We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
diinslc
North Salt Lake, Utah

Very nice historical hotel

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Apr 2024
We enjoyed the historical ambiance of Solar do Castelo Inn and the special attention to things like some port at our bedside, a delicious breakfast, and a very nice sparkling wine on the patio in the evening. The peacocks are fun, and they did quiet down after dark. Furthermore, the location by the castle, actually part of the castle, is amazing and the museum in the cistern is very nice.

As much as we enjoyed the visit, there were two things that kept me from giving a perfect rating. The first is that the historic location makes the hotel very difficult to access and when we tried to call to get a ride back up to the hotel after a day of sightseeing with our arms full of packages, we couldn't get anyone to answer the phone. The second was that the bed was very firm and even though the information said it could be adjusted, that didn't happen even after I requested it.

In short, I think the hotel is great for historical ambiance and cultural inclusion, but not quite as good at comfort.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Diogo Laranjo, General Manager at Solar do Castelo Inn, a Lisbon Heritage Collection, responded to this review
Responded 2 May 2024
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback.
We are happy that you enjoyed our friendly staff and our magical location in the birthplace of Lisbon.
It’s also a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our buffet breakfast served till 12 noon and our special attention to the added values.
As you mention Solar do Castelo is a 18th century little palace in the small medieval village inside the castle walls and at the top of Alfama.
It is a point of honour for us, that every member of our staff, without exception, have a professional and attentive attitude and we sincerely apologize if, for some reason, we failed on this regarding the phone and the bed adjustment. We value and appreciate all feedback from our Guests and will continue to work hard to incessantly improve our performance.
We look forward to welcoming you again and having the opportunity to provide you with a most pleasant stay.
Kind regards,
Diogo Laranjo
General Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$312
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Solar do Castelo Inn, a Lisbon Heritage Collection
Free Wifi
AU$211
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.7 km from Solar do Castelo Inn, a Lisbon Heritage Collection
Free Wifi
Exterior view
AU$157
  • Booking.com
  • ibis
    AU$157
  • Hotels.com
3.7 km from Solar do Castelo Inn, a Lisbon Heritage Collection
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$666
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$666
1.0 km from Solar do Castelo Inn, a Lisbon Heritage Collection
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$492
  • Expedia.com
    AU$533
0.7 km from Solar do Castelo Inn, a Lisbon Heritage Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Lol.travel
    AU$191
  • Algotels
0.5 km from Solar do Castelo Inn, a Lisbon Heritage Collection
Free Wifi
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$373
  • Expedia.com
    AU$416
1.4 km from Solar do Castelo Inn, a Lisbon Heritage Collection
Free Wifi
Room service
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$351
  • Priceline
3.1 km from Solar do Castelo Inn, a Lisbon Heritage Collection
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$319
  • Hotels.com
6.4 km from Solar do Castelo Inn, a Lisbon Heritage Collection
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$209
  • Priceline
1.8 km from Solar do Castelo Inn, a Lisbon Heritage Collection
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Lisbon
Reviews (1,372)
Filter reviews
1,372 results
Traveller rating
1,111
219
35
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,111
219
35
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews castle walls honesty bar blue door narrow streets charming courtyard castle area honor bar alfama district complimentary port jorge castle steep hill boutique hotel small hotel lovely hotel tea and coffee pastries a wonderful stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,372 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2024

Our first visit to Portugal and the lovely city of Lisbon and we were so happy with our choice of hotel. It was a pleasure to return each evening and relax in the comfortable lounge and we have never felt so much "at home" in any hotel before. The staff were so friendly and helpful too and a lovely breakfast was provided each morning. We will definitely return when we next visit Lisbon.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mike25122024
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 April 2024

We loved this hotel and the charm it had to offer. A mixture of modern and historic furniture and design features. Really clean, a beautiful breakfast and very friendly staff. I would recommend this hotel to any travellers for a quiet and sophisticated stay.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jackievinten
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 April 2024

We enjoyed our stay at this quaint hotel. The courtyard was a nice place to enjoy breakfast and an aperitif. It was surprisingly peaceful and relaxing giving its central location. The staff were very nice and helpful. The peacocks were a special treat. Although they get started early and are quite vocal. The shuttle from the airport was great! Make sure to bring your walking shoes as it’s very hilly with cobblestoned streets.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 723gittes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Diogo Laranjo, General Manager at Solar do Castelo Inn, a Lisbon Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2024

Dear Gitte,
Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback.
We are very happy that you enjoyed our friendly staff and our magical location in the birthplace of Lisbon. Solar do Castelo is a 18th century little palace in the small medieval village inside the castle walls and at the top of Alfama.
As you mention Lisbon is a hilly city and the most attractive way to explore it, is to take a public transport to the top of the various hills and leisurely walking down its narrow streets, savouring the scenic vistas and the charming details of its historic neighbourhoods.
We are happy to know that you appreciated our private shuttle from the airport since traffic to our place is restricted to locals, taxis and some Ubers with a special licence.
We look forward to welcoming you again and having the opportunity to provide you with a most pleasant stay.
Kind regards,
Diogo Laranjo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2024

Beautiful building, well-appointed rooms, friendly staff, comfortable beds, perfect location next to the castle. Breakfast was good and substantial. Complimentary shuttle from the airport was most appreciated. Can't wait to return.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 March 2024

A delightful hotel next to the old Moorish castle with very charming and helpful staff and good accommodation. We particularly liked the large downstairs area - for breakfast and general relaxation - with perpetual supply of coffee, tea and the famous pastels de nata. Having peacocks as occasional residents was an added bonus.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank wattnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews