautiful places we have ever been to.
Samantha

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GivemeaTfortravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

This B&B is incredibly charming, clean, and peaceful. The views surrounding Casa Miradouro are delightful, and both of our rooms were spacious, clean, and cozy. Charlotte and her staff were all SO kind and helpful to us; recommending places to eat, drawing maps and offering local tips of how and what to do. Charlotte also offered to arrange a car pick-up for us from the airport and was genuinely kind to all of her guests. I can't think of a better place to stay in Sintra. The historic center is a quick 10 minute walk away (although it is uphill, but bonus...it is downhill coming back after a meal, which is the better side of things)! The breakfast served in the morning was wonderful! Toasts, fruit, meat, cheeses, yogurt, eggs, fresh-squeezed orange juice, and pressed coffee. We loved our stay at this relaxing B&B!!

Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ALaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We were amazed by the fantastic views of the Pena Palace that we could see while lying in bed. Our bedroom had great views of Sintra in three different directions. The architectural detail of the room was amazing---Carved plaster motifs, large airy windows. The bathroom was modern, clean and an efficient. Location is fantastic. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Dinner reservations, taxi arrangements, travel recommendations were taken care of for us. Breakfast the next day was plentiful---lots of variety and heathly choices as well as traditional fare. When we return to Sintra will will only stay here. This beautiful posada is the best in town! You cannot beat the views and service.

Room Tip: Ask for for room 3. It has the best views. Windows on three sides of the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katherine2627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

What a delight. We stayed for 3 nights in April, 2011 along with another couple. Both rooms were comfortable, clean and spacious in a wonderfully renovated and charming home. The breakfasts were wonderful and the staff couldn't be nicer or more helpful. Recommended restaurants and sites were all exactly what we had hoped for. Sitting outside in the yard or having drinks or afternoon coffee in the living room added to the experience. Great location, great staff, great breakfast--we recommend Casa Miradouro and Sintra as an experience well worth the trip.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lincoln212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sintra hotels
0.7 km away
Tivoli Palacio de Seteais
1.2 km away
Hotel Sintra Jardim
Hotel Sintra Jardim
#5 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.6 km away
Sintra Bliss House
Sintra Bliss House
#3 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hotel Nova Sintra
Hotel Nova Sintra
#4 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.6 km away
Sintra Boutique Hotel
Sintra Boutique Hotel
#1 of 15 in Sintra
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
0.6 km away
Chalet Saudade - Vintage Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Miradouro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Miradouro

Property: Casa Miradouro
Address: Rua Soto Maior 55, Sintra 2710-628, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Sintra Municipality > Sintra
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Sintra
Price range (per night): $117 - $159
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Miradouro 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Miradouro has 8 rooms, all with private bathrooms and balcony. Double-glazed windows and central heating make the rooms comfortable even in the Portuguese winter. All rooms are kept in bright colours and dispose of large windows so you can enjoy the magnificent views. Some rooms have beautiful stucco ceilings. All the rooms are non-smoking rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, Otel, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Miradouro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing