We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lisbon Dreams - nomen est omen!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lisbon Dreams Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lisbon Dreams Guest House
Ranked #18 of 213 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lisbon Dreams - nomen est omen!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2012

I was very excited about my trip to Lisbon - it was my second time in Portugal, but my first time to the capital. My boyfriend had found Lisbon Dreams when hunting around for hostels on the internet, and I had marveled at the professional, slick-looking website.

Our eight-night stay there completely lived up to the expectations created by the website. The hostel is situated in the center of Lisbon, a 15-minute walk away from the sea, and a 10 minute walk away from lovely Parque Eduardo VII. The staff were informative, helpful, and always friendly (and all spoke excellent English). The rooms were bright, airy, and furnished in a white and red designer style (with the Portuguese Rooster of Barcelos adorning the wall in our room). The bed was very comfortable, and towels, bathrobes and slippers were supplied by the hostel. The cleaning staff were an ever-present, but very discreet presence, who did a very thorough job every day. The hostel breakfast was delicious, and the kitchen was perfectly suited for making dinner in the evenings, having every utensil necessary at the disposal of the guests.

Considering all of these factors, the price of our eight-night stay was more than affordable! I highly doubt that any other hostel, or even hotel would've presented equivalent value for money.

All in all, if you go to Lisbon, I would recommend Lisbon Dreams before any other hostel, or even hotel. Do yourself a favour, and book now :)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sophie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    348
    184
    27
    4
    1
See reviews for
65
241
79
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

I was amazed by this guesthouse: a ‘designy’ hotel for a stunningly low price. Here, they do everything right a good hotel needs to do right: cleanliness, a good bed with nice sheets, an ample breakfast buffet and friendly service. Do you really need anything else? Sharing a bathroom might be unappealing for some, but you won’t even notice it much as they do keep the bathrooms really clean and you get a comfy bathrobe. At most boutique hotels the service will not be as personal as here. I was welcomed warmly, shown around and could wait at the terrace while they prepared my room. The next day I had to leave early and the staff made sure I didn’t leave without some breakfast. Literally a hidden gem!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IreDeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

super place stayed there twice with partner .good service clean rooms and bathrooms back they in june 2012. simon j

Room Tip: all rooms are in good areas of hotel and great free breakfests
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank simon j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

The guesthouse is extremely clean and comfortable (despite shared bathrooms). Bath robes and slippers are even provided! I would never have expected something like this to be provided by a guesthouse. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

They also provide breakfast (freshly baked pastries and bread rolls in the mornings!) - kitchen dining area is spacious (even an outside area for summer time!) and furnishing is all new. You can also cook your own meals as well as they provide a fridge to store food and a cooking area for simple cooking.

The location is central enough - you'll get to the center of it all in a 10-15mins stroll down Av. da Liberdade (excellent for when you've had a full meal). It's a few mins walk away from Rato Metro station if need be. Also, a decent size grocery shop right next to the guesthouse.

The only 2 things that I would point out is that the signage to the guesthouse is absolutely tiny. I arrived late in the evening and could not for my life find the entrance to the guesthouse and luckily saw other travellers come out of the grocery shop and followed them to find the green doors with the tiniest sign hiding behind a huge plant.

Also, the front door can be quite annoying if you want to have a lie in. They have put up signs requesting guests to close the door quietly, which everyone seem to remember in the evenings, but not at 8am in the morning when some may want a lie in and others are up for an early start.

But overall, I would return to this guesthouse if I visit Lisbon again and would definitely recommend to all my friends.

Room Tip: If you ever decide to have a lie in during your trip, request for a room that is not directly above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank K4rm3n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

The Lisbon Dreams Guesthouse is centrally located in the city of Lisbon and though it's much cheaper than most of the hotels in the area, it is absolutely wonderful! The staff is very helpful and friendly, the rooms are exceptionally clean and there are a number of lovely living rooms and a kitchen that is open for guests to use.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Britania Hotel
#2 of 248 in Lisbon
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,039 reviews
Lisbon Story Guesthouse
#20 of 213 in Lisbon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Principe Real
Casa do Jasmim by Shiadu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lisbon Dreams Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lisbon Dreams Guest House

Property: Lisbon Dreams Guest House
Address: Rua Rodrigo da Fonseca 29 1, Lisbon 1250-189, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 213 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price range (per night): $48 - $130
Hotel Class:3 star — Lisbon Dreams Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Who said that luxury isn't affordable? Experience more for less! Lisbon Dreams Guest House (AL) is a special place in the heart of beautiful Lisbon. During the last 7 years, it has opened its doors and its heart to thousands of travellers from all over the world. Every day of this journey has been an adventure aiming to provide quality hospitality experience for anyone passing by. It's affordable luxury concept is based on premium location, rich breakfast, comfy beds and quality linen, surprising details, service from the heart and good price-quality relation. If you are seeking for a little romantic getaway, accommodation for your family holiday or for a business trip in a relaxing atmosphere with a touch of luxury, then the Lisbon Dreams Guest House is the right place to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC and Odigeo so you can book your Lisbon Dreams Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lisbon Dreams Guesthouse Hotel Lisbon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing