We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Luxury villa rental overlooking medieval Algarve...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Silves, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Olga W
1 review
“Luxury villa rental overlooking medieval Algarve town for great price”
Reviewed 10 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This was a stunning villa with a lot of space, a heated indoor pool, outdoor pool, hot tub, pool table room, two fireplaces, a gym, summer kitchen,beautiful gardens and expansive grounds with a playground for kids. You could spend your entire vacation just on the property alone. We stayed in the off-season (March) so the prices were extremely reasonable for what you were getting. We were two families with 2 kids under 2 and it was extremely comfortable and family friendly. The views were also quite stunning of Silves, a charming medieval town, and you could either walk or drive easily to Silves for a coffee, stroll or dinner. Stunning beaches and other charming Algarve towns were easily reached by car from this location.

The internet was very reliable and the owner should win awards for how responsive he is. He was very quick to respond via text, phone or email and if there were any problems or missing supplies, they were dealt with almost immediately. He definitely knows what he is doing.

Please note that while the view is stunning, you can hear some small amount of noise from a local road below. So the property is not completely isolated in the countryside - but it also adds to the charm to be able to easily access Silves.

Overall, a great find and we would definitely visit here again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Soooo many luxury amenities.
Liked least: The house needed a bit of fixing here and there - i.e. doors, light switches, finicky heating. And more base supplies for our stay - toilet paper, towels, dish soap etc. But the owners provided us with these as soon as we mentioned it.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Mar 2016
Hello Olga, thank you very much for your review. It was very nice to have you and your lovely family with the cute baby in our Villa Carlota.

It is extremely gratifying to know that our job is valued and appreciated.

We are glad you had a great stay and we'll be waiting for your next visit.

Kind regards for all of you.

Miguel
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jelexica
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best holiday ever!”
Reviewed 20 February 2016 for a stay in August 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Villa Carlota for our wedding in August 2014.

The property is absolutely stunning and incredibly spacious. Every area is decorated and looked after to a really high standard. There's the pool area - indoor and out, saloon, gym, bikes and all within a short journey of Silves. We stayed at Villa Carlota before the recent development, and even without the jacuzzi and bar it was a wonderful place to stay. The gardens are huge and incredibly well kept, with lots of fruit you can help yourself to - great lemons for our gin and tonics!

Nothing is too much trouble for the owners and they were truly fantastic hosts.

We would love to go back in the future - maybe for a wedding anniversary!

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Feb 2016
It was a pleasure to welcome you on a date so important in your lives. We hope with all heart that you have a very happy life. We will be honored if you wish to celebrate your wedding anniversary in our company. We were glad with it!
We wish you a year full of happiness and joy.
Thank you so much.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shlatta
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Believe it or not - this place is even more amazing 'in the flesh!'”
Reviewed 12 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We have just returned from a family holiday here - there were 10 of us aged between 4 to 50 something! We were nervous about what the villa was going to be like as the photos seemed too good to be true, but it was all that and more!!! From the communication prior to arrival, the warm welcome, the facilities, the location, the staff, the views of the beautiful Silves, the fruit trees, the above and beyond delivery of a birthday cake for my sister-in-law (with the attention to detail of her age on the candles!) - I could go on! - everything was perfect!!
As others have said - I'd like to keep this place as 'our little secret!!' but I couldn't possibly - everyone should experience this pleasure!
I like to complain about stuff normally, but I cannot fault anything about our stay - truly exceptional - we will be returning for sure!!
Thank you Amelia and Jose!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holandesa
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Exceptional experience!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were 2 families travelling together to Algarve for the first time. Our group was consisted of 8 (4 adults and 4 children between the age 9 to 3 years).

The Villa offered lots of space and nice features to our families. The kids loved the pools and the game room. Especially the internal heated pool was a success for the period we went. The kids also loved walking through the garden discovering new paths and playing in the playground. We were very pleased we didn't need to go out of the house for our kids to have a good time.

We loved the veranda around the swimming pool with the outside kitchen. This was the place where we spent most of our time. We did our cooking here (also bbq) and had our meals. The men also loved the pool table which was used daily.

The rooms were great and comfy with good (quite) air conditioning everywhere in the house. It was also wonderful to close the day sitting in the veranda watching the sunset with a glass of cava and some nachos with fresh guacamole I've made from the avocados we collected in orchard! Just delicious!

But the best part of all was the great service and hospitality from José and Amélia. You can see that they spent lots of efforts to make this a great place. For sure they’ve succeeded! And I’m happy they are allowing others to enjoy it!

Amélia had also baked a cake for us for our arrival and give us a bottle of Cava. José was also very helpful and provided us excellent suggestions on restaurants in the area, which we took it and enjoyed great meals!

During the booking process José 's reply was always on the same day and the whole process went very smoothly. He also allowed us to see the other property he is renting and invited the kids to use the swimming pool there as well. This is another great place to consider when visiting the Algarve. During this visit they also spoiled our kids with ice creams and chips and let us taste a homemade wine which was a great day to end the afternoon. What a great hospitality! They treated us as friends, our kids, especially my niece loved Amélia and wanted to hug and kiss her as she has known her for years! After years of renting houses/villas in different countries I can tell you this was an exceptional experience!

In short, Villa Carlota is a perfect place to relax and enjoy some quality time with your love ones. Our kids still talk about it and my son wants to move to Portugal. For sure we are considering to go back and will definitely contact José and Amélia again!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The hospitality, the outside kitchen/veranda around the pool, the heated pool, the view,
Liked least: that we could stay longer
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2014
It is a big joy to receive your kind and lovely words!

We are glad our Villa provided you memorable moments and a fantastic holidays! Our goal was to make that possible and your words are what motivate us to do it better and better so we appreaciate your words a lot.

It really was a pleasure to meet such nice people. The kids were so lovely and we are happy they enjoyed it a lot, including the ice creams etc.

Come back whenever you wish. We'll be waiting for you!

Once again, thank you a lot.

José & Amélia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jal37a
Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way. !!!!!!!!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

We arrived late as we had a flight delay and even though it was nearly 10pm Jose and his wife were there to greet us warmly. We had an escorted tour of the villa and then sat down to a BBQ supper that had been prepared for us. Even a super cake baked by Jose' s wife.
E-mail communications prior to our arrival asking for a few basic provisions were polite and friendly and ensured we had a stocked fridge for breakfast the next morning (no stopping en-route to shop, after a tiring day travelling). And with beer and wine cooled in the fridge our holiday got off to a great start.
There is so much room in and around the villa gardens that no-one is in each others pockets and the fresh fruit from the garden was delicious. The poolman and gardener arrived descreetly and were so friendly it was great. I'm sure they enjoyed the beer and drinks that we oftered them as they got on with their tasks effectively.
Midweek was my 50th birthday and we were suprised when the girls arrived to deliver a birthday cake big enough to cater for all the guests (10 in our party)
On our final day we asked if we could extend our departure time (10am) for an hour so we could enjoy a last breakfast and everyone was most helpful. We packed and moved out of the main villa (to allow the girls in to start the changeover procedure) and had breakfast by the pool and a last minute swim before we left for the airport.
Jose, his wife & son arrived to say goodbye and were super friendly. We all parted as if we had been friends for years.
The photos and descriptions are incredibly accurate but still don't do this villa justice. It is a truely magnificent villa, with a quiet location, easy access to travel routes and spectacular views over Silves and the surrounding hills and river. Everything in the villa is first class and ever need is catered for. You could use the villa as a base to explore the local Algarve area (as some of our group did), or do a week' s shopping then never leave through the main gate until you depart for the airport.
If you have listed this villa on a compare list I would suggest deleting all the others, communicate with Jose by e-mail for any requirements you need, pack your case and head to Silves for a memorable stay.
The villa tag line is "Sea of emotions" and it truly is!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Days spent lazing by the pool, with enjoyable warm, wine fuelled evenings with lovely company
Liked least: Leaving !!!!!!!!!
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2014
Jim, thank you very much for your kind words. They really mean a lot for us.

We are also honored for the oportunity you gave us to host you in such an important date like your 50th birthday and we are glad our Villa Carlota has offered you an unforgettable holidays and moments we believe.

It really was a pleasure to be able to contribute to your great 50th birthday party.

We hope you can visit us again in the future to enjoy our sun, our villas and our region.

For sure a friendship has started now and will remain in the future so anything you need please let us know.

Once again, thank you a lot.

José & Amélia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing