We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Sagres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 September 2017

We arrived at Memmo Baleeira after 10 days in our favourite small hotel in the Eastern Algarve, not quite sure what to expect in a hotel of this size. We were very pleased with our experience. Our room was bright and simple with clean lines and the bed extremely comfortable. The balcony is small but the views over the sea and harbour make up for it. The food in the restaurant was lovely - not just pizza - I had good fish dishes on two evenings and the Portuguese Spritzers were delicious. We booked our table for dinner - we were advised to do so by the member of staff who showed us to our room - and this was a good idea as the hotel was full in August. It was fun watching the boats coming into the harbour as we had our dinner by the panoramic windows which were thrown open to let in the evening air. We ate breakfast early as we wanted to walk in the mornings before it got too hot, so did not have any problems with a crowded breakfast room. The pool was warm and the service at the pool bar excellent, with pleasant staff regularly circulating to collect glasses and see if we needed anything. We always managed to get a lounger without any difficulty and we enjoyed lying in the special sheltered decks with views out to sea. The staff were all very pleasant- they kept a fairly low profile but were more than happy to engage in conversation and we enjoyed chatting to them. We felt that the hotel had a pleasant buzz without being too busy and the setting was spectacular. We would love to return and explore the area further as it is a beautiful area for walking.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank voyager09Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,520)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

29 - 33 of 1,520 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2017

Very surprised this is a Smith's hotel. Poor service, some staff were unhelpful and unprofessional. They did not tell us there was a kids play room until the penultimate day. Some staff can't speak English (which is not normally a problem as we're multi lingual), the bigger problem was that they could not speak any language coherently.

Toilet in the room was smelly despite us telling the staff that it needed a proper clean. Wifi was extremely slow. We paid for breakfast, however when I asked for poached eggs I was charged extra. Considering how much we paid it was definitely not worth it. Will not be going back unfortunately.

Room Tip: Go for the sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bolcarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillermo F, Director General at Memmo Baleeira Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear Guest,

First of all, thank you for choosing Memmo Baleeira Hotel during your stay in Sagres. We feel embarrassed noticing that we could not achieve your expectations as our goal is always that our guests are fully satisfied on their departure. We appreciate your comments as they will be useful for us to keep improving our services and facilities.
Best regards,
Guillermo Fernández
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

The view was excellent, towards the sea, but the doule rooms are small and the mattresses are too soft. The Wifi/internet is really bad throughtout the hotel. Rather noisy. You can hear people walking from one end of a corridor to the other end. The staff is friendly, but unresponsive to complaints, even misleading. When complaining about the Wifi, I got the answer that it was the some everywhere in Sagress. It is not! I went to severa places nereby with excellent connections.

Room Tip: Augusti-september är det fullsatt på hotellen i Portugal. Välj en annan månad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Tom_Of_Stockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillermo F, Director General at Memmo Baleeira Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear Mr. Andersson,

First of all, thank you for choosing Memmo Baleeira Hotel during your stay in Sagres. We feel sorry for your comments as we made our best to solve all your issues during your stay. Our apologies for any inconvenience caused.

Best regards,
Guillermo Fernández
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017

+ Great Design hotel with white decor, good restaurant & pool bar. The room was clean & spacious. During windy days it was cold to swim in the pool. Good surf school in the hotel with great guys!
- Actually, I expected to see a bigger pool, as on photos for it seemed bigger for me, as it's good only for children. In August it was crowded during breakfast time with some queues to wait for the table

Room Tip: only see view rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Marla777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillermo F, Director General at Memmo Baleeira Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear Guest,
We are happy to know that you liked our hotel! Thank you for sharing your comments. Hope to see you again soon in Sagres!

Best regards,
Guillermo Fernández
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

Our arrival at the hotel wasn't exactly what we expected. The lady at reception was extremely unfriendly and after grimacing over us giving her our booking details ("I asked you for your passports, nothing else") informed us that we were far too early and our suite would not be ready until 3pm (it was 10.30). We had just arrived in Portugal after a very early morning start with our two young children, so it was a bit of a shock to the system to be greeted in such an unfriendly manner, but a very lovely member of staff, Luiz, who actually handled baggage and was working there over the holiday period, more than made up for that mean-spirited receptionist. He was adorable, telling us to leave our luggage behind the front desk, informing us that we were free to use the pool and could have towels (things she should have told us). It was a real pity that we happened upon the one member of staff that acted that way. Everyone else was very smiley and seemed lovely. In fact, Luiz told us he was sure our suite would be ready a bit earlier, but when I went back at 2.40 (20 mins before our designated check-in time) without even checking with anyone - the same charmer told me "no - it's not ready" - and went back to her seat. Despite that rather sour, upsetting start, we really fell in love with Memmo.

We had a family suite, which was a tad shabby, but perfectly adequate and had the most stunning views of the sea and harbour. There was admittedly a disgusting stench in the hallway, undoubtedly because of a problem with the drainage system, but this was forgivable in light of the unbeatable location of our suite. The doors were difficult to open and close, but what a reward lay outside. And the sunrise! Light streaming through every morning. The pool area was also beautiful, with beanbags scattered around and a brand-new, very inviting bar.

Breakfast time was a bit of a zoo, with a large number of guests in a very small space, but the food was delicious and somehow the hordes of people didn't really bother us and Laura, who was in charge of seating, was charming. In fact most of the serving staff were a treat. The food in the hotel restaurant was also very good, although, I would've preferred a few more seafood dishes, but this was a minor quibble.

Overall we fell in love with windy Sagres and its broken down, dirty harbour. There was something very appealing about Memmo - the location. Hard to top. We loved it.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Jasmin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillermo F, Director General at Memmo Baleeira Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear Guest,
First of all, thank you for choosing Memmo Baleeira Hotel during your stay in Sagres. We appreciate your kind comments as our customer's feedback is the best way for us to keep improving our services and facilites. We will make our best to make it a perfect paradise and we hope that you can return to Sagres to see our improvements!
Best regards,
Guillermo Fernández
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sagres
1.5 km away
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
0.5 km away
Pousada Sagres
Pousada Sagres
#4 of 10 in Sagres
743 reviews
0.5 km away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.5 km away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#8 of 53 in Lagos
1,504 reviews
1 km away
Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast
33.5 km away
Pestana Alvor Praia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Memmo Baleeira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memmo Baleeira Hotel

Address: Sitio da Baleeira, Sagres 8650-357, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sagres
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sagres
#3 Family Hotel in Sagres
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sagres
Price Range: $94 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Memmo Baleeira Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yoga surf retreats Europe Portugal. Train Mind&Body in a beautifull 4* seaview hotel with Spa. Daily Yoga and meditation Classes, Surf and nature walks in the beautifull natural park of SW algarve in Portugal. A surf yoga holiday Europe. The perfect way to re-establish a deep connection with your innerself, Nature and to recharge and reconnect your life with the big LIFE..Join one of our Surf Yoga holidays and retreats in Europe Portugal and train mind and body for a more happy and healthy LIFE! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Memmo Baleeira Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Memmo Baleeira
Memmo Baleeira Sagres
Memmo Baleeira Hotel Sagres, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing