We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice castle”

Castelo de S. Jorge
Book In Advance
More Info
USD 13.88*
and up
Ticket to Castelo de São Jorge - Skip the Line...
Ranked #6 of 515 things to do in Lisbon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Open 7 days a week, Castelo de S. Jorge is now a place where you can enjoy our heritage, get to know a little about Lisboa’s History at the Permanent Exhibition, explore the traces of the Moorish neighbourhood dating back from the 11th century at the Archaeological Site, discover yet unseen sights over the city on the Camera Obscura, stroll across the gardens and the belvederes, take a break at the Café do Castelo, participate of the guided tours or other didactical activities, or simply be enchanted by music, theatre, dancing and the talk shops on heritage that liven up your days at this remarkable Monument in Lisboa.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Go and walk around. See the city from above. Just relax in the gardens. Not expensive to enter, get a senior discount

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank 867jackt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25,762)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"castle walls"
in 360 reviews
"nice castle"
in 127 reviews
"archaeological site"
in 90 reviews
"great views of lisbon"
in 163 reviews
"worth the climb"
in 145 reviews
"steep walk"
in 104 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 189 reviews
"small museum"
in 137 reviews
"glass of wine"
in 157 reviews
"ticket office"
in 90 reviews
"nice walk"
in 105 reviews
"walk around"
in 127 reviews
"sunny day"
in 86 reviews
"tuk tuk"
in 134 reviews
"tagus river"
in 92 reviews
"narrow streets"
in 104 reviews
"visiting lisbon"
in 87 reviews
Filter

1,376 - 1,380 of 25,762 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

This is a real castle - built almost a 1,000 years ago with a rich history that is well documented alongside some great archeological work done in the last 40 years AND it’s in the centre of a great city - you don’t even have to drive out of the city to see it.

So why is everyone ignoring the museum next to the cafeteria while hawking at the Peacocks running around??? Peacocks I said? Yes - Peacocks, there is a whole muster (amazingly that’s what they call a group of Peacocks) of Peacocks around and people JUST CANNOT GET ENOUGH OF THEM. Once you had your fill of them, go see the castle, see the museum, read about the Moors and go home happy.

The walk to the museum is half the fun (take the #28 Tram and walk the rest of the way), the walk back is even more so - eat enough pastries to make the whole exercise a break even proposition and Instagram the Peacock pictures.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank PikarS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

I took a guided tour here and was so glad I did. My guide was called Alex and he was very knowledgeable about this place and the history of Lisbon. The view from here over the city can not be beaten.Make sure you go and see the small museum too.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank degtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Other reviewers have mentioned massive queues, so we intended getting there for opening at 9am. However, we were delayed and arrived at 10am; only 2 families were in front of us. By the time we left at 12:15pm, the line stretched 200m down the road.
Lovely views and wall walks, and not too crowded before noon.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank DarylJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2018

We took Tram 28 to the castle. It was a nice place to walk around with some good views of the city. Wouldn't be on my 'must do' list. It was ok.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank Posh06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Castelo de S. Jorge also viewed

Lisbon, Lisbon District
Lisbon, Lisbon District
 

Been to Castelo de S. Jorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing