We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent but a few niggles”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Logo
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Logo
Sight to exterior
Garden
Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ponta Delgada, Sao Miguel, Azores

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Cara E
Cirencester
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent but a few niggles”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Hosts were wonderful. We were greeted with a basket of fruit, bread and some of Maria's delicious home made jams. We would reiterate the positive reviews of early contributors. Some nuisance from the barking of a local dog was quickly dealt with by Maria, the host. There was a problem with hot water. There appeared not to be any available in the evening. Using the kitchenette tap shut off the water to the shower. The tap in the shower would be difficult to use for some people being very stiff. You do have to park a car in the road and not on the drive.
Apartment was very well equipped and Maria even supplied dark coloured towels for bathing in the iron rich hot spring water. The house pool was warm enough to swim in. Maria is from the Azores and has a lot of local knowledge which she is happy to share.
On balance a good experience and would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Scale, comfort of apartment and standard of equipment.
Liked least: Size of shower tray. It was small.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PamY_11
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
271 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“You will not need an alarm clock!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We stayed for one week, studio apartment very spacious, good location, approx 10 mins walk into town.
Very clean, garden very well kept, pool nice and big, we did not use as weather not good enough.
Down side we appreciate the studio is for two people but there were only two mugs which meant keep washing them up, very basic cooking utensiles ie no spatulas.
Not good as residential area dogs that barked 11pm, midnight and after, hard to get to sleep.
Mornings they have a cockerel that lives in a tree right outside the windo and he wakes up before 6am, this was a real pain....

Plus home made jam and bread left for you on arrival, down side it would be nice if there was some milk to have a drink.

Down side Ponta Delgarda is not a very clean place, litter, dog mess.

We will not be returning and I can not recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Garden
Liked least: Dogs barking and cockerel
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RufusRoff...
Guernsey
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Excellent accomodation with beautiful garden”
Reviewed 1 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014

I strongly recommend this accommodation for anyone staying in Ponta Delgada. Its very good quality, spacious, with an lovely garden and within easy walking distance of the town centre. The hosts are also very helpful indeed. Hard to fault.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden
Liked least: Nothing to complain about. One minor winge - the wi-fi passwoes used charrectors which are not on my ipad.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyskidmor...
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“an absolute dream”
Reviewed 17 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

The last stop on our honeymoon, and an absolutely fantastic one. Maria is one of the most amazing hosts, lots of recommendations on where to visit and eat, plus a great welcome basket of avocado, jam, breads and fruits all from their seemingly never ending garden of delights. The pool was super refreshing and a day just relaxing by it was idyllic.

The place was very spacious and not what I would call a studio - had everything we could have wanted, and the bed was very comfy.

Walk into town was around 15mins. Supermarket a 2 minute drive away gave us everything for self catering and cooking.

We always book self catering when we go away and this is definitely one of the best we've ever stayed in.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Reviewed 15 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing