We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Another wonderful stay at Casa Mel!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Casa Mel

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Silves, Faro District, Algarve

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Collieful...
Brechin, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Another wonderful stay at Casa Mel!”
Reviewed 22 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014
8
people found this review helpful

We returned to Casa Mel for another holiday and again had a lovely time, and we will be returning again next year. As before the cottage was clean, tidy and very welcoming. Everything we needed was there. The welcome pack of bread, milk, butter etc was also very much appreciated! Parking in the square near the cathedral was no problem on most days. Silves itself is a beautiful place to stay that doesn't get too busy. We enjoyed meals at Casa Velha and at one of the piri-piri chicken restaurants and explored much of the Algarve from our base!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything about the cottage
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
19J_K_H
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb accommodation”
Reviewed 28 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
6
people found this review helpful

Very friendly & helpful host, who provided a wonderful welcome hamper & plenty of useful tips & information. The accommodation is a light,airy,comfortable & very clean little cottage. Ideally located for exploring the Algarve.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karenfrom...
Todmorden
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“LOOK NO FURTHER”
Reviewed 21 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
7
people found this review helpful

This perfectly formed and well equipped little house lived up to expectation and beyond. Driving through Silves is like entering a film set - its so beautiful with the narrow cobbled streets and variety of buildings. Parking is just at the top of the street in a small square which has a lovely cafe (Cafe du Se) and is right next to the impressive church. Marion (the owner), seems to be getting herself a reputation for her attention to detail looking at other reviews. She goes to great lengths to make you feel welcome. The fridge was stocked with wine, beer, milk, butter and there was tea, coffee, sugar, bread and biscuits so there was really no need to rush out for a shop. There's a Skybox which meant that I could watch my soaps (on the few occasions that we were actually at home) and my husband found it useful to keep up with The Ashes on Five Live Radio! I'm just trying to think of some negatives so that I can give a balanced view but I am genuinely struggling. We really couldn't believe our luck when we opened the door and within minutes it felt like home....one we were reluctant to leave after 2 weeks. I used the kitchen to make breakfast and picnics for the beach and we had everything we needed. Marion couldn't be any more helpful and informative ensuring that our holiday was up and running on that very first day.
The cottage is about 20 minutes away from the nearest beach and within a 30 minute radius there are dozens of the most beautiful beaches - each slightly different and all having great access into the sea (no pebbles, seaweed etc). We did visit Albufeira and felt quite smug that we had definitely made the right choice of going inland to enjoy that authentic Portuguese way of life - we saw so much more and have fallen in love with sleepy Silves - the perfect haven at the end of a day on the coast. Lots of really good restaurants and very reasonably priced - Valdemar Chicken Piri Piri defintely not to be missed...the chicken isn't the only thing going "cheap" and its delicious too. Driving is on the right hand side but the roads are so quiet compared to ours in the UK. I have never driven abroad before but was absolutely fine and would definitely prefer to hire a car and stay at Casa Mel than stay in a "resort" fightining for sunbeds.
We will defintely return but have a feeling that we will need to book well in advance as people learn of Casa Mel and it's charm.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, great shower and comfy bed
Liked least: Having to come home after 2 weeks!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian T
Southampton
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic accommodation in wonderful setting.”
Reviewed 11 August 2013 for a stay in June 2013
6
people found this review helpful

We spent a week in Casa Mel at the end of June and had a wonderful time there. The owner, Marion, was extremely helpful in facilitating our stay - we were very much a last minute booking, contacting her on the Saturday and arriving on Tuesday. Marion lives very close by - ideal if you have any questions or queries - but do not feel put off by this if you like your own privacy, as she is not imposing and will leave you to enjoy your holiday.
Having hired a car at the airport, we were able to find the cottage with ease thanks to the detailed map and directions that Marion e-mailed us. Parking was free in the square at the side of the cathedral, no more than a minute or two stroll from the front door.
The cottage itself was very well equipped with everything you could require should you choose to self cater. The cottage is very light and airy, tastefully furbished and spotlessly clean. Marion also provided a 'welcome' including bread, milk, fruit and drinks, which was very much appreciated. Situated on a picturesque cobbled street onto which the front door opened, gave the feeling of living as a local rather than a distant tourist.
There was an abundance of restaurants within walking distance, and we would recommend the baked cod at the Cafe Ingles, next to the cathedral. The guest book lists many other good places to eat. The market down by the river provided an abundance of fresh fish, fruit and vegetables and was definitely worth a visit.
All in all, a great cottage in a great location and excellent value for money.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galimetro
Oxford, UK
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely house in a great location”
Reviewed 11 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
5
people found this review helpful

If you want to enjoy the Algarve but stay away from the big resorts - this is a perfect place. An old house in the centre of a historic town, on a cobbled road next to the cathedral and the Arab-period castle. The house is comfortable, tastefully decorated, and well-equipped. There is a bedroom (with a comfortable double), living room, sophisticated kitchen, and small but private sun roof. Although Silves is visited by tourists during the day, there are very few hotels so most don't stay. There are plenty of good restaurants (we followed the suggestions of the owner and previous visitors), a market for fresh food (and an extended farmers' market on Saturdays), plus late-hour grocery stores and supermarkets. There was live music at least twice a week.
With a car, you can easily reach several beaches (20-60 minute drive), as well as well-marked hiking trails throughout the Algarve.
Marion, the owner, has been extremely helpful, we were pleasantly surprised by the generous provisions in the kitchen when we arrived.

Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing