We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst place ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
B. Mar Hostel & Suites
Ranked #88 of 245 Lisbon B&B and Inns
Turin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worst place ever”
Reviewed 31 August 2008

I must admit I did not spend any night in there, but that was not because of my fault.
I received a confirmation mail directly fro the owners, printed and showed at the reception girl and, when arrived at night in Lisbon after a 2.000 Km trip I received the notification my room was not available because I did not have any confirmation number. The only problem was THEY did not send me any.
Moreover the tried to say they told it to me by phone, but I never phoned them.
In addition they were not able to make me have any phone call (they say they don't have any telephone, even if the give you a phone number to call in case of late arrivals) and their public phone was broken.
I fortunately find the last available room in a cheap hotel, since many others were fully booked, but what should I have done late at night if I was not able to find one?
Maybe this will not happen to you, but if it will. In my opinion these peolple should not be chosen as your host.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — People trying to say it's your fault instead of helping you trying to find a solution after their fault
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank TurinTorto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    63
    26
    11
    4
See reviews for
27
50
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2008

Charming place! Very friendly, English speaking staff welcomed us with big smiles. They even remembered my request (some weeks before by email) for a room with a view. We had exactly that: a wonderful view of the river and river front (Make sure you specify a room on the front when you book).
Breakfast was very practical and cosy (in the kitchen). The kitchen (with fridge+microwave) was also available for guests' use. The reception also has internet access for guests.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sajb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2008

The location is great, if you are in Lisbon to discover the heart of the culture...the Alfama borough is what you need.
We staied here just one night, my boyfriend and I. We had a room not big, but very cosy and clean...
The staff is lovely, and very helpful...everybody speak english.
There is a store room and they keep it very safe.
Only thing...I don't know how it can be in July or August, when Lisbon become very hot, as I couldn't see any air conditioning system, but maybe they have it and you should ask, or maybe they have some rooms with or without.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — 4th floor without lift
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank freemattia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2008

Small and simple guest house just at the riverside of Lisboa, Portugals capital city. The guest house is located on the 4th floor of a historic building complex, with some 15 rooms (2-5 bed with/without shower/toilet).
Historic city center and the most popular Placo de Commerciale are just a 5minutes footwalk away. Nightlife is mostly within a EUR5 / 10 Minute taxi ride.
The rooms have been clean and cleand up every day. Some of the rooms have riverside windows with small balcony, while others just do not have a window at all.
The staff could have been more friendly.
Free internet access is available at the receiption.

  • Liked — Price, Location (city center in walcing distance)
  • Disliked — Staff
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ba-chief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lisbon hotels
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Guesthouse Beira Mar
Guesthouse Beira Mar
#233 of 455 in Lisbon
28 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Palacio Vila Flor
Palacio Vila Flor
#48 of 455 in Lisbon
112 reviews
Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Hostel Petit Lusa
Hostel Petit Lusa
#60 of 455 in Lisbon
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Lisbon Story Guesthouse
Lisbon Story Guesthouse
#25 of 245 in Lisbon
598 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Pensao Royal
Pensao Royal
#71 of 245 in Lisbon
217 reviews
Baixa, Rossio & Restauradores
Emporium Lisbon Suites
Emporium Lisbon Suites
#36 of 245 in Lisbon
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B. Mar Hostel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B. Mar Hostel & Suites

Property: B. Mar Hostel & Suites
Address: Largo do Terreiro do Trigo 16, Lisbon 1100-603, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Lisbon > Castelo, Alfama & Mouraria
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 245 B&Bs / Inns in Lisbon
Price range (per night): $70 - $200
Hotel Class:3 star — B. Mar Hostel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Alfama historical neighbourhood, Hostel B. Mar offers breakfast in its dining room overlooking Tejo River. The centrally located guest house is a 2-minute walk from the nearest bus station The property features double, triple and quadruple rooms with either a private bathroom or access to shared bathroom facilities. Some have wooden-floors and a balcony with a river view. Alfama is known for the small popular restaurants where you can hear the Fado, the Portuguese national song. These restaurants, which serve Portuguese traditional meals, are accessible through a short 3-minute walk from the property. The guest house has an equipped kitchen, accessible to all guests wishing to prepare their meals at their own leisure and enjoy them in the dining room which overlooks the Tagus River. Free WiFi is available in the lounge area and it also has 2 working computers for guest usage. The lounge features a flat-screen TV, sofas and a seating area overlooking the river. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your B. Mar Hostel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing