We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic, quaint, and well located manor house.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pergola House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pergola House
Ranked #2 of 38 Cascais B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Romantic, quaint, and well located manor house.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

After realizing that we had planned too many nights in Porto, we called Casa da Pergola at the last minute and luckily ended up with the last room. They kindly gave us a single although we were two people. The house is beautiful, the staff always friendly, and the location is exceptional. It is an easy walk from the train station and also to the beach. The breakfast included eggs and bacon and a good assortment of fresh fruits, and the complementary afternoon port really was a nice way to start the evening. One evening I sat on the sunny patio and read, and the second, I took my port to the sumptuous, charming sitting room. Overall, Cascais is pretty but expensive, and we felt we got a good deal on the room because it was a single, although had we been paying the full 150 euros per night, we may have felt differently.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Junebug1482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    50
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
36
173
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mere
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2011

We had a very pleasant two night stay here for a friend's wedding, right in the centre of town so close to shops and restaurants (and the beach). Really helpful staff, nice breakfasts and we particularly liked the port which is served from 6.00 p.m. in the garden

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GailGarbutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2011

Beautiful old mansion in lovely gardens. Quiet and peaceful and yet in the centre of town - 2 mins from the station and 5 mins from the beach. Stayed in bourgenvilla room. Enormous wardrobe - large windows overlooking the garden - big bathroom with lively tiles. Staff are helpful and discrete. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sozzlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

Welcoming from the moment we arrived. The gardens and the house itself are beautiful to behold, and the staff couldn't have been friendlier or more helpful. All 3 women on duty at one time or another treated us with great care, offering to help in whatever way they could (taxi and restaurant reservations, shuttle service, etc.) Central location, lovely glass of port in the evening on the terrace, breakfast outside on the side terrace in the morning under the warm sun....Cozy, comfortable room with ample space and a lovely, long bathtub in the bathroom. A splendid stay in every way. Shuttle service to and from the B&B is available and competitively priced.

Room Tip: 1st floor, overlooking the front garden, balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pepperywine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2010

We stayed in Casa da Pergola during our Tour de Portugal in November. We were originally slated to stay one night in Cascais, but liked the town and Casa da Pergola so much that we doubled the length of our stay.

Casa da Pergola can be challenging to find the first time since it is a house, not a hotel. Basically find the train station, find the McDonald's across the street, and it is just down the road.

The accomodations were excellent: the room was spacious, well appointed, with a large bathroom, a nice warm bed, and great furniture. We were impressed with how cozy it was and how welcome we felt.

There is a great living room with TV where the Casa serves a glass of Port wine every day between 18:00 and 20:00, which was a nice touch.

Breakfast was excellent both in the quality and variety of food selection.

The staff was a home run - they were very helpful in their tips for touring Cascais, restaurant opinions, and other things to do. We ran into a travel problem and they even helped us with rescheduling etc.

In summary - Casa da Pergola is a quiet, charming B&B in a great location in Cascais that is great for couples.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SurfColorado78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cascais hotels
0.8 km away
Hotel Cascais Miragem
Hotel Cascais Miragem
#3 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,073 reviews
1.0 km away
Grande Real Villa Italia Hotel & Spa
0.2 km away
The Albatroz Hotel
The Albatroz Hotel
#9 of 38 in Cascais
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Pestana Cidadela Cascais
0.3 km away
Hotel Baia
Hotel Baia
#16 of 38 in Cascais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
1.3 km away
InterContinental Estoril
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pergola House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pergola House

Property: Pergola House
Address: Avenida Valbom 13, Cascais 2750-508, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Lisbon District > Cascais
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Cascais
Price range (per night): $100 - $207
Hotel Class:4 star — Pergola House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pergola House, a Mediterranean style Mansion, with its elegant white marble floors and staircases, 10 bedrooms with "bas relief" stucco ceilings and beautiful garden, is located in the very heart of Cascais. This superb house has always belonged to the same family for over a century and its beautiful facade adorned with ancient hand painted tiles has been the delight of both amateur and professional photographers. Enjoy the buffet breakfast outside in the colourful garden in summer or inside with the sound of classic music. Port wine served everyday at 6 pm. Tea service in the afternoon. Special appetizers and wines from 6-8 pm. Daily diner buffet available. Air-conditioned and central heating. Wireless internet in all the rooms. Good tips for restaurants and museums.Pick-up from Lisbon airport available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Pergola House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Da Pergola Hotel Cascais

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing