We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“great service and great experiences”

Review of Indie Campers

Explore Europe with us! 
Go Indie!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Explore Europe with us! 
Go Indie!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
245 reviews
Explore Europe with us! 
Go Indie!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Camper van -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lisbon, Lisbon District, Central Portugal

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 245 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Portuguese first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Joscha J
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great service and great experiences”
Reviewed 9 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We got picked up directly in front of the air port.
We drove to a bar at the beach and got a briefing of the van‘s functions.
We had a very freindly guy showing us everything we needed to know about the van.
Very easy to understand due to his good english skills.
We checked the van together for scratches and dents and he was again helpful and honest. (Didn‘t try to hide anything)

The van itself was new, clean and had a cool comic design.

During our 2 weeks trip we had no issues at all.

Special thanks again to our contact person who took care of our questions at almost every time.

The check out was as uncomplicated as the check in.

We can highly reccommend this company as we had no issues or negative impressions at all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2018
Hi Joscha, thank you so much for travelling with us, and for this beautiful review ! We're so happy, your trip was amazing and that we contributed to it. Your kind words regarding the service we provide just feel our hearts with pride and joy!! On your next Indie adventure, we'll welcome you once more with open arms and big smiles in any of our depots :) Cheers, Your Indie team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Europe Road Trip”
Reviewed 6 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

After lots of research into various companies, we found Indie Campers to have exactly what we needed at a price we could afford.

The team were brilliant, helping us from the booking process right to the end of our trip.

On our first night we discovered a missing connection point, thankfully the team have a whatsapp that you can contact at most times so this was very quickly resolved.

The van was far more comfortable than expected, and we found lots of small amenities that made our road trip more comfortable.

Overall we spent 5 nights in the van and achieved 4 countries (Italy, Croatia, Slovenia and Austria) the team asked about our trip prior and even pointed out a couple of things to do on route.

I found the team to be extremely helpful and friendly and the van was excellent. I would not hesitate to recommend them.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2018
Hi there, thank you so much for your positive review! WOOOOOW 4 countries in 5 nights, you guys must have a dozen stories to tell us :) We're so proud we could help you throughout your epic road trip, and really hope to welcome you back in a near future!

Your Indie Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mark c
1 review
“11 nights of a unforgettable European adventure.”
Reviewed 4 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Collected the Van from the Milan depot to be given a brilliant introduction by Carina, we later hit the road on our way to the South of France. Being over 2hours on the road the engine light came up on the dash of the van and the van started to lose power I immediately contacted both Carina in the Milan depot and the 24hr helpline both being very helpful and advising us to stop the van in the safest place possible as this was late at night on a Sunday only something could be done the next morning. The next morning a new van being driven to us by Jose who drove 2 and a half hours this did not dampen our holiday as these issues happen and the whole team were helpful from the guys in Milan to the office in Portugal and Jose from Marseille. With the team always checking up on us which was a nice touch.
We drove over 3000km's finding the van effective for what we needed. The van was very fuel efficient and roomy as we had the Active Plus perfect for 4 of us.
Toll's were a big cost but these cannot really be avoided unless you have plenty of time on your hands.
As a group of 4 21-year-old lads, we found this holiday something special as it gives you the freedom to do what you want and see some breathtaking places at your own pace. This may not be everyone's type of holiday but for a young group like us, it was perfect.

Thanks, Indie Campers and don't change what you're doing.

Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2018
Hey Marc, o thank you a LOT for this perfect review of our services! We're so sorry that you had a mechanical issue during your trip. Our vehicles are maintened according to all standards of our providers, but sometimes some unforseeable events can happen. Fortunately, you guys are the most positive minded people ever, and were never worried! We're super happy that we could find the perfect solution for you to go on your long adventure :) Now that you're part of the Indie Family, let's meet again at least once a year like real families do at Christmas :)
Your Indie Family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chip M
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Driver Beware!”
Reviewed 2 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018
3
people found this review helpful

DRIVER BEWARE: Indie Campers does not have an adequate insurance policy for foreign travelers. Even if you buy TOTAL insurance through them, it does not cover the ENTIRE vehicle; a costly mistake that my wife and I learned the hard way. As non-native drivers, it is asking a lot to maneuver a large vehicle in a foreign country where you are not familiar with the driving laws, customs and roadways. We, of course, weren't explicitly told about the insurance policy until we arrived to pick up the camper-van, after our entire vacation was already planned. As a result, we will not use Indie Campers again and I would not recommend anyone else does until they change their insurance policy. I did express my thoughts when THEY contacted me with a post-trip evaluation but have yet to hear from them weeks later, hence, this review. If you proceed and rent with them anyway, just be aware of their faulty insurance policy. Word to the wise: if you are renting an rv or any vehicle, ask specific questions about the insurance before booking.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jul 2018
Hi Chip, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. As a young company, we value any feedback we can get from our customers, being it good or bad. We strongly believe that this is the only way we can grow and get better day after day. We are really sorry you feel that way, and perfectly understand that having to pay for a damage is a difficult situation. However, we are very explicit on our website on the information we provide about anything regarding our services, and even more so in regards to our insurance packages. We do not provide total coverage, and none of our insurance options (basic,extended and premium) aims to fully cover any damage. Our dedicated page to the insurances describes exactly what is included and what not in any of them. More detailed information can also be found in the FAQ section, as well as the terms and conditions that any of our customers has to read (and check the box to state that they agree on them) before finalizing the booking. We are really sorry this precise point disapointed you, and hope you could enjoy your trip regardless of those feelings. On our side, we really hope to welcome you back in any of our depots for another Indie adventure.

Your Indie team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
morganeal...
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Glamorised transit van ”
Reviewed 30 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018
3
people found this review helpful

I have stayed in Motorhomes before and this is by far the worst one I have ever stayed in. First off the van hadn’t been cleaned when we received it so I spent the first few hours of my holiday buying cleaning supplies and cleaning the van. See photos!!! The van is meant to come with a shower and toilet not a porta potty you have to move every time you want a shower we never ended up using it because it was disgusting and we are both experienced campers even serving in the military. Going Bush is a much more hygienic option than using that van, bleh!!!!
It also didn’t help that when we picked up the van the employee cleaned the toilet with a cloth and then proceeded to use that same sloth to clean the table in the van which we were supposed to eat off. Talk about food poisoning. Bleh again! Oh and you also don’t have any hot water unless you are plugged in to the mains. Tell me what is the point of having a motor home and being able to stay at amazing natural sites but oh you need electricity to make the motor Maine function properly. I could go on but then I would be writing an essay of all the things wrong with this motorhome and experience we received from indie campers. Do read and do not book your holiday here!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2018
Hi Morgan, thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. As a young company, we value any feedback we can get from our customers, being it good or bad. We strongly believe that this is the only way we can grow and get better day after day. We are really sorry for the issues you had on your trip. First of all, we'd like to assure you that all our vans have to be cleaned before any booking starts! This is part of the service we provide to ensure that our customers get their vehicle in perfect hygienic conditions; we are truely sorry that we failed you on this part. Regarding the equipment of our campervans, we perfectly understand your point, but this might have been more of a misconceptions of what our vans are. As a company, we try to be as transparent as possible on our website to avoid any expectations that do not match what we actually offer, but this review proves that we can still improve our communication, and we thank you for directing our focus to this. Actually, on our FAQ, we clearly state what our vans include, and have a specific paragraph on the autonomy of our vehicles. On another hand, we would have been more than happy to answer any questions you might have had before your booking. We are really sad that you left with such a bad impression of our company; and truely hope, you will give us another shot, for us to provide you with the 5* service you deserve.
Your Indie team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing