We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,647)
Filter reviews
1,647 results
Traveller rating
798
590
184
53
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
798
590
184
53
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdesign hotelsea viewindoor poolbeautiful hotelfishing harbourperfect viewsmall beachbuffet breakfastcommon areashigh seasonbeach towelssurf schoolthe clifflocal restaurantsmartinhal beachyogurtmimmo
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 1,647 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

Our arrival at the hotel wasn't exactly what we expected. The lady at reception was extremely unfriendly and after grimacing over us giving her our booking details ("I asked you for your passports, nothing else") informed us that we were far too early and our suite would not be ready until 3pm (it was 10.30). We had just arrived in Portugal after a very early morning start with our two young children, so it was a bit of a shock to the system to be greeted in such an unfriendly manner, but a very lovely member of staff, Luiz, who actually handled baggage and was working there over the holiday period, more than made up for that mean-spirited receptionist. He was adorable, telling us to leave our luggage behind the front desk, informing us that we were free to use the pool and could have towels (things she should have told us). It was a real pity that we happened upon the one member of staff that acted that way. Everyone else was very smiley and seemed lovely. In fact, Luiz told us he was sure our suite would be ready a bit earlier, but when I went back at 2.40 (20 mins before our designated check-in time) without even checking with anyone - the same charmer told me "no - it's not ready" - and went back to her seat. Despite that rather sour, upsetting start, we really fell in love with Memmo.

We had a family suite, which was a tad shabby, but perfectly adequate and had the most stunning views of the sea and harbour. There was admittedly a disgusting stench in the hallway, undoubtedly because of a problem with the drainage system, but this was forgivable in light of the unbeatable location of our suite. The doors were difficult to open and close, but what a reward lay outside. And the sunrise! Light streaming through every morning. The pool area was also beautiful, with beanbags scattered around and a brand-new, very inviting bar.

Breakfast time was a bit of a zoo, with a large number of guests in a very small space, but the food was delicious and somehow the hordes of people didn't really bother us and Laura, who was in charge of seating, was charming. In fact most of the serving staff were a treat. The food in the hotel restaurant was also very good, although, I would've preferred a few more seafood dishes, but this was a minor quibble.

Overall we fell in love with windy Sagres and its broken down, dirty harbour. There was something very appealing about Memmo - the location. Hard to top. We loved it.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
2  Thank Jasmin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillermo F, Director General at Memmo Baleeira Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2017

Dear Guest,
First of all, thank you for choosing Memmo Baleeira Hotel during your stay in Sagres. We appreciate your kind comments as our customer's feedback is the best way for us to keep improving our services and facilites. We will make our best to make it a perfect paradise and we hope that you can return to Sagres to see our improvements!
Best regards,
Guillermo Fernández
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

Rooms are spacious and clean, but there is no place to hang towels on the balcony. The breakfast room is really small, where tables are set very close to each other and guests always rush to get food and drinks; you do not feel relaxed to eat comfortably. This space is not large enough for all hotel guests at the peak time e.g. 8:30 - 9:30am. The swimming pool as well; there are about 20 fixed parasols at the poolside, which is not enough at the peak season. On the other hand, there are a number of restaurants around the hotel, where you can eat delicious local specialities. We would consider staying there for a long weakend but definitely not for two weeks.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Noki57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillermo F, Director General at Memmo Baleeira Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your comments. Guest feedback is very important as it is the best way for us to keep improving our services and facilities, we will take your comments in considerations as they are useful. We hope that overall you had a pleasant stay with us.

Best regards,
Guillermo Fernández
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

The view his stunning and the design in the common spaces is as you can see in the photos, no lies on that but that is all you will get here. And not for cheap. There is a high problem: prices (at least in high season) are for a luxury hotel and that s not the case. Room are basic, in front of the ocean, yes, but not properly clean. Service is poor, breakfast is servede downstairs in a noisy room where you can sit in the back. In August it happen, I've got it, but you have to change your standard. The prices does not respect the value at all. Lack of cure, of kindness, of care. For the money they are asking they should give a lot more than this

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank giuzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillermo F, Director General at Memmo Baleeira Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Memmo Baleeira Hotel during your stay in Sagres. We are embarased that you found our hotel a fake, as our main goal is always that our guests leave the hotel fully satisfied. We apologize for any inconvenience caused and thank you for sharing your comments.
Best regards,
Guillermo Fernández
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

Very disappointing hotel. 200€/night with "amazing" views to the parking lot, breakfast with few options and very small pool. The place seems to be a good place for families but for a couple there are a lot of noise and kids, specially for breakfast. However the restaurant is quite good.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Eduardo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillermo F, Director General at Memmo Baleeira Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Dear Guest,

We feel embarrassed that you find our hotel a disappointing but we appreciate your comments as it is important for us to know how our Guests feel about their experience. During summer months you can find more children at the hotel as families search our property due to our suites. Apart from that we hope that you had a pleasant stay.

Best regards,
Guillermo Fernández

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

Great hotel in a fabulous location. Clean & stylish room with great sea view. Friendly staff, good food, great pool & views. Comfy beds & an easy walk into Sagres and to the harbour. Easy access to small beach by the harbour too.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Luke C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guillermo F, Director General at Memmo Baleeira Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Dear Guest,

We are glad to know that you had a pleasant stay with us during the few days that you spent in Sagres. We hope to see you again in a near future.

Best regards,
Guillermo Fernández
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews