We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pensao Globo
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Santa Justa(Lisbon)
USD 383
USD 362
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Britania Hotel(Lisbon)
USD 497
USD 413
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 245
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
USD 347
USD 294
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
USD 378
USD 314
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Corinthia Hotel Lisbon(Lisbon)
USD 1,400
USD 561
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
USD 350
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Holiday Inn Express Lisbon Oeiras(Lisbon)(Great Value!)
USD 128
USD 103
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
USD 254
USD 226
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 281/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
7
32
7
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
32
7
2
3
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2010

This little guesthouse was a real gem. I travelled with a group of friends and we all liked it. The location is fantastic and there are plenty of options for shopping and eating nearby.
The rooms are all individually decorated, modern and stylish.
The staff of the guesthouse (especially Elena and Gisela) went over and beyond of what was expected of them and made our stay that extra special.

The thing that wasn't so good was that the double beds in some of the rooms are a bit on the small size...
Also, if noise bothers you, you might want to bring some earplugs with you. While the guesthouse is located in a quiet street, it is still in Bairro Alto which is the nightlife area of Lisboa and some noise is inevitable.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiki1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2010

We stayed for two nights at Pensao Globo hotel at the end of September with a big group of friends and whilst the staff was friendly and Virginie at Saga Travel (the booking agency we booked through) was really, really helpful, this hotel was a real let down with few positives and loads of negatives.

Pensao Globo Hotel is a small hotel with a range of different room sizes. We had a small double room, and it was indeed small. And it looked nothing like the website gallery unfortunately.

Good points
* Location – the hostel is located in the Barrio Alto so is perfectly situated for nightlife and restaurants – a night out in the Barrio Alto is not to be missed
* Staff – friendly, accommodating and fluent in English
* Cleanliness – the rooms are very clean
* Hairdryer available on request – and it was a good one

Not so good points
* Paper thin walls -we could hear our neighbours using the shower, toilet and talking
* Noisy pipes - which made a really loud noise starting as soon as the first guest was up in the morning
* Uncomfortable & noisy beds - each time my boyfriend moved in the bed I was woken up
* Useless, dusty pillows
* Tiny rooms – hardly enough room to swing a cat.
* Awful bathroom – some rooms have separate bathrooms but not all. We had one with
a sliding frosted door which didn’t close properly. OK if with your partner, but not ideal if sharing with friends like some of our group.
* Towels like sandpaper
* Our toothbrushes left on top of the toilet by cleaners – what more can I say other than
disgusting and so unhygienic! Totally inappropriate!
* Terribly designed shower – the shower head hangs from the ceiling and there is nowhere to fix it on the wall. So if you want to wash your hair or use shower gel you have to switch the shower off to do so unless you want to soak the room. Then when you switch on again you either freeze or get scalded.
* Doorbell to let you in and out – not good when people come in at 4am and then others leave at 6am as you can hear it throughout the hotel

Overall I din't feel this place was good value for money. We would rather have spent €10 or €20 more for a night in somewhere like the Ibis or another hotel as this was the worst night sleep in a long time!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hannah75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

Our experience with Pensao Globo has been really positive. Despite its location (in the centre of Barrio Alto - the nightlife area in Lisbon) is a quite peaceful place to stay. Our room at first floor (n. 202) is really big and comfortable. Its location is really good to visit Lisbon because it's really near (5 minutes by foot) to the metro station of Baixa-Chiado and there are also many bus that have stops close to the Pensao.
The best thing hasn't been any of these but the warm hospitality from one of the best host we have ever met: Gisela! She has been very helpful giving always the best suggestions and lessons about portuguese life.
Our stay in Lisbon wouldn't have been the same without her!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 2046postcards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2010

small rooms but very clean and recently renovated.
as far as budget hotels go, you won't find much better.
the hotel is in a great position. easilly accessable with public transportation.
there is lots of night-life in the area, (restaurants and bars, some with live music) but the hotel is located on a quiet street so you shouldn't be bothered both if you decide to go to bed early or sleep-in in the morning.
i stayed for 5 nights. the room was cleaned and towels changed every day.
personally i'm happier with a small but clean room, than with a spacious but old and dirty one.
all rooms have photos on the web site so you shouldn't have any suprizes.
great value for the price.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank polmaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2009

One of the cheapest places we could find in this category and it serves perfect value for money. The place is situated in the city center and everything is on walking distance. The rooms are small and cleaned everyday, which we considered as a large plus. One disadvantage is that the bed wasn't very big but considering the price of 40 euros a night it is barely worth mentioning.
Despite the room was very small, everything was in it. A small wardrobe, a television, nighttables, a window (not unimportant to mention) bathroom with shower/toilet and ventilator! and even a telephone. The room is decorated with light colours, so no old and ugly brown hotelcarpet.
Also, we enjoyed the really friendly staff.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheNetherlandsBeJe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews