We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
mike25122024

A gem of a hotel.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Apr 2024
Our first visit to Portugal and the lovely city of Lisbon and we were so happy with our choice of hotel. It was a pleasure to return each evening and relax in the comfortable lounge and we have never felt so much "at home" in any hotel before. The staff were so friendly and helpful too and a lovely breakfast was provided each morning. We will definitely return when we next visit Lisbon.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$526
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    AU$534
  • Agoda.com
    AU$413
  • Hotels.com
    AU$458
0.7 km from Solar do Castelo Inn, a Lisbon Heritage Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$558
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$557
  • Agoda.com
    AU$473
  • Hotels.com
    AU$558
1.0 km from Solar do Castelo Inn, a Lisbon Heritage Collection
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$306
  • Expedia.com
    AU$306
  • Agoda.com
    AU$246
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Solar do Castelo Inn, a Lisbon Heritage Collection
Free Wifi
AU$319
  • Expedia.com
    AU$382
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    AU$382
1.4 km from Solar do Castelo Inn, a Lisbon Heritage Collection
Free Wifi
Room service
AU$307
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    AU$307
  • Vio.com
3.1 km from Solar do Castelo Inn, a Lisbon Heritage Collection
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$172
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$172
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$172
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Solar do Castelo Inn, a Lisbon Heritage Collection
Free Wifi
AU$325
  • Expedia.com
    AU$325
  • Algotels
    AU$288
  • Hotels.com
    AU$325
6.4 km from Solar do Castelo Inn, a Lisbon Heritage Collection
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$91
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
    AU$92
1.2 km from Solar do Castelo Inn, a Lisbon Heritage Collection
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Exterior view
AU$159
  • Booking.com
    AU$159
  • Expedia.com
    AU$158
  • Tripadvisor
    AU$158
3.7 km from Solar do Castelo Inn, a Lisbon Heritage Collection
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$210
  • Expedia.com
    AU$210
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    AU$210
1.8 km from Solar do Castelo Inn, a Lisbon Heritage Collection
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Lisbon
Reviews (1,372)
Filter reviews
1,372 results
Traveller rating
1,111
219
35
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,111
219
35
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews castle walls honesty bar blue door narrow streets charming courtyard castle area honor bar alfama district complimentary port jorge castle steep hill boutique hotel small hotel lovely hotel tea and coffee pastries a wonderful stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 1,372 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2024

We loved this hotel and the charm it had to offer. A mixture of modern and historic furniture and design features. Really clean, a beautiful breakfast and very friendly staff. I would recommend this hotel to any travellers for a quiet and sophisticated stay.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jackievinten
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 April 2024

We enjoyed our stay at this quaint hotel. The courtyard was a nice place to enjoy breakfast and an aperitif. It was surprisingly peaceful and relaxing giving its central location. The staff were very nice and helpful. The peacocks were a special treat. Although they get started early and are quite vocal. The shuttle from the airport was great! Make sure to bring your walking shoes as it’s very hilly with cobblestoned streets.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 723gittes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Diogo Laranjo, General Manager at Solar do Castelo Inn, a Lisbon Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2024

Dear Gitte,
Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback.
We are very happy that you enjoyed our friendly staff and our magical location in the birthplace of Lisbon. Solar do Castelo is a 18th century little palace in the small medieval village inside the castle walls and at the top of Alfama.
As you mention Lisbon is a hilly city and the most attractive way to explore it, is to take a public transport to the top of the various hills and leisurely walking down its narrow streets, savouring the scenic vistas and the charming details of its historic neighbourhoods.
We are happy to know that you appreciated our private shuttle from the airport since traffic to our place is restricted to locals, taxis and some Ubers with a special licence.
We look forward to welcoming you again and having the opportunity to provide you with a most pleasant stay.
Kind regards,
Diogo Laranjo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2024

Beautiful building, well-appointed rooms, friendly staff, comfortable beds, perfect location next to the castle. Breakfast was good and substantial. Complimentary shuttle from the airport was most appreciated. Can't wait to return.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Terry R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 March 2024

A delightful hotel next to the old Moorish castle with very charming and helpful staff and good accommodation. We particularly liked the large downstairs area - for breakfast and general relaxation - with perpetual supply of coffee, tea and the famous pastels de nata. Having peacocks as occasional residents was an added bonus.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank wattnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 March 2024 via mobile

We stayed at the Solar as part of a last-minute flight+hotel package without really checking it out beforehand. However we could not have hoped for a nicer hotel…

Situated right by the Castel Sao Jorge at the end of a narrow alleyway, the Solar offers lovely rooms wrapped around an inner courtyard. It has a very generous breakfast buffet (until midday!) and a lovely staff who make a real effort to speak many languages.

The courtyard is a real sun trap, but is also frequently visited by the peacocks who live in the castel grounds. They are not at all bothered by humans and it is rather unique n experience to open the hotel entrance and be welcomed by one of these birds!

If there is a downside to staying here (for some, not for us), it is that you must climb to the top of the hill every day to get there after sightseeing. However you can reduce the effort a little by taking the Elevador, or hiring a tuktuk, taxi or TVDE (local Uber). This being said, the castel neighborhood is very peaceful by around 9pm and way nicer a place to stay than, say, the Baixa or Chiado quarters (unless noise doesn’t bother you).

Lastly, if you book direct with the hotel they have room rates which included private airport transfers - something to consider if you don’t want to use taxis or the metro system. We Definitely recommend this place if your budget can cover it. Thank you all for a lovely stay.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank smillngtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Diogo Laranjo, General Manager at Solar do Castelo Inn, a Lisbon Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2024

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Solar do Castelo. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our hidden retreat above Lisbon exceeded your expectations.
It's wonderful to know that you appreciated our picturesque location inside the walls of São Jorge Castel and the unique charm of our Nobel inner courtyard, our breakfast buffet till 12h noon and most importantly our attentive staff. Providing excellent service and creating memorable experiences for our guests is always our top priority.
As you say Lisbon is a hilly city and the most attractive way to explore it, is to take a public transport to the top of the various hills and leisurely walking down its narrow streets, savouring the scenic vistas and the charming details of its historic neighbourhoods.
Thank you for mentioning our direct booking benefits, including private airport transfers. We strive to offer added value to our guests and make their stay as convenient and enjoyable as possible.
Once again, thank you for recommending Solar do Castelo hotel. It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we hope to welcome you back in the future for another memorable stay.
Warm regards,
Diogo Laranjo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews