We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best quality at fair rate”
Review of Solar Do Castelo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Solar Do Castelo
Ranked #3 of 251 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Nürnberg
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best quality at fair rate”
Reviewed 28 August 2011

It is lovely location and atmosphere,good for couples and everybody who wants to enjoy life and Lisbon.
Perfect service, peaceful in all respects.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HansPeterBoehm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

833 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    651
    151
    27
    4
    0
See reviews for
74
604
24
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We stayed for five days in this very nicely located hotel and were surprised by the kindness of the people in the hotel and their kind information on interesting topices to visit nearby, restaurants, attractions. The rooms are very large and clean and the hotel is splendid and calm in this part of the city within the walls of the Castelo where no cars have access, taxis excepted.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

What a lovely place to stay! Right by the castle in the oldest part of Lisbon. We spent 3 lovely nights here. You need good strong legs though as it's at the very top of a hill.
A great place to mooch about Lisbon from.
Staff very friendly. Very low key involvement by staff so it felt very private. they only do breakfast so there isnt the noise and hussle of a full restaurant.

Room Tip: Not sure - just ask, I imagine the staff will be accommodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnjumSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gig Harbor, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2011

We stayed for two nights at the end of our vacation, and it was a great place to re-group. The hotel is very clean, but most importantly, the staff were all very nice and helpful. We enjoyed sitting out on the patio reading and having snacks and drinks in the afternoon. The location is a bit out of the way, but they have an electric car that will come pick you up with your luggage, and a taxi can come pick you up right at the front door (very cheap taxi rides here...if you are traveling with 2 or more people it is worth it to take a cab everywhere instead of using public transporation). The only downfall of this hotel during our stay was that they were doing construction and there was a lot of loud hammering and construction workers walking through the patio area. You have to pay extra for breakfast, but there is a very good buffet of things to choose from (cereal, fruits, pastries, bread, eggs, meat, cheeses, yogurts, etc). We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it.

Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ALaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

The arriving at this hotel can be bit complicating since he were told by the taxi driver that he could not drop us in front of the hotel because of the narrow streets. We felt really worried about that because we had two heavy suitcases with us. We called the hotel and we were told that they could manage to pick us with a eletric car. So, the driver dropped us at a near by square and some minutes later we were picked up. The hotel is next to the wall of Saint Jorge Castle, and is very well decorated and quiet. There are only few rooms and you feel yourself at home, with personnal care. Our room had a splendid view of the city and the river and it was very confortable. The only thing I missed was a frigor bar in our room in order that you could have some fresh water during the night. Even if you have a full bar at the reception, sometimes you can forget to bring water to your room. It would be nice, if the hotel could always provide a bottle of water in the room. The hotel is very cosy and the decoration was made with care. It is located in the Alfama wich is nice but is a bit far from the main centre and best restaurants. You are supposed to get a bus or the tram to get to the main squares and streets. It is not a big deal, because it will only take you a couple of minutes. You can also take a taxi, which is very easy, and will only cost you around 4 euros to get you whenever you want. One has to balance the best choice: staying at a charming, quiet, historical place, a little bit far from the crowded centre or staying near the main streets and squares. My overall recomendation is that is worth staying at the Solar do Castelo.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeloisaRiodeJaneiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Britania Hotel
#4 of 251 in Lisbon
2,325 reviews
Valverde Hotel
#1 of 251 in Lisbon
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#19 of 251 in Lisbon
1,528 reviews
As Janelas Verdes
#6 of 251 in Lisbon
915 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Avenida Palace
Hotel Avenida Palace
#5 of 251 in Lisbon
2,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Solar Do Castelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Solar Do Castelo

Property: Solar Do Castelo
Address: Rua das Cozinhas 2 | (ao Castelo), Lisbon 1100-181, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
#4 Green Hotel in Lisbon
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#31 Family Hotel in Lisbon
Price range (per night): $219 - $1,772
Hotel Class:4 star — Solar Do Castelo 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Solar Do Castelo is truly a romantic shelter in the birthplace of Lisbon - within the walls of São Jorge Castle at the top of Alfama. It is a small 18-century mansion surrounding a noble patio, built on the site of the former kitchens of the Royal Palace. Apart from the genuine antiques, most part of the furniture was specially designed for the hotel in a medieval contemporary style. In this magical place you will find welcoming rooms offering complete modern day comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Solar Do Castelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Solar Do Castelo Lisbon
Solar Do Castelo Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing