We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Perfect hotel at walking distance from heart of city centre” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Nacional

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Nacional
Ranked #166 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Netherlands
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect hotel at walking distance from heart of city centre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Hotel Nacional is a fine hotel and worth all its three stars. I stayed here for 4 nights and enjoyed it. Good service and a decent breakfast available in the morning. Bathroom has all the required facilities and the tv set is fine as well.
At first I was quite happy to find that I was booked in a room situated the frontside of the hotel. Only to find out that the street in front of the hotel is frequented all day (and night) by traffic. As I don't like the airco switched on at night I opened up the window for some fresh air. The second night I put in some ear plugs to keep away some noise.
The hotel itself is situated behind the main avenue, Avenida de Liberdade and some 10 minutes walk from one of the main squares, Praca dos Restauradores.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutch_Travllr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    165
    108
    23
    5
See reviews for
78
129
23
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2011

We drove into Lisbon late at night and couldn't find a hotel with rooms available within our budget. We stumbled onto this hotel in the business district that was very close to the center. There was one last room left which was a top floor suite but it was given to us for the standard room rate of about 75 euro per night. In addition they offered us free parking which saved us even more money. The garage was very narrow but the hotel employee carefully guided us down helping negotiate the turns.

Room decor was a little strange, and I would say dated, but our suite was clean, had a fridge and the internet connection was working. Breakfast was included and was pretty standard with meats cheeses and eggs.

The hotel was a couple minutes walk from a subway station Marquês de Pombal which is a couple of stops away from the center unless you want to walk. There are a couple of restaurants around but we didn't find anything great. The first night we arrived pretty late and it was a challenge to find a place to eat that was open past midnight. We were directed to a McDonalds that was a few kilometers a way so we started walking in that direction. Lucky for us, right next to it we found a neat late night restaurant called "Galeto" . It looked like a bar or saloon but was very fun and the food was amazing.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlikK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
São Paulo
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2010

The hotel is very well located. Near Marques de Pombal and Av. Liberdade.
It is possible to reach Rossio, Baixa and Chiado in 15/20 minutes walking through the streets...
And besides this, it is silent and calm at night...
The hotel has to change the furniture. It is old fashioned and the carpet is worn and old.
The front desk is nice and helpfull.
The breakfast is good.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Umnome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St.-Julien-de-Crempse, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2010

The hotel is in an excellent location with easy access to public transport. The hotel was clean, rooms spacious (by European standards), and the staff friendly and helpful. There is some traffic noise at night but it was not too disturbing. I was able to sleep without a problem.
Breakfast consisted of cold cereals, yogurt, cakes, bread, cheese, cold cuts, orange juice (I think this was fresh), and coffee, tea, and hot chocolate.
When I travel I use the hotel for sleeping only and this hotel was great for my purposes (i.e. I do not need gyms, bars etc, I get my exercise and entertainment elsewhere). I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MHM88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poznan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2009

The good: This is a no-nonsense, relatively cheap hotel in a business district. Close enough to the centre (3 mins from the Marquês de Pombal metro station, also convenient for the airport -- 9 EUR by taxi, convenient for Avenida da Liberdade). Some (but not so many) restaurants and cafes in the vicinity. Everything worked as advertised. The room was spacious, the bed comfortable (but on the hardish side). High speed wired Internet access in the room -- don't forget your Ethernet cable. Decent continental breakfast (maybe the coffee could have been better). Overall, for the price I got, I was completely satisfied.

The not-so-good: The decor is definietely early 1990s, and it hasn't aged too well. While everything worked fine and was clean, an update would be welcome. Even though the room was on the 9th floor, with an open window, there was some noise from an aircon system (?) below. As the aircon in the room itself was a bit noisy, too, sleeping could be difficult if you needed it on (I didn't, so no problem for me). The only real annoyance was the fixed shower head in the bathroom.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wjarek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Jorge V
Hotel Jorge V
#174 of 248 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
0.1 km away
Hotel Flamingo
Hotel Flamingo
#208 of 248 in Lisbon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Excelsior
Hotel Excelsior
#234 of 248 in Lisbon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Avenida Park Hotel
Avenida Park Hotel
#186 of 248 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.8 km away
Residencial Horizonte
Residencial Horizonte
#191 of 248 in Lisbon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.3 km away
Amazonia Lisboa Hotel
Amazonia Lisboa Hotel
#229 of 248 in Lisbon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nacional? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nacional

Property: Hotel Nacional
Address: Rua Castilho 34, Lisbon 1250-070, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 248 Hotels in Lisbon
Price range (per night): $68 - $136
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nacional 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Nacional reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nacional Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing