We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“avoid rooms at the back”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tivoli Coimbra Hotel
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Coimbra
Reviewed 6 August 2016

On the plus side: the people at reception are professional, attentive and super friendly. They will give you practical tips for the city and do everything to make your stay as comfortable as they can. The rooms are spacious and the location is perfect for a visit to surprising Coimbra.
On the down side however: our room was situated on the back and provided a view on a hideous, apparently forgotten piece of the city. But most annoying is the extremely loud air vent of the parking. It is a bit like a constant jet engine in the back yard.
The hotel looks rather dated and so do the rooms: the (early) nineties are here and unfortunately there is nothing retro about it. The now yellow colored phone in the bathroom dates back to the eighties for sure (still not retro).
So compliments for the staff, a plus for the location but please do something about the sound and appearance of the back area of the hotel and... the manager overlooking the look and feel of the hotel should visit some contemporary 4 star hotels for inspiration soon.

Room Tip: avoid the rooms at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dvangalen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntonioEsteves_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Coimbra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience during your recent stay in Tivoli Coimbra!

We are glad that you found the Team helpfull and pro-active and that we met you expectations. Rest assured that I will share your comments with the Experience Team.

Thank you for giving us your opinion about our rooms. Most part of our rooms has been recently renovated as well as the hotel's public areas. We have two refurbished floors as well as a superior floor with different types of accommodation. We will definitely consider your comments in a future remodeling or redecoration.

Should you need any additional clarification please contact me at antonio.esteves@tivolihotels.com

I sincerely hope we can welcome you again in your next visit to Coimbra.

Kind regards,
António Esteves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,381)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 74 of 1,381 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2016

This hotel is located on the opposite edge of Coimbra's (small) downtown from the bustling, congested, historical area around the base of the hill that the university is located on and where the tourist congregate in summer. That said, it's just a 5-minute walk from the hotel to this area (say, the square in front of the Igreja de Santa Cruz), and therefore can serve as an ideal base for exploring the city.
We stayed here two nights and would easily have enjoyed another two. The room was very large and well-appointed, with a very nice bathroom. The bed was relatively soft, which was a pleasure after encountering fairly hard beds at other Portugal hotels. Our room faced the downtown and historical hillsides, and we did not find it all noisy during the nights -- good soundproofing and a superb view.
The staff were very helpful, even when the lobby area was hectic with check-ins. There are also some great places to eat within a block's walk. Would look forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: get a room on the top floor (fifth) facing the old city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntonioEsteves_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Coimbra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2016

Greetings from Tivoli Coimbra,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope that you had a good journey home.

We also hope that the experience of staying with us was excellent and we’d like to see you back again soon. We will make sure that everything is done to ensure that your stay will once again be memorable.

We are always available to help you with any reservation or other matters on your next visit to Coimbra.

Yours sincerely,
António Esteves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2016

It would be good to get a card detailing fone and adress. Our voucher was retained at check in. We still went sightseeing outside of coibra and luckely found hotel again. parking service was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank karlg59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntonioEsteves_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Coimbra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2016

Greetings from Tivoli Coimbra,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to place a review about your recent visit to our hotel.

We have custom cards Hotel. Sorry if it was not given to you.

I look forward to welcoming you again at Tivoli Coimbra.

Should you have any other queries, please do not hesitate to contact me at antonio.esteves@tivolihotels.com

My best regards,
António Esteves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2016

Good morning
recommended by Hotel Bronws from Lisbon
Not good communication from booking to front desk hotel because have ask several times for credit card and do not pass the message we need one invoice per room

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mariamercem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntonioEsteves_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Coimbra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2016

Greetings from Tivoli Coimbra,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel.

We apologize for this lack of communication. We will find out what happened.

Should you have any other queries, please do not hesitate to contact me.

I sincerely hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Coimbra.

Kind regards,
António Esteves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2016

This hotel was absolutely exceptional for a 4 stars hotel. The room was of e very good dimension and the quality of all services exceptional. Since they had taken a copy of my passport, they found out that my birthday was on the next day. I ended up at the end of the afternoon with a bottle of french champagne and some cookies. I highly recommend to go to that hotel and also to visit Coimbra.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Claude B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntonioEsteves_GM, General Manager at Tivoli Coimbra Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2016

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tivoli Coimbra.

It's great to see that the size of our room and our service match what you expected.
We are pleased that your birthday was pleasant and you enjoyed our surprise.

Thanking you once again for your remarks I look forward to welcoming you again at Tivoli Coimbra.

Kind regards,
António Esteves
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coimbra hotels
0.2 km away
Vila Gale Coimbra
Vila Gale Coimbra
#2 of 23 in Coimbra
1,329 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
Hotel Oslo Coimbra
#5 of 23 in Coimbra
1,190 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Dona Ines
Hotel Dona Ines
#4 of 23 in Coimbra
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Hotel Quinta das Lagrimas
1.7 km away
Tryp Coimbra Hotel
Tryp Coimbra Hotel
#9 of 23 in Coimbra
680 reviews
1.1 km away
Ibis Coimbra
Ibis Coimbra
#6 of 23 in Coimbra
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tivoli Coimbra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tivoli Coimbra Hotel

Address: Rua Joao Machado 4 5, Coimbra 3000-226, Portugal
Region: Portugal > Central Portugal > Coimbra District > Coimbra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Coimbra
#3 Luxury Hotel in Coimbra
Price Range: AU$100 - AU$150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tivoli Coimbra Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tivoli Coimbra combines tradition with contemporary style. Located in the centre of Coimbra, near Rua da Sofia, the Tivoli Coimbra is an excellent 4-star Coimbra hotel which simply oozes comfort and well being. Leisure also takes on a cool feel in the atmosphere of the Tivoli Caffe Coimbra, in the meeting rooms and in the surprising and fully renovated superior rooms. Leave your car in the hotel's private car park and take a stroll around this city of tradition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Tivoli Coimbra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tivoli Hotel Coimbra

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing