We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
kapmap
atlanta

Make sure they release your credit card when they charge you

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 May 2024
We loved this hotel
However beware of your credit card. When we checked in on April 25 a hold was put on our card which was fine. When we checked out on April 30 a charge was put through for our stay which was also fine. However today May 30 -- 15 days from the first hold it has not been removed and impacts my ability to have credit on that card. Furthermore the cc company told me they will leave it there for 30 days unless Pestana removes it. I sent an email to Pestana but have not had any response. I have never had this issue with any other hotel -- usually pending charges drop off in a week. The cc company says it is the hotel's responsibility to remove pending charges. Pending charges affect your available balance. I am stuck and not happy.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Duarte Assis Teixeira, Proprietário at Pestana Rua Augusta Lisboa, responded to this review
Responded 5 weeks ago
Dear kapmap,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback about your recent stay in Pestana Rua Augusta Lisboa!

We are very happy to know you enjoyed your time in our hotel!

We would like to apologize for the inconvenience in regards to the pre-authorization. Allow me to explain: upon check-in we always make a pre-authorization on the credit card only as a guarantee and, at check-out, that authorization is automatically converted into a payment, it shouldn't result in any extra charge. I don't know exactly how the process went in your specific case, but as soon as we check-out the guests the system should automatically release the pending amounts (I will personally speak with the CC Company that takes care of the financial transactions to see what is going on, because from our side everything was properly done).

We are at your entire disposal through our direct contacts: fo.augusta@pestana.com and feel free to reach out directly to me: duarte.teixeira@pestana.com, I will be happy to support you.

Once again, please accept our apologies for the situation and rest assured that we will do everything we can to help you solving this issue as soon as possible.

Best regards,
Duarte Assis Teixeira | Assistant Unit Manager

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$463
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$463
0.8 km from Pestana Rua Augusta Lisboa
Free Wifi
AU$277
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
0.8 km from Pestana Rua Augusta Lisboa
Free Wifi
Exterior view
AU$200
  • Booking.com
  • ibis
    AU$200
  • Hotels.com
3.9 km from Pestana Rua Augusta Lisboa
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$140
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
14.1 km from Pestana Rua Augusta Lisboa
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$876
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$876
0.5 km from Pestana Rua Augusta Lisboa
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$443
  • Expedia.com
    AU$537
0.8 km from Pestana Rua Augusta Lisboa
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$328
  • Expedia.com
    AU$370
0.2 km from Pestana Rua Augusta Lisboa
Free Wifi
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$245
  • Priceline
3.5 km from Pestana Rua Augusta Lisboa
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$452
  • Expedia.com
    AU$523
1.6 km from Pestana Rua Augusta Lisboa
Free Wifi
Room service
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$223
  • Expedia.com
    AU$242
2.2 km from Pestana Rua Augusta Lisboa
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Lisbon
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveller rating
54
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
54
0
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2024 via mobile

Absolutely beautiful hotel. Recently renovated with amazing finishes. Our room and bathroom were very spacious and had everything we needed. The am coffee in the lobby/bar area was perfect and the restaurant was quaint and good quality with outstanding service. We were literally steps from the arch and walking distance to everything we wanted to do in Lisbon!

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Tamara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Duarte Assis Teixeira, Proprietário at Pestana Rua Augusta Lisboa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Tamara W,

Thank you for your positive review about Pestana Rua Augusta Lisboa!

It is really important for us to know you enjoyed your stay, our facilities, location and Olive restaurant.

We take great pride in offering memorable moments to our guests and we couldn't be happier to know we succeeded in that.

We hope to welcome you back in a near future!

Kind regards,

Duarte Assis Teixeira | Assistant Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2024

We booked early and did book the junior suite with breakfast for a good price.
that said everything about the hotel was great. Lots of room, good shower, good service, good be great location. I would return here again.
But one caveat -- we did book breakfast and this hotel is no longer serving breakfast. There is a sister hotel less than a 5 minute walk away that is serving breakfast for both hotels. The breakfast is a good buffet with additional hot items made to order.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank I6236
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Duarte Assis Teixeira, Proprietário at Pestana Rua Augusta Lisboa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear l6236,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing Pestana Rua Augusta for your stay in Lisbon and for sharing your positive feedback with us!

We are very happy to know you had a nice time in our hotel and that you enjoyed our privileged location, facilities and our team's service.

We are looking forward for your next visit!

Kind regards,

Duarte Assis Teixeira | Assistant Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2024 via mobile

Cannot say enough good things about this hotel. The service was spectacular. The staff were super friendly, helpful and accommodating. The rooms were exceptionally clean and modern, the beds were comfortable. overall we felt the entire experience was above and beyond our expectations. would definitely recommend this establishment.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank robertj627
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Duarte Assis Teixeira, Proprietário at Pestana Rua Augusta Lisboa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear robertj627,

We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us!

It is with great pride that we read that you had a nice experience in Pestana Rua Augusta Lisboa and that we could help you create beautiful memories.

Our doors will always be open to welcome you back in Lisbon!

Warm regards,

Duarte Assis Teixeira | Assistant Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2024

Just back from an excellent long weekend spent in Lisbon.

The Pestana Rua Augusta hotel was everything we hoped for. Very modern and right at the heart of city. The room was well equipped with a king-sized bed, balcony overlooking Rua do Comerico, a great bathroom and a very warm, strong shower.

The double-glazing meant that we could have the window open, and share the hubbub from the streets below, or close the window and have our own quiet space.

The staff at the hotel were very professional and helpful with advice and guidance on what do and how to get around. When we arrived we were able to leave our bags at the hotel and we received a phone call when the room was ready for us. If you can do it, for arrival we definitely recommend arranging the airport transfer with the hotel.

Our only problem with the weekend was that the bed was so comfortable it made it difficult to get up in the morning. A nice problem to have.

3 nights in Lisbon was not long enough to see everything we wanted to see and we will definitely be going back for more.

And we would definitely want to stay again in the Pestana Rua Augusta hotel.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Duarte Assis Teixeira, Proprietário at Pestana Rua Augusta Lisboa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2024

Dear andrewpL2577RI,

We would like to thank you for such a nice review and for taking the time to share your opinion with us!

We are very happy to know you enjoyed our vibrant location, facilities and the comfort of our rooms. Our guest's quality of sleep is very important for us and even though Lisbon has much to offer, slow mornings are also appealing :)

Thank you for mentioning our team's attentive service, we are proud to provide our guests with memorable experiences with us.

Looking forward to welcome you again in Pestana Rua Augusta Lisboa!

Best regards,

Duarte Assis Teixeira | Assistant Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2024

Perfect location, beautiful surroundings, helpful staff. Not cheap but definitely worth it. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel as there were many local cafes, but the small restaurant looked pleasant. Some activity outside at night so be sure to request a quiet room.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F4969MCcarolb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Duarte Assis Teixeira, Proprietário at Pestana Rua Augusta Lisboa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2024

Dear F4969MCcarolb,

Thank you for taking the time to share a review about your stay with us!

It is delightful for us to know you had a good time in our hotel and we hope to receive you again in Pestana Rua Augusta Lisboa in a near future.

Warm regards,

Duarte Assis Teixeira | Assistant Unit Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews