We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great surf hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Memmo Baleeira Hotel
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Sagres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2017

+ Great Design hotel with white decor, good restaurant & pool bar. The room was clean & spacious. During windy days it was cold to swim in the pool. Good surf school in the hotel with great guys!
- Actually, I expected to see a bigger pool, as on photos for it seemed bigger for me, as it's good only for children. In August it was crowded during breakfast time with some queues to wait for the table

Room Tip: only see view rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Marla777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillermo F, Director General at Memmo Baleeira Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear Guest,
We are happy to know that you liked our hotel! Thank you for sharing your comments. Hope to see you again soon in Sagres!

Best regards,
Guillermo Fernández
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,513)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 35 of 1,513 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

Our arrival at the hotel wasn't exactly what we expected. The lady at reception was extremely unfriendly and after grimacing over us giving her our booking details ("I asked you for your passports, nothing else") informed us that we were far too early and our suite would not be ready until 3pm (it was 10.30). We had just arrived in Portugal after a very early morning start with our two young children, so it was a bit of a shock to the system to be greeted in such an unfriendly manner, but a very lovely member of staff, Luiz, who actually handled baggage and was working there over the holiday period, more than made up for that mean-spirited receptionist. He was adorable, telling us to leave our luggage behind the front desk, informing us that we were free to use the pool and could have towels (things she should have told us). It was a real pity that we happened upon the one member of staff that acted that way. Everyone else was very smiley and seemed lovely. In fact, Luiz told us he was sure our suite would be ready a bit earlier, but when I went back at 2.40 (20 mins before our designated check-in time) without even checking with anyone - the same charmer told me "no - it's not ready" - and went back to her seat. Despite that rather sour, upsetting start, we really fell in love with Memmo.

We had a family suite, which was a tad shabby, but perfectly adequate and had the most stunning views of the sea and harbour. There was admittedly a disgusting stench in the hallway, undoubtedly because of a problem with the drainage system, but this was forgivable in light of the unbeatable location of our suite. The doors were difficult to open and close, but what a reward lay outside. And the sunrise! Light streaming through every morning. The pool area was also beautiful, with beanbags scattered around and a brand-new, very inviting bar.

Breakfast time was a bit of a zoo, with a large number of guests in a very small space, but the food was delicious and somehow the hordes of people didn't really bother us and Laura, who was in charge of seating, was charming. In fact most of the serving staff were a treat. The food in the hotel restaurant was also very good, although, I would've preferred a few more seafood dishes, but this was a minor quibble.

Overall we fell in love with windy Sagres and its broken down, dirty harbour. There was something very appealing about Memmo - the location. Hard to top. We loved it.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Jasmin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillermo F, Director General at Memmo Baleeira Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear Guest,
First of all, thank you for choosing Memmo Baleeira Hotel during your stay in Sagres. We appreciate your kind comments as our customer's feedback is the best way for us to keep improving our services and facilites. We will make our best to make it a perfect paradise and we hope that you can return to Sagres to see our improvements!
Best regards,
Guillermo Fernández
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Rooms are spacious and clean, but there is no place to hang towels on the balcony. The breakfast room is really small, where tables are set very close to each other and guests always rush to get food and drinks; you do not feel relaxed to eat comfortably. This space is not large enough for all hotel guests at the peak time e.g. 8:30 - 9:30am. The swimming pool as well; there are about 20 fixed parasols at the poolside, which is not enough at the peak season. On the other hand, there are a number of restaurants around the hotel, where you can eat delicious local specialities. We would consider staying there for a long weakend but definitely not for two weeks.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Noki57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillermo F, Director General at Memmo Baleeira Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your comments. Guest feedback is very important as it is the best way for us to keep improving our services and facilities, we will take your comments in considerations as they are useful. We hope that overall you had a pleasant stay with us.

Best regards,
Guillermo Fernández
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

The view his stunning and the design in the common spaces is as you can see in the photos, no lies on that but that is all you will get here. And not for cheap. There is a high problem: prices (at least in high season) are for a luxury hotel and that s not the case. Room are basic, in front of the ocean, yes, but not properly clean. Service is poor, breakfast is servede downstairs in a noisy room where you can sit in the back. In August it happen, I've got it, but you have to change your standard. The prices does not respect the value at all. Lack of cure, of kindness, of care. For the money they are asking they should give a lot more than this

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank giuzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillermo F, Director General at Memmo Baleeira Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Memmo Baleeira Hotel during your stay in Sagres. We are embarased that you found our hotel a fake, as our main goal is always that our guests leave the hotel fully satisfied. We apologize for any inconvenience caused and thank you for sharing your comments.
Best regards,
Guillermo Fernández
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

Very disappointing hotel. 200€/night with "amazing" views to the parking lot, breakfast with few options and very small pool. The place seems to be a good place for families but for a couple there are a lot of noise and kids, specially for breakfast. However the restaurant is quite good.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Eduardo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillermo F, Director General at Memmo Baleeira Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Dear Guest,

We feel embarrassed that you find our hotel a disappointing but we appreciate your comments as it is important for us to know how our Guests feel about their experience. During summer months you can find more children at the hotel as families search our property due to our suites. Apart from that we hope that you had a pleasant stay.

Best regards,
Guillermo Fernández

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sagres
1.5 km away
Martinhal Sagres Beach Resort & Hotel
0.5 km away
Sagres Time Apartamentos
0.5 km away
Pousada Sagres
Pousada Sagres
#4 of 10 in Sagres
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Mareta Beach Boutique Bed & Breakfast
26.5 km away
Vila Gale Lagos
Vila Gale Lagos
#7 of 53 in Lagos
1,491 reviews
24.9 km away
Carvi Beach Hotel Algarve
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Memmo Baleeira Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Memmo Baleeira Hotel

Address: Sitio da Baleeira, Sagres 8650-357, Portugal
Phone Number:
Region: Portugal > Algarve > Faro District > Sagres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sagres
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sagres
#3 Family Hotel in Sagres
#4 Romantic Hotel in Sagres
Price Range: $97 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Memmo Baleeira Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yoga surf retreats Europe Portugal. Train Mind&Body in a beautifull 4* seaview hotel with Spa. Daily Yoga and meditation Classes, Surf and nature walks in the beautifull natural park of SW algarve in Portugal. A surf yoga holiday Europe. The perfect way to re-establish a deep connection with your innerself, Nature and to recharge and reconnect your life with the big LIFE..Join one of our Surf Yoga holidays and retreats in Europe Portugal and train mind and body for a more happy and healthy LIFE! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Memmo Baleeira Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Memmo Baleeira
Memmo Baleeira Sagres
Memmo Baleeira Hotel Sagres, Portugal - Algarve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing