We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located... it worths for the price”
Review of Hotel Nacional

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Nacional
Ranked #175 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Reviewed 2 November 2010

The hotel is very well located. Near Marques de Pombal and Av. Liberdade.
It is possible to reach Rossio, Baixa and Chiado in 15/20 minutes walking through the streets...
And besides this, it is silent and calm at night...
The hotel has to change the furniture. It is old fashioned and the carpet is worn and old.
The front desk is nice and helpfull.
The breakfast is good.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Umnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 61 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2010

The hotel is in an excellent location with easy access to public transport. The hotel was clean, rooms spacious (by European standards), and the staff friendly and helpful. There is some traffic noise at night but it was not too disturbing. I was able to sleep without a problem.
Breakfast consisted of cold cereals, yogurt, cakes, bread, cheese, cold cuts, orange juice (I think this was fresh), and coffee, tea, and hot chocolate.
When I travel I use the hotel for sleeping only and this hotel was great for my purposes (i.e. I do not need gyms, bars etc, I get my exercise and entertainment elsewhere). I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MHM88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2009

The good: This is a no-nonsense, relatively cheap hotel in a business district. Close enough to the centre (3 mins from the Marquês de Pombal metro station, also convenient for the airport -- 9 EUR by taxi, convenient for Avenida da Liberdade). Some (but not so many) restaurants and cafes in the vicinity. Everything worked as advertised. The room was spacious, the bed comfortable (but on the hardish side). High speed wired Internet access in the room -- don't forget your Ethernet cable. Decent continental breakfast (maybe the coffee could have been better). Overall, for the price I got, I was completely satisfied.

The not-so-good: The decor is definietely early 1990s, and it hasn't aged too well. While everything worked fine and was clean, an update would be welcome. Even though the room was on the 9th floor, with an open window, there was some noise from an aircon system (?) below. As the aircon in the room itself was a bit noisy, too, sleeping could be difficult if you needed it on (I didn't, so no problem for me). The only real annoyance was the fixed shower head in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wjarek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

Stayed here overnight while en route by train from Engand to the Algarve. I was surprised by all the comments on the decor - who cares when you have a convenient safe location, comfortable rooms with efficient air-con and excellent showers, pleasant staff very happy to carry suitcases up to the rooms, and a comfortable lounge bar for a nightcap. The breakfast wasn't the best I'd every had but paying 75 euros for three people in one room I certainly wasn't complaining and would stay here again. Best of all was that we were able to check in and shower at 1130 am after a night on the sleeper train.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RossLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2009

had read the mixed reviews for this hotel and didnt quite know what to expect but as we were only staying 2 nights decided to take a chance. We were very pleasantly surprised by the whole experience. On arrival someone came straight out to the taxi to take our bags. Lobby is small but very clean not a bad first impression. The room was basic and pretty standard in size but had television, air conditioning, safe which did not cost extra. The bathroom had all the complimentary toiletries and everything was spotlessly clean. When we requested another pillow it was delivered within 5 minutes. Breakfast was continental but with plenty choice. The room was cleaned again the second day and clean bed spreads as well as sheets were supplied. The staff were terrific they couldnt be more pleasant or helpful. The hotel is very central and very little noise. Certainly would stay again

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ormac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Residencial Horizonte
#198 of 255 in Lisbon
312 reviews
Avenida Park Hotel
#189 of 255 in Lisbon
378 reviews
Hotel A. S. Lisboa
#149 of 255 in Lisbon
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Hotel Duas Nacoes
Hotel Duas Nacoes
#235 of 255 in Lisbon
533 reviews
Hotel Roma
#113 of 255 in Lisbon
1,549 reviews
Amazonia Lisboa Hotel
#243 of 255 in Lisbon
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nacional? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nacional

Address: Rua Castilho 34, Lisbon 1250-070, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #175 of 255 Hotels in Lisbon
Price Range: $86 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nacional 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Nacional reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nacional Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing