We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location, interesting decor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Internacional Design Hotel
Ranked #49 of 253 Hotels in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2012

My experience with this hotel was an overall positive one. The staff was very friendly as soon as I entered and the front desk was extremely accommodating; I had arrived early and they were gracious enough to find a room that was ready. The one that was ready right away was on the "pop" themed floor. As I had just traveled 16 hours I was so exhausted I took it instead of taking the recommendation of reception and waiting for a room on another floor to be ready.

I read other reviews that said to avoid the "pop" themed floor and I couldn't agree more. The room had bright yellow walls, a bright pink linoleum floor with lighter colored pink polka dots and plastic furniture. The bathroom had a bright green wall with an Andy Warhol quote on the wall. The other thing I need to note is that the ceilings towards the outside wall were slanted and unavoidable in the bathroom due to the room being on the top floor. I'm 5'8" and had to either walk near the sink to get to the shower or else duck.

I had a couple minor issues with my room so the following day I went to the front desk and explained what was going on (shower not draining as quickly as it should and an espresso machine that leaked a full tank of water all over). The same woman who had checked me in the day before immediately moved me to another room on the "tribal" floor. What a difference! The decor was warm and the overall quality felt much higher; even the towels were larger and thicker.

Pros:
- Amazing location (close to metro, shops, restaurants)
- English speaking staff (front desk, bellmen, bartender)
- Sound proofed extremely well (couldn't hear neighbors and it was quiet when there was construction directly outside my window)
- Free WiFi
- Transportation to the airport for 10 euro (less expensive than a taxi)
- Many English speaking TV channels
- High quality bathroom amenities (soap, body wash, shampoo, lotion)
- Relatively large rooms for Europe
- Climate control
- Robes

Cons:
- Poor lighting in both room and bathroom
- No clock (they do offer wake up calls though)
- Bathroom door is frosted glass and wouldn't provide total privacy if traveling with another

Overall this is a great hotel and definitely the place I'll stay if I return to Lisbon (as long as it's not on the "pop" floor").

Room Tip: Do NOT stay on the "pop" themed floor. "Tribal" was great and the "Zen&quo...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Eternal_Wanderluster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,553)
There are newer reviews for Internacional Design Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

765 - 769 of 1,554 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2012

Pros
- free wifi ( worked perfectly in our room 3rd floor)
- Awesome breakfast ( included in my rate) had hot food, multiple pastries and cheeses to choose from.
- very clean hotel, looks new on the inside
- located in plaza Rossio which is the city center. Very close to all the major meeting points for tours, places to eat just steps away, etc..
- Free Nescafé (coffee pods) in room.
- AC in room, works great!

Cons
- Our bed was a "double bed" that really was two single beds put together, not he most comfortable bed in the world, but slept well.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pepito506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2012

There are so many good things to say about this hotel. It is close to many sites, Havent wrote a review on trip adviosr before but this hotel made our stay really comfortable that i have to do this. But all this would be meaningless if it was not for the great staff . They were always helpful, offered great advice and really did make the difference.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Stayed here for a long weekend, location is fantastic, close-by everything - the sea, the squares, the castle, Barrio-Alto, the metro, the bus. The room we had was on first floor and quite small and dark, but it was fine for the three nights and was quiet so could sleep fine. The fixtures and fittings are well done and a lot of thought has been put into everything. The breakfast was nice and the room was fantastic. No hassle in leaving our bags there for the few hours we had on the Sunday.. I'd recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roopee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

pros: interesting design, big tv, clean, reasonable speed FREE wifi, free drink at the bar on the first day, GREAT location - most tourists sites pretty close or easy to get to. the metro and aerobus stop is literally one minute away, not too noisy.

cons: i had s room, which some might have thought a bit small, but was acceptable for one person. shower was not hot enough, not enough counter space in the bathroom, wish they offered a kettle for hot water (only had a nespresso machine and bottle of cold water available free). my double bed was 2 singles pushed together. no swimming pool. i stayed at the hotel britania during my trip to lisbon too, and i thought they were more friendly and treated me more as a person than just another customer.

As a solo female traveller, i was a bit worried about the reports on trip advisor about being offered drugs and prostitutes hanging around this area and was extra vigilant, but actually i never saw any that dodgy and was definitely never offered anything.

all in all was a pretty good hotel and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank connieblue16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Santa Justa
Hotel Santa Justa
#19 of 253 in Lisbon
1,557 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Brown's Central Hotel
Brown's Central Hotel
#31 of 253 in Lisbon
818 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
The Beautique Hotels Figueira
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chiado & Carmo
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
Lisboa Carmo Hotel
#24 of 253 in Lisbon
992 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Vincci Baixa
Vincci Baixa
#55 of 253 in Lisbon
1,579 reviews
Bairro Alto, Bica & Cais do Sodre
LX Boutique Hotel
LX Boutique Hotel
#43 of 253 in Lisbon
1,506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Internacional Design Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Internacional Design Hotel

Address: Rua da Betesga 3 | Rossio, Lisbon 1100-090, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Lisbon
#13 Romantic Hotel in Lisbon
#21 Business Hotel in Lisbon
#44 Luxury Hotel in Lisbon
Price Range: $171 - $627 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Internacional Design Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoying the best possible location in Lisbon, this modern boutique design hotel is born, like a phoenix, from the ancient structures of one of the first luxury hotels in Portugal. The daring use of the colour Lilac in its façade, right on the traditional Rossio Square, denounce to the world the purposes of reinvention and exclusivity offered to a happy few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Agoda, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Internacional Design Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Internacional Design Lisbon
Hotel Internacional Design

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing