We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Quiet Hotel”
Review of Hotel Italia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Italia
Ranked #217 of 253 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed 23 March 2008

This was a very quiet hotel and the rooms were simple and clean. It looks like this hotel may have been renovated within the last few years. Things seems bright and clean. The breakfast was included and consisted of sliced meat, sliced cheese, a variety of breads, cereals, and fresh fruit. Beverages were orange juice, coffee and tea. After a week in Spain where none of our breakfasts were included, this breakfast was much enjoyed. It is on a quiet street, but expect to walk about 10 minutes to get to the metro. I wouldn't really say this hotel is centrally located. It is, however, close to the Gulbenkian Museum and also to the enormous El Cortes Ingles department store. The hotel staff were not very helpful to be honest. Any my other complaint would be that the shower is tiny with only a curtain surrounding it, so I drenched the bathroom every time I showered. My overall experience was good though and I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kelebogile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Italia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

34 - 38 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2007

Went to Lisbon on a weekend trip and stayed here. Despite the advertising of this hostel is "near the center", it takes 15 minutes by bus or metro to reach the proper center. Rooms clean and a bit small; try to avoid those facing the inner patio since they have little light. Breakfast was sufficient.

  • Stayed: June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cristian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2007

Clean, comfortable, relatively quite hotel. Location
is a few metro stops from the center, metro about
five minutes walk. No internet access, but there is
an internet cafe next door. It's not a very lively area,
but there are some restaurants.

You might not want to stay here if you have allergies.
The bathrooms have no ventilation and tend to get
a bit musty.

The "superior" rooms are a bit larger for not too much
extra. At the time we stayed, regular room was euro 60,
larger room euro 70.

Staff was quite helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank badtouristbad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2007

The room was absolutely spotless and the beds were comfortable.
I had a great nights sleep here - it was very quiet even though my room was located next to the lift.

The location is fine with a metro station 5 minutes walk away and lots of restaurants and supermarkets near the hotel.

The price was excellent. The only negative aspects of my stay were the surly receptionist who had a face like thunder and the breakfast which was very bland with no croissants. Just cereal, bread, ham and cheese to choose from..

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WalterSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2006

A nice hotel with helpful staff. Rooms were obviously recently renovated, but were quite small. The hotel was spotlessly clean.
Nice Chinese restaurant around the corner (turn right out of the hotel door, then right again, and it's on your left).

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank krayZpaving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.3 km away
Residencia Capital
Residencia Capital
#224 of 253 in Lisbon
53 reviews
0.3 km away
Imperador Hotel
Imperador Hotel
#171 of 253 in Lisbon
94 reviews
0.6 km away
Residencial Canada
Residencial Canada
#198 of 253 in Lisbon
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
VIP Executive Zurique Hotel
1.6 km away
Fonte Luminosa
Fonte Luminosa
#200 of 253 in Lisbon
44 reviews
1.1 km away
Dinya Lisbon Hotel
Dinya Lisbon Hotel
#201 of 253 in Lisbon
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Italia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Italia

Address: Avenida Visconde de Valmor 67, Lisbon 1050-239, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #217 of 253 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range: $84 - $313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Italia 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your Hotel in Lisbon! Lisbon is a modern city, full of vocations, steeped in history, heritage, traditions and hospitality of its people. Offering a bit of all - from the green hills of Monsanto to the gastronomy and the amusement of its nights. The Hotel enjoys a privileged location, right in the center of Lisbon, close to the Gulbenkian Museum, El Corte Ingles, Campo Pequeno and 15 minutes away from the International Airport We offer a wide range of services and facilities in order to meet your expectations. We hope to be helpful in your journey. Do not hesitate to contact us. We will wait for you! Hotel Italia, Your Lisbon Hotel. Lisbon will be unforgettable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Wotif.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Italia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Residencial Italia
Residencial Italia Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing