We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent apartment in great location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Lisbon, Lisbon District, Central Portugal

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Babswyo
USA
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not my favorite”
Reviewed 26 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

We took a taxi from the bus station to this apartment which was smart since it's a steep uphill climb to the apartment from the metro through a rather unattractive neighborhood. (We subsequently learned to use the Lavra Funicular and then walk downhill to the apartment. If you use a bus (not the train or the metro) and change to the funicular within an hour, there is no extra charge. ) Going downhill in the morning was fairly easy and the apartment is close to the Rossio Train station and metro and the Restaradores metro.
The door to the apartment needs a coat of paint and the steep (50 degree) narrow staircase was difficult to climb or descend, especially with luggage and packages. Once inside the apartment, the living/dining room was a decent size, but the balcony is so narrow that it is hardly wide enough for a folding chair. (We visited in winter, however, so never used it since it was rarely in the sun.) The kitchen is narrow with a half-size refrigerator but is fairly well equipped and has some basic cooking supplies like oil, vinegar etc. The bathroom (which contains a washer in a large plywood box) is a good size and nicely decorated and overlooks the air shaft. The smaller bedroom (6 feet x 10 feet) also looks over the air shaft and is furnished with a single bed, a tiny bedside table and a clothes pole. The larger "spectacular" (to quote the apartment description) bedroom (8 feet x 10 feet) was equipped with a double bed, two tiny nightstands and a clothes pole (no window.)
We never met the owner, Pedro, but he was prompt in answering my e-mails. His Dad, Carlos, let us into the apartment and was kind enough to offer us fresh linens after a week and arrange a taxi to the airport. Overall, we never looked forward to returning to this apartment after a day of sightseeing, but the place was a fair value and conveniently located.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian S
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent apartment in great location”
Reviewed 9 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

If you want to experience some authentic Portuguese life in Lisbon, this is a great place to go. So long as you're OK walking up some steepish hills and steps, you'll be rewarded by a convenient location full of local restaurants and Asian run small shops with friendly proprietors. The apartment is very clean and tidy with everything you need. We stayed 3 nights, but could happily have stayed longer!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tom D
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Great Experience, Start to Finish”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
4
people found this review helpful

This apartment is in such a great location for Lisbon, you're only a few minutes from Rossio square which has great restaurants, but also has great transport links to the rest of the city with a metro station and the train station which can take you to Sintra. Some of the streets nearby can seem a little unsafe at night at first, but you quickly notice that even elderly ladies regularly walk up the streets by themselves, and there are always plenty of locals in this area. We stayed for 7 days, always coming back fairly late and had no problems whatsoever.

The apartment itself is beautiful, recently renovated, comfortable and clean. The balcony was nice too, the apartment faces the right way for the sun to fall on it in the morning which meant we could eat our breakfast out in the sunshine before heading into the city. The temperature of the apartment was good as well, they are right about not needing air conditioning as the place manages to keep cool in the daytime and just warm enough in the night.

The owners are such friendly people as well, they always picked up the phone and it seemed like I could email them at any time of the day and get a response in under an hour.

Overall I found staying in this apartment to be a great experience, if I were to stay in Lisbon again I would definitely come back here.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nath_and...
Nice, France
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BAULAC V
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
Google Translation

Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing