We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,050)
Filter reviews
1,050 results
Traveller rating
838
174
34
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
838
174
34
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews castle walls honesty bar blue door narrow streets castle area honor bar alfama district steep climb complimentary port jorge castle sao jorge molton brown toiletries beautiful hotel boutique hotel until noon small hotel we loved our stay
Filter
Updating list...
101 - 106 of 1,050 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2018

This hotel is wonderfully positioned near the castle. The breakfast is absolutely superb. Coffee, tea and cakes always available and the lounge is extremely relaxing. There is a very pretty courtyard. Staff couldn’t be more helpful. We felt totally relaxed and rejuvenated after four days in the hotel. Only note of caution would be it is located at the top of the hill – tiring to walk to but there are alternative methods of transport. Advantage is the wonderful views and closeness to the castle and good restaurants.

Room Tip: Room 20 has brilliant views of the castle
Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Tengill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018

We had an excellent experience at Solar do Castelo. The hotel is beautiful. The staff is very welcoming and helpful. We unexpectedly received an upgraded room with a lovely view of the water and courtyard. We really enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Klouka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018

Solar Do Castelo is a very pretty, quiet and comfortable hotel atop a relatively steep hillside, abutting an historic castle, in the Alfama district of Lisbon. It is accessible mostly by foot, although some vehicles have access to it. The staff is friendly and helpful, and the hotel has a quiet courtyard and large sitting area where a diverse and enjoyable breakfast buffet is set up each morning. We liked everything about this hotel, and very much enjoyed returning to it after each day of busy walking and sightseeing in Lisbon and nearly cities.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here. Friendly staff, pretty hotel, great breakfasts included in price. It’s at the top of a fairly steep hill so pack walking shoes. Peacocks on site perched on walls of interior courtyard. A schlep to some of the more famous Lisbon sights — but there are buses and trams.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018

This hotel is tucked away within the castle walls of St George and is reached by bus or cab so far and then by golf cart as the streets become increasingly narrow, steep and cobbled. A certain degree of fitness is required for the location of this hotel! Small, just 20 rooms, with no room for a restaurant although there are some wonderful restaurants only minutes away. Large selection of foods for breakfast, including the lovely Portuguese custard tarts, which is taken overlooking the small, elegant, courtyard complete with several preening peacocks and peahens!
Extremely helpful staff who are happy to assist with any questions asked of them. A thoroughly delightful experience from beginning to end!

Stayed: April 2018
Thank ChrinaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews