We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Laura C

Hidden gem in heart of Lisbon

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Mar 2024via mobile
Fabulous hotel is heart of Alfama. Lovely staff and efficiently designed modern rooms in an old convent. Peaceful inner Courtyard, perfect for drinks from the limited hotel bar. A little noisy at night with revelers in the street, but my husband was oblivious. Steps away from a beautiful Lisbon overlook. We will stay again off-season.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$555
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$555
1.2 km from Hotel Convento do Salvador
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$304
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.0 km from Hotel Convento do Salvador
Free Wifi
AU$179
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.0 km from Hotel Convento do Salvador
Free Wifi
AU$288
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
3.3 km from Hotel Convento do Salvador
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$323
  • Melia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
6.4 km from Hotel Convento do Salvador
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior view
AU$158
  • Booking.com
  • ibis
    AU$158
  • Hotels.com
3.9 km from Hotel Convento do Salvador
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$481
  • Expedia.com
    AU$523
1.0 km from Hotel Convento do Salvador
Free Wifi
Free parking
356027 Guest Room
  • Priceline
  • Lol.travel
    AU$191
  • Hotel Website
0.8 km from Hotel Convento do Salvador
Free Wifi
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    AU$329
  • Priceline
1.7 km from Hotel Convento do Salvador
Free Wifi
Room service
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$213
  • Expedia.com
    AU$245
2.0 km from Hotel Convento do Salvador
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Lisbon
Reviews (916)
Filter reviews
916 results
Traveller rating
625
257
25
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
625
257
25
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews alfama district converted convent rooms are small fresh fruit salad tram route old lisbon pastries river view recommend this hotel lovely hotel single room junior suite comfortable bed quiet at night walking distance definitely stay here again excellent location
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 916 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2024 via mobile

This hotel, tucked away down an alleyway in the old part of Lisbon, is a real gem. The rooms are spotless, breakfast delicious and staff exceptionally helpful. Situated just a short walk from the No. 15E tram stop, two panoramic look out points, the Castle of St Jorge and the Cathedral, it is perfectly positioned to visit as many tourist spots as possible in a short time.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Elizabeth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 January 2024 via mobile

The location of this hotel is excellent, right in the heart of Alfama, where you want to stay in my opinion. Our room was spotless and roomy. The entire hotel is very nice, but the true gems are the staff. They were so kind and willing to help with any questions or needs. The courtyard area is nice as well. The only thing to note is that the bed was rather firm. I am used to sleeping on a soft pillow top mattress so this was a change although not a big deal. Highly recommend this lovely hotel and would 100% stay here again if returning to Lisbon.

Room tip: When you exit the main hotel entrance, take a right up the hill and follow around the corner on the left to an amazing overlook.
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank ShannaBrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 December 2023

Great little hotel in Lisbon Old Quarter.
The area is extremely steep with cobbled streets. Quaint but it makes for very tired legs! Cars and taxis cannot access the entrance and travellers should be aware of this. Rooms are clean and the staff friendly . Some very good restaurants and picture opportunities close by and the rattling old trams pass by regularly.
No complaints at all about the hotel but customers should be very aware of the difficulties of access and the steepness of the surrounding area.

Room tip: Be aware of steep hills and cobbled streets
Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dereknew2n1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 November 2023 via mobile

Excellent place to stay in the heart of old Lisbon. Good location to catch the tram. Metro or walking. Our rooms were clean, breakfast buffet was delicious. Fatima, who works in the lobby was amazing. Efficient, professional & kind. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Chesterlyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 November 2023

Great place to stay in Alfama. Really nice staff, clean and comfortable rooms, and a good breakfast selection. Relatively close to metro stations, and a handful of nice restaurants nearby. A bit difficult to find, but that's just part of the charm of the neighborhood.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank red_mallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews