We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
xjynx
Toronto, Canada

Would happily stay here again :)

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 3 weeks ago
I had a great stay here. The location was fantastic - in the fado district and a stone's throw from bus stops that take you to the Tile Museum and Belem, as well as the Terreiro do Paco station (blue line of the metro). Only a 15 min (flat!) walk from Cais do Sodre. I asked for a quiet room and I was given a top floor corner room, which was perfect.

Everyone was very kind and helpful, from the gentleman and young ladies at reception, to the sweet staff at breakfast. The room itself was lovely, spacious, and comfortable, and they left two bottles of water for me as well :) . Breakfast was very good - pastries were fresh (warm mini nata every day!) and there were savoury options as well (cheeses and deli meats). It would have been nice to have had a kettle in the room and maybe eggs at breakfast, but I'm just nitpicking :)
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$496
  • Expedia.com
    AU$535
  • Agoda.com
    AU$444
  • Hotels.com
    AU$545
1.0 km from Hotel Riverside Alfama
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$460
  • Hotels.com
    AU$460
  • Agoda.com
    AU$394
  • Expedia.com
    AU$462
1.0 km from Hotel Riverside Alfama
Free Wifi
AU$277
  • Expedia.com
    AU$365
  • Agoda.com
    AU$243
  • Hotels.com
    AU$385
0.5 km from Hotel Riverside Alfama
Free Wifi
AU$273
  • Expedia.com
    AU$279
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$241
  • Priceline
3.6 km from Hotel Riverside Alfama
Free Wifi
Pool
AU$446
  • Expedia.com
    AU$522
  • Algotels
    AU$324
  • Hotels.com
    AU$523
1.8 km from Hotel Riverside Alfama
Free Wifi
Room service
AU$108
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$108
1.6 km from Hotel Riverside Alfama
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
Exterior view
AU$200
  • Booking.com
    AU$200
  • Expedia.com
    AU$200
  • Hotels.com
    AU$200
4.1 km from Hotel Riverside Alfama
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$140
  • Hotels.com
    AU$140
  • Algotels
    AU$117
  • Expedia.com
    AU$140
14.5 km from Hotel Riverside Alfama
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$229
  • Hotels.com
    AU$229
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$212
  • Expedia.com
    AU$229
2.3 km from Hotel Riverside Alfama
Free Wifi
Restaurant
AU$839
  • Hotels.com
    AU$868
  • Agoda.com
    AU$822
  • Expedia.com
    AU$867
0.8 km from Hotel Riverside Alfama
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Lisbon
Reviews (246)
Filter reviews
246 results
Traveller rating
180
51
5
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
180
51
5
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews excellent location tourist attractions and restaurants and spoke great english commercial square would recommend this hotel to anyone hotel door yogurt river view comfortable beds excellent stay wonderful hotel train tiles city cascais espresso
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 246 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2024

Nice cosy hotel with excellent view (room 401) on the square to the river. Close to all kinds of public transportation. Centrally location, close to most of the things to see in Lisbon.
Personnel was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good and plenty, rooms were always clean.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Filip V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 February 2024

This hotel is Lovely, the staff make it 5 star!! The room was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast buffet was filling with croissants, pasteis, fresh fruit and vegetables. It was a great start each day! They also provide free water and coffee 24 hours a day. Margarida and Moreira were so helpful setting up tours and giving us tips. Tanya and Maya kept the breakfast buffet area so clean and stocked. Marcia was a delight each evening helping us with our room temperature and drinks. She even found me a snack one night after all the restaurants were closed. We arrived early the first day and our room wasn't ready. They graciously stored our luggage and when we came back, the luggage was already in our room!! Also on the last day, Moreira advised the breakfast crew to open early so we could have breakfast before our flight!! Again, customer service is what makes this hotel!! It is located in the Alfama district....close to several restaurants, shopping, metro, etc. We walked Everywhere and used Bolt, Uber, and Tuk tuk when it was too far away. Lisbon is beautiful, and Hotel Riverside made our first time so Amazing!! Obrigada Moreira, Margarida, Marcia, Tania and Maya!! Til we meet again!!

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 August 2023 via mobile

Stayed there 6 nights and loved my stay there! Clean, nicely decorated and comfortable room with a sea view. Reception was exceptional as we were given tips on where to go and what to see from a lovely lady at day 1. Nice breakfast in line with other hotels’ offering. Centrally located and well connected with all public transport. Will I come back? For sure!

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank fabiotO9140LS
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 February 2023

If like me you like small informal hotels you will love this place
It is a stones throw away from the railway station, the metro and the river
We landed very late evening but we were given a really warm welcome
We were given recommendations of places to visit and restaurants close by
We booked a standard room which was lovely, spotlessly clean and comfortable
It had probably the best shower I have ever had in a hotel powerful and hot.
Breakfast was the usual found in most hotels, fruit pastries, cheese and hams fruit juices and coffee and pancakes but there was nowhere to warm these up as I think they are better warm
Only small complaint is all the yoghurts were plain and some warm food would have been nice ie eggs
We were kept awake on just one night by somebody constantly walking around their room above which the hotel is not responsible for just selfish people
Other than that the rooms were really quiet
We caught the metro from the airport and it was a couple of minutes walk to the hotel when we arrived
We also caught the train to Cascais on the coast which was a nice day out
You can catch a boat close to the railway station to go across the river to see the statue of Christ which you can also go to the top and see the amazing views over the city
I would also recommend a train ride to Belém to try the best Portuguese tarts I have ever tasted
As previous people have mentioned the staff at the hotel were amazing. They were so friendly and nothing was ever too much trouble
We wouldn’t stay anywhere else if we ever return to Lisbon. A very big thank you from us both

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 November 2022

We loved our stay at this quiet, spotless, charming and kindly staffed Hotel in an excellent location to enjoy the city from! We will be back!
Our rooms (we had two beautiful side by side rooms with river views for our family if 5 with 3 teens) were a pleasant surprise- larger than I had thought. So nice and quiet at night, but close to the nightlife if desired. We walked all over the city from the hotel and enjoyed great restaurants close by as well as ones in the other parts of the city close by, or by one of the many ways to get around.
The best part besides the rooms, was the staff!
We arrived early morning after very long flights from western United States and were greeted by the kind and friendly Joel who covers the eve/am hours. He answered all our questions and spoke great English. The espresso in the lobby was a morning tradition where we spoke to the kind owner of the hotel, Amancio Moreira. There is a nice Portuguese pottery shop attached to front lobby where you can make your own tiles - super fun!
The evening attendant, Marina Rossi who also spoke perfect English was so great! She helped us coordinate transportation and explained train, etc in detail and advised on many of our questions.
The breakfasts were good- very traditional though the espresso machine in the lobby was preferable to the drip coffee at breakfast (but I’m a picky coffee drinker). Yummy traditional baked goods, rolls, croissants, yogurt, granola, fruit selections, meats/cheeses. Very nice.
We hated to leave and highly recommend everything about this gem!

Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank tracylL5370SZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews