We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic looking building on a perfect setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Melia Ria Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Aveiro
Certificate of Excellence
home
Level Contributor
295 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“What a fantastic looking building on a perfect setting”
Reviewed 5 August 2011

We spent 2 nights here, it is lovely clean and very comfy, check-in was good and the staff are very friendly.Very close to the railway station and only a short walk to the shopping centre which not only provides shops and a cinema but a great food court as well. The canal is lovely with all the colourful boats which go right as far as the hotel --another good point is the Red tour bus stops right at the hotel door and gives a very interesting and informative tour around the salt pits.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janiceHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    430
    138
    38
    11
See reviews for
210
386
17
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

My husband and I stay there a week-end to celebrate our wedding aniversary. The day we arrived they sent red roses to the room! Besides this another thing that we appreciated was the fact that in spite of being a 4 star Hotel they had ammenities of a 5 star Hotel. Bathrobes, slippers, shower cap, besides the usual shampoo, shower gel etc. The staff is very friendly, breakfast good, and the Spa just fantastic (wonderful and relaxing massages). It was my first time in a Melia Hotel but I recommend it absolutely.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariasilvestre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2011

the hotel is situated in the center of Aveiro, next to the convention center and surrounded by beautiful gardens and parks, and in the side of a canal were the tipical Aveiro boats pass in trips.
Its a design building, just like a huge glass cube. the loby is modern and sofisticated, with the restaurant and bar. The staff is helpfull, alghout there was severes conferences and we had to wait a little bit to check-in.
the rooms and spacious and clean, simple and confortable, plasma tv and nice views... simple bathroom, with good amenities. the spa, that you have to pay extra to enter, is a indoor pool, a little crowded and noisy with plenty of kids. it also as a jacuzzi, underwater springs, Turkish bath and sauna. additional pay for massages and beauty treatments.
the breakfirst is nice, with good variety and quality of foods.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PedroMelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maia, Portugal
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

We were in the hotel just for a night (saturday to sunday) and everything was okay till we went to the room. The weather was hot and the air condition was not working properly... just heat! I called the reception and told them what was happening, they said to wait and see if it was working fine... waste of time! 10minutes after, called again and someone told me that the air condition was programed for winter so there was no possibility to refrigerate the room. So I had to sleep over 26ºC...
The breakfast was poor and lack of choice...
The hotel and rooms are modern, but who cares when you have no quality of sleep!?
The location is okay, few minutes away from the downtown.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dinarco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2011

Although very nice looking, this hotel was surprisingly disappointing. As mentioned previously, it is soulless and quite far out the city. The front desk staff was unfriendly and not helpful at all. To use the swimming pool, you need to pay 10 euros per person and per day, which is very disappointing considering we just wanted to use it for a quick 30 min swim after a full day. You also need to pay for parking. Considering a night stay is far from being cheap, I would personally have preferred a more "typical"-looking hotel in the town center.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kalyis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aveiro hotels
1.0 km away
Hotel Moliceiro
Hotel Moliceiro
#1 of 16 in Aveiro
454 reviews
0.6 km away
Veneza Hotel
Veneza Hotel
#4 of 16 in Aveiro
359 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Aveiro Palace
Hotel Aveiro Palace
#2 of 16 in Aveiro
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hotel Jardim
Hotel Jardim
#7 of 16 in Aveiro
189 reviews
0.9 km away
Hotel Aveiro Center
Hotel Aveiro Center
#6 of 16 in Aveiro
133 reviews
1.0 km away
Hotel das Salinas
Hotel das Salinas
#5 of 16 in Aveiro
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melia Ria Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Ria Hotel & Spa

Property: Melia Ria Hotel & Spa
Address: Cais da Fonte Nova | Lote 5, Aveiro 3810-200, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Aveiro District > Aveiro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Aveiro
#2 Romantic Hotel in Aveiro
#3 Luxury Hotel in Aveiro
Price range (per night): $135 - $344
Hotel Class:4 star — Melia Ria Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Melia Ria Hotel & Spa is located in a superior quality residential development in the centre of Aveiro, with views of the lake formed by the Ria de Aveiro. Located next to the Cultural and Congress Centre and the train station, just a short distance from the historical heart of the city, 7 km from the beaches, and 60 minutes from Oporto airport, with easy access to the A1, A25 and IC1 highways. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Melia Hotels APAC, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotelopia so you can book your Melia Ria Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Aveiro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing