We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 am - 6:00 pm
Save
  
Ways to Experience Castelo de S. Jorge
from USD 20.80
More Info
from USD 17.30
More Info
from USD 40.40
More Info
Reviews (25,478)
Filter reviews
25,478 results
Traveller rating
11,568
9,405
3,541
726
238
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11,568
9,405
3,541
726
238
Show reviews that mention
All reviews castle walls nice castle archaeological site great views of lisbon worth the climb steep walk entrance fee entire city small museum glass of wine ticket office tagus river nice walk walk around sunny day visiting lisbon tuk tuk
Filter
Updating list...
1,300 - 1,305 of 25,478 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Go and walk around. See the city from above. Just relax in the gardens. Not expensive to enter, get a senior discount

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank 867jackt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

This is a real castle - built almost a 1,000 years ago with a rich history that is well documented alongside some great archeological work done in the last 40 years AND it’s in the centre of a great city - you don’t even have to drive out of the city to see it.

So why is everyone ignoring the museum next to the cafeteria while hawking at the Peacocks running around??? Peacocks I said? Yes - Peacocks, there is a whole muster (amazingly that’s what they call a group of Peacocks) of Peacocks around and people JUST CANNOT GET ENOUGH OF THEM. Once you had your fill of them, go see the castle, see the museum, read about the Moors and go home happy.

The walk to the museum is half the fun (take the #28 Tram and walk the rest of the way), the walk back is even more so - eat enough pastries to make the whole exercise a break even proposition and Instagram the Peacock pictures.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank PikarS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

I took a guided tour here and was so glad I did. My guide was called Alex and he was very knowledgeable about this place and the history of Lisbon. The view from here over the city can not be beaten.Make sure you go and see the small museum too.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank degtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Other reviewers have mentioned massive queues, so we intended getting there for opening at 9am. However, we were delayed and arrived at 10am; only 2 families were in front of us. By the time we left at 12:15pm, the line stretched 200m down the road.
Lovely views and wall walks, and not too crowded before noon.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank DarylJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018

We took Tram 28 to the castle. It was a nice place to walk around with some good views of the city. Wouldn't be on my 'must do' list. It was ok.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Posh06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews