We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Terry R
Alexandria, Virginia

Perfect Place for a Lisboa Visit

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 Apr 2024
Beautiful building, well-appointed rooms, friendly staff, comfortable beds, perfect location next to the castle. Breakfast was good and substantial. Complimentary shuttle from the airport was most appreciated. Can't wait to return.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$312
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Solar do Castelo Inn, a Lisbon Heritage Collection
Free Wifi
AU$211
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.7 km from Solar do Castelo Inn, a Lisbon Heritage Collection
Free Wifi
AU$352
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$352
3.1 km from Solar do Castelo Inn, a Lisbon Heritage Collection
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior view
AU$158
  • Booking.com
  • ibis
    AU$157
  • Hotels.com
3.7 km from Solar do Castelo Inn, a Lisbon Heritage Collection
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$668
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$668
1.0 km from Solar do Castelo Inn, a Lisbon Heritage Collection
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$492
  • Expedia.com
    AU$534
0.7 km from Solar do Castelo Inn, a Lisbon Heritage Collection
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotel Website
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$199
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Solar do Castelo Inn, a Lisbon Heritage Collection
Free Wifi
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    AU$395
  • Expedia.com
    AU$417
1.4 km from Solar do Castelo Inn, a Lisbon Heritage Collection
Free Wifi
Room service
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$319
  • Hotels.com
6.4 km from Solar do Castelo Inn, a Lisbon Heritage Collection
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$209
  • Priceline
1.8 km from Solar do Castelo Inn, a Lisbon Heritage Collection
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Lisbon
Reviews (1,372)
Filter reviews
1,372 results
Traveller rating
1,111
219
35
6
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,111
219
35
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews castle walls honesty bar blue door narrow streets charming courtyard castle area honor bar alfama district complimentary port jorge castle steep hill boutique hotel small hotel lovely hotel tea and coffee pastries a wonderful stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,372 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2024

A delightful hotel next to the old Moorish castle with very charming and helpful staff and good accommodation. We particularly liked the large downstairs area - for breakfast and general relaxation - with perpetual supply of coffee, tea and the famous pastels de nata. Having peacocks as occasional residents was an added bonus.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank wattnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 March 2024 via mobile

We stayed at the Solar as part of a last-minute flight+hotel package without really checking it out beforehand. However we could not have hoped for a nicer hotel…

Situated right by the Castel Sao Jorge at the end of a narrow alleyway, the Solar offers lovely rooms wrapped around an inner courtyard. It has a very generous breakfast buffet (until midday!) and a lovely staff who make a real effort to speak many languages.

The courtyard is a real sun trap, but is also frequently visited by the peacocks who live in the castel grounds. They are not at all bothered by humans and it is rather unique n experience to open the hotel entrance and be welcomed by one of these birds!

If there is a downside to staying here (for some, not for us), it is that you must climb to the top of the hill every day to get there after sightseeing. However you can reduce the effort a little by taking the Elevador, or hiring a tuktuk, taxi or TVDE (local Uber). This being said, the castel neighborhood is very peaceful by around 9pm and way nicer a place to stay than, say, the Baixa or Chiado quarters (unless noise doesn’t bother you).

Lastly, if you book direct with the hotel they have room rates which included private airport transfers - something to consider if you don’t want to use taxis or the metro system. We Definitely recommend this place if your budget can cover it. Thank you all for a lovely stay.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank smillngtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Diogo Laranjo, General Manager at Solar do Castelo Inn, a Lisbon Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2024

Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience at Solar do Castelo. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our hidden retreat above Lisbon exceeded your expectations.
It's wonderful to know that you appreciated our picturesque location inside the walls of São Jorge Castel and the unique charm of our Nobel inner courtyard, our breakfast buffet till 12h noon and most importantly our attentive staff. Providing excellent service and creating memorable experiences for our guests is always our top priority.
As you say Lisbon is a hilly city and the most attractive way to explore it, is to take a public transport to the top of the various hills and leisurely walking down its narrow streets, savouring the scenic vistas and the charming details of its historic neighbourhoods.
Thank you for mentioning our direct booking benefits, including private airport transfers. We strive to offer added value to our guests and make their stay as convenient and enjoyable as possible.
Once again, thank you for recommending Solar do Castelo hotel. It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we hope to welcome you back in the future for another memorable stay.
Warm regards,
Diogo Laranjo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2024 via mobile

Superb stay at a lovely traditional hotel. This property is situated right by Castle in the Alfama district. The accommodation, we had room 10 was very comfortable, clean, with bathrobe, slippers, hairdryer and Molton Brown toiletries. Safe key and tea/ coffee on request. There is a lovely lounge area where you can relax and enjoy tea/coffee and pastries, with the local Green Wine available later in the day. Breakfast is probably one of the best I have had from a hotel, a lot of choice and they will cook eggs on request. The courtyard is adequate for evening drinks.
The staff are so friendly and helpful and can't do enough for you.
Tip for Lisbon, it is hilly, with cobbled streets and lots of steps so great walking footwear and stamina needed. In my opinion it is not a city for anyone who has mobility issues or is in a wheelchair.
Trams and bus network seems adequate and you can easily get to Sintra for the day. From Rossio, 40 mins just over Five euros.

Room tip: Good comfortable walking footwear
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank jbearKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 February 2024 via mobile

Lovely boutique hotel, vibrant area by day, peaceful by night. Lovely to come back to after a busy day. Overlooking the castle. Staff great, breakfast has plenty of choice from 7.30 til noon. Complementary tea, coffee, snacks all day, fizz after 5. Amazing honesty bar. And complementary decanter of port in the room. Nice courtyard, with the added benefit of the beautiful peacocks. Definitely recommend.

Room tip: It’s at the top of a hill so take flat shoes for walking. There’s a lift not far by the viewpoint that takes you halfway down the hill
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Diogo Laranjo, General Manager at Solar do Castelo Inn, a Lisbon Heritage Collection, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2024

Dear Lynn,
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your thoughts.
We're delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay and particularly appreciated our friendly staff and the magical location of our historic property within the castle walls.
As you noticed, our buffet breakfast is served till noon and, weather permitting, it is also served on our patio.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to our beautiful city and provide you with another delightful experience.
Warmest regards,
Diogo Laranjo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2024 via mobile

We loved this boutique hotel! Great location next to the castle and plenty of excellent restaurants. Staff were very friendly and accomodating. I will say that the hotel is perched at the top of a steep hill with cobblestones so anyone with physical limitations will find it challenging to access. Additionally, Uber cannot access the hotel directly, roads are restricted up the hill, only taxi is authorized. We learned that at 6am after our international flight. We felt this added to the magic of the place.. beautiful cobblestone streets, peacocks in the garden, just a really lovely place. Bed was comfy and room was exactly what we needed for a good rest at the end of each day. Would 100% recommend for couples .

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank BNax613
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews