We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (511)
Filter reviews
511 results
Traveller rating
427
64
10
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
427
64
10
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roof terrace master bedroom honesty bar a lovely place to stay yogurt wonderful city francisco estrella tram portugal neighborhood stylish taxis da library
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 511 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2017

We were in the Library, a small room, but fine for two. The breakfast was ample, the staff were helpful, and the host was a mine of useful information.
The room terrace is stunning, and a great place to relax after a full day of signt seeing.
The area is wonderful to explore, and it is an easy walkn nor tram ride down to the centre.
We even found excellent flat whites - although the standard Portugese 'cafe' is hard to beat.

Room Tip: You can ask, and get given, a quiet room.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank srb27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2017

The playroom is clean with great view. The environment nearby is fantastic. I stay here for a short summer study. The host kindly prepares breakfast for me even if I need to leave the house around 8am. The view at the terrace is breathtaking.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YaL96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017

A 5 minute walk from the Basilica da Estrella and you will find "the house" halfway up the Travessa do Pinheiro. Not the most imposing of entrances, blink and you will miss it. Once inside you get into a small lift which will take two people and their luggage at most. Hhhmmm I was getting worried.
When the doors opened the owner was there to greet us in a very contemporary open plan room. We had a tour of the premises and after some guidance on what, how and where to see we were shown to our room aptly called the Nanny's room. The suite consisted of a master bedroom, bathroom and a small spare bedroom with a pull out bed.
The undoubted highlight of the hotel is the view from the roof which was breathtaking, as good if not better than any famous city viewing spots. Actually this was better as you could sit on comfy couches and loungers with a shade and a glass of wine drinking in the view.
When the hotel is full the breakfast area can get a little cramped. The breakfast itself was fine, plenty of coffee, OJ, fruit, yogurts and eggs served how you would like. We stayed for three nights and enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank AvidTraveler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017

My husband and I have recently had a four night break in Lisbon staying in The House.
Please do not be put off by negative comments, we were in the Library room and yes it is small, but ideal for a few nights and absolutely no smell from the bathroom.
The staff are very helpful and friendly, the view from the Terrace is amazing and we were lucky enough to have breakfast on the terrace one morning. Breakfast is simple, fresh and delightful, if you like a cooked option you are offered eggs.
We certainly would have no reservations returning. Ideal position in a quiet area, 10minute walk to nearest Metro and couple of minutes to the Tram Stop for the 28. Thankyou

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fcpcc1, Owner at The House, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Dear Maureen,

Thank you for your kind words. We are pleased to hear we were able to make the Library's room a pleasant option for our guests again, the intervention was successful then.

It was a pleasure to have you with us and hopefully a new opportunity for us to meet will arise soon!

All the best to your family,
Francisco Cansado Carvalho

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2017 via mobile

The first thing i think about when insee the name of this place is the amazing view you have on the roof of this B&B. You can see the whole city around you and relax in some very comfortable chairs.
The rooms and breakfaqt are excellent aswell!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Ward51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews