We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,154)
Filter reviews
1,154 results
Traveller rating
734
329
67
14
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
734
329
67
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews smeg fridge nespresso machine welcome drink great hotel perfect location large tv superior room street view would highly recommend this hotel walk in shower rua augusta small room would definitely stay here again mini bar short walk praca do comercio comfortable bed
Filter
Updating list...
238 - 243 of 1,154 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile


First of all the location couldn't be better if you want to stay central. The hotel has a beautyful interior design with exceptional attention to details. However the management doesn't seem to appreceate what kind of a gem they were given to take care of.

The breakfast is of poor quality. Most of the food is rubbish, we would never eat at home. When I asked the staff if they can make a change after 3 days of the same food, I was told that there is enough to choose from.

We had a alarm at 5 o'clock in the morning. None of the staff came to the corridors to communicate with the confused guests for evacuation. We assumed it is a firealarm and went downstairs. Still none of the staff communicated to the guests as a group. At least not to our group. After a while the guests went upstairs again without the staff saying anything to the group or apologizing for the lost sleep. At the breakfast there was the alarm again (of course no communication again) ). So it is likely that it was due to technical failure that didnt happen for the first time.

There was a leak in the shower that flooded the bathroom everyday. We asked to repair it. Nothing happened.

I still give it 3 points due to the great location and building. This place should be 5, what a petty

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank walterfalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

We chose Lisbon as a birthday treat as we had not visited the city before and in our planning had spied the Brown's Central as having just the vibe we like. Everything was as we had hoped from the ample and tasty breakfast to the well appointed room and general atmosphere of the place. The ambience created is the combination of good taste and very friendly staff. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank TheSouthWestFlossy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

This place is bang in between all the happening places. One side you have Rossini, Chiado, Barrio Alto - other side you have Alfama, Rua Augusta Tower, Praca De Commercia. You can't have a better location than this to explore this wonderful city. You would possibly use Tram, metro or any public transport if you go to Belem or Caprisia Beach. Or possibly to Sintra. So many choices to eat around. Excellent staff. Special thanks to the girl (whose name I forgot) at the bar, she was our fallback guide on how to explore the city. She would give us the shortest routes how to reach anywhere in Lisbon.
The rooms of the hotel are a bit small in size, for my husband, me and my teenage son - it was difficult initially but the rooms have amazing storage spaces, which gives you a good sense of space. Extremely good housekeeping staff. Lovely decor inside the rooms and also at reception or at bar or at breakfast. A very very tasteful setup. Big spacious life. We got a lovely front facing room on 4th floor with a balcony. No traffic noise, very well curtained room - you will have no sunlight disturbing your sleep.
I loved this place so much - if I happen to go back to Lisbon - I am staying back here.
Worth mentioning is their breakfast spread. Lots of options to eat.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 293deepap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017

We stayed at this hotel for 10 days

The hotel is located in midst of the tourist area in Lisbon, a block away from the pedestrian street called Rua Augusta. And a short walk from Baixa-Chiado subway station, with a direct link to the airport. Most of the sights in Lisbon can be reached by foot from this hotel.

Check in time is not before 15.00 so if you are early, you might have to wait to get a room. The corridors are quite dark, and badly lighted. Our room was quite small, but well equipped, water boiler, espresso maker, mini bar, large TV etc. But is it necessary with two radios and a loudspeaker? It was a bit hard to place to large suitcases in the room, maybe it would have been easier if one of the chairs was removed?. The bed was a bit small but comfortable. The bathroom was relatively large compared to the room. The hotel uses old fashioned keys, instead of keycards.

The room was was very clean, and the housemaids did a good job during our stay. Rest of the staff was overall very friendly and welcoming

The breakfast had a good selection, and was overall very good

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 298eivindh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2017

The location is excellent, very central and convenient for most things.
The staff are attentive and helpful. It has the usual Browns vibe. The staff knowing it was our anniversary had a bottle of sparkling wine chilled in our room upon arrival. The bedrooms and bathroom are fully loaded, the sheets and towels are a lovely quality.
Breakfast is more than adequate, fresh fruit salad and jelly cubes being my favorite. Coffee and tea not quite so good.We booked a small room, but the downside to affordability is it is rather too small to have the lovely big bed, tv, radios, speakers, kettles, coffee maker etc. and be able to move.
Great trip, great hotel. I'd stay again.

Get a Viagem card and put eur 10 or so on it. Does tram, metro, train, etc, incl. to Belem, Sintra and airport. East to walk from Rossio or Baixo Chiado to hotel.
We took the Lisbon Walker guided tour at 10am from outside the tourist information office.
We visited Sintra (9.15ish train from Rossio), Quinta Regelario, Penna Palace are wonderful.
Belem on tram 15, Monasterio Jeronimos and of course pastel de nata, new statue of discoveries etc.

Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank intelligentgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews